We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A favorite place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was our second stay at The Ritz in Cancun and it was amazing, as was last time! This time we brought friends and they were pleased as well.....and we had really talked it up to them! We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    289
    103
    44
    26
See reviews for
407
739
53
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family including 2 kids (16 and 12) just returned from a glorious week in Cancun at the Ritz. It was a bit of a last minute decision, although the hotel was near capacity we were able to get 2 ocean front rooms right next to each other. The hotel is not all inclusive but we were able to get some nice incentives such as 5th night free, $100 resort credit per room and complimentary buffet breakfast each morning.

We did not have a renovated room (I think floors 7,8 and 9 renovated, and they are working their way down the floors). However, our rooms were very nice with comfortable beds and luxury touches. After having recently returned from Capella Pedregal in Cabo which is amazing, I hope that Ritz renovates with an elegant hacienda look (like Capella) while keeping their signature luxe. Anyone considering Cabo should take a serious look at Capella Pedregal.

Like the other reviewers mention, service is exceptional. We were greeted with by name with a smile from just about every employee. It was no issue at all to find excellent beach or pool seating, and there was always someone to greet you with towels and set up your chairs and beach umbrella. Service beach and poolside was quick and friendly, and beach vendors are at a minimum. The hotel is family friendly and there were quite a few people with children. It was not, however, intrusive, loud or out of control. The Ritz is simply a hotel that successfully caters to families and couples.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful with many choices and kept very fresh. It was a very nice way to start each morning with our family, and as usual the service was warm and inviting. Special thanks to Joel and Rudy ...two servers who were particularly wonderful.

We spent most days at the beach and pool...wave runners, parasailing and the likes are just a minute's walk down the beach. Nice that these activities are very close, but not directly on the stretch of beach in front of the Ritz. We also spent a morning snorkeling at nearby Puerto Morelos, which the hotel helped to set up. Another activity that we would add next time is Zip Lining at Selvatica.

The dining options at the Ritz for dinner are very expensive, so we ate at nearby restaurants. There are very many within a short cab or walk. Our kids also enjoyed La Isla mall (again, a short cab or walk away) which has some nice dining options, shopping and the like. One of our fave mall shops is Ah Cacao chocolate cafe which we originally discovered in Playa del Carmen a few years ago. Our only mistake this trip was going to the Plaza Forum (close to downtown) for dinner one night. This area has the "party/spring break" vibe and was generally loud and seedy. Fine for lots of people, but we were glad to return to our sanctuary at the Ritz.

It was a fabulous trip and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a great view of the ocean. You can probably save a few dollars doing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

There are so many other hotels that are cheaper, in better locations and with better service. This 5 star hotel does not offer complimentary wifi in your bedroom which is a shocker since most hotels do nowadays. The service was nothing exceptional and we didn't see that there is anything special about this place at all. I have stayed at 4-star hotels that has better food, service and facilities. So it didn't really live up to expectations. Nevertheless, it's clearly not a bad hotel, but I'd say you can get better value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora R, Executive offices at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not what you would have hoped. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service and facilities for our guests and learning that your overall visit did not meet your expectations is disappointing.

I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you in the future, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from The Ritz-Carlton Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went with the whole family on a 5 night work incentive trip here. The service is always first class at the Ritz and there are no complaints with that! The beach water is beautiful! The rooms could probably use some updating but were still clean and well taken care of. While we enjoyed our stay the city of Cancun was not somewhere I would have payed to take my family. Way too much like a Miami Beach or any other tourist beach town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

19th century elegance in Cancun is a bit unusual but this hotel experience was incredible. Service was superb, property is immaculate and we hated to leave. The restaurants are quite expensive but for $1 USD you can take the local bus to many less expensive dining options. I highly recommended the Ritz-Carlton Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at this Ritz Carlton property for 4 days this past July. In true Ritz Carlton style, the service and staff were absolutely wonderful! The hotel was very clean from inside; albeit the rooms a little outdated but each room had a balcony which was lovely. The exterior facade of this particular hotel doesn't really do justice to the inside...so don't worry about that. Wifi is available in the lobby area only but you can purchase a package if needed. The pool area is incredibly clean and the staff is walking around non-stop to see if there is anything that they can do to make your experience wonderful. Breakfast is amazing to say the least!!!
It is a very kid friendly environment at this Ritz Carlton - they have daily activities lined up for the kids and a ping/pong table...the beach is steps away and you can arrange excursions right from the hotel if needed. If you are lucky, there might be someone singing in the lobby cafe and outside near the beach restaurant in the evenings. There is plenty of security so nothing to worry about - pack your sunblock and relax in the Caribbean Ocean.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6029 which had a wonderful unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

On my recent trip to Cancun, I had the opportunity to visit The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, an impressive hotel. It remains the only AAA Five Diamond resort in North America to receive triple honors from the association for the hotel and its two owned and managed restaurants, The Club Grill and Fantino.

I was eager to visit as the resort was celebrating their 20th anniversary of exceptional travel experiences. Opening its doors on April 15, 1993, this was the first international Ritz-Carlton property!

My guide for the day was Grisel Alpuche, Travel Industry Sales Coordinator for The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. Grisel and I spent more than two hours exploring this large property. Boasting 363+ rooms and suites, nine innovative dining experiences, the Kayantá Spa, two heated outdoor pools and a whirlpool, the interactive Ritz Kids program, a state-of-the-art fitness center, a first-class Tennis Center, a business center, and a 27,000-square-foot convention center … there is plenty to do and see at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

The beach fronting the hotel is wonderful. My photos – on an infrequent, cloudy day in Cancun – do not do justice to the deep, white sand and turquoise waters. There are private casitas available along the shoreline and you can enjoy a romantic evening dinner under the stars here.

There are multiple rooming options you can choose from at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. With Grisel as my guide, we visited a myriad of rooms. She showed me the “new look” of the recently renovated rooms. These rooms are light, airy, and include handmade artwork and ceramic amenities.

The room choices include:

Ocean View Room – SIZE 435 sq ft | 39 m2
Beautiful ocean views with balcony
Choice of King or two Double beds

Ocean Front Guestroom – SIZE 439 sq ft | 41 m2
Oceanfront; Breathtaking ocean front views
Plush King or two Double featherbeds

Club Ocean View Room – SIZE 439 sq ft | 41 m2
Beautiful ocean views from balcony
Choice of King or two Double beds; Exclusive Club Level access

Club Ocean Front Room – SIZE 439 sq ft | 41 m2
Oceanfront; Ocean front views and large balcony
Choice of King or two Double beds; Exclusive Club Level access

Ritz Kids Guestroom – SIZE 439 sq ft | 41 m2
Beautiful ocean views with balconies
Choice of King or Double featherbeds/Baby-proofed crib/changing table
_____________________

Then, you also have your Suite Options… Each of these residential-like suites opens to a furnished balcony or terrace with views of the white sand and turquoise sea!

Ocean View Suite – SIZE 876 sq ft | 81 m2
Partial Ocean View with balcony
Living room with flat-screen TV. One and one half baths

Ocean Front Suite – SIZE 876 sq ft | 81 m2
Oceanfront/ Three balconies overlooking the sea
One and one half baths

Club Level Ocean View Suite – SIZE 876 sq ft | 81 m2
Partial Ocean View
Residential-style living room. Exclusive Club Level access

Club Ocean Front Suite – SIZE 876 sq ft | 81 m2
Oceanfront, Breathtaking views of beach and sea
Residential-style living accommodations.
Exclusive Club Level access

Club Master Suite – SIZE 876 sq ft | 81 m2
Oceanfront/ Three balconies overlook the Caribbean
Located at Club Level atrium – Exclusive Club Level access

Three Bedroom Ocean Front Suite – SIZE 1,900 sq ft | 177 m2
Oceanfront, direct access to the beach
Personal pool and expansive terrace
Exclusive Club Level access for up to 6

Ritz-Carlton Suite – SIZE 2,460 sq ft | 229 m2
Oceanfront, Panoramic views
Large terrace overlooking the Caribbean
Exclusive Club Level access
_____________________

As Gissel pointed out to me, there are innumerable combinations of connecting rooms that can be combined into your own suite-arrangement. This hotel is perfect for families and multi-generational outings where travelers have the option of privacy or connecting/shared rooms.

My favorite option for families was the Three Bedroom Ocean Front Suite with its private infinity pool, large terrace and direct access to the beach. You step off your terrace, and you’re ON THE BEACH. You also have a living room, dining room and multiple bathrooms. It certainly has a residence feel.

I also liked the Club Level options – either in Room or Suite configuration. The Ritz-Carlton group masterfully creates an oasis in their Club Rooms. In this hotel, the Club Level is located on the 8th and 9th floors of the resort.

It features continuous culinary offerings throughout the day, including breakfast, light snacks, hors d’ oeuvres, beverages and sweets. I have to admit I visit multiple times a day when I stay in a Club Room as I love their espresso! (and the pastries.. and the hors d’ oeuvres…) You also have access to a computer station; great if you need to catch up with folks at home or print out your departing boarding pass.

As someone who spent 25 years in the restaurant industry I was eager to see the Culinary Center. The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun proudly boasts the first Viking® Culinary Center. It is a state-of-the-art residential-style kitchen where guests can enjoy hands-on cooking classes. The chefs of the resort serve as the teachers. Each session is unique, blending regional flavors and meals paired with selected wines… with a view of the beach.

There are a variety of cooking class options, from interactive cooking lessons to amusing culinary shows. The Center is available for guests ages 16 & up – reservations are required. I have to come back and try this!

There is so much to do at the The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun! Even with a two-hour tour Gissel and I were unable to see ALL of the property.

For families, this resort offers the Ritz Kids, with a diverse collection of vacation activities based on the four pillars of their program – water, land, environmental responsibility and culture. Your kids won’t want to leave (and neither will you because they’re so busy… and you’re NOT!). The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun Turtle Guardian Program assists in protection and release of baby turtles. Time your visit so you and your children can share in this amazing experience.

Guests also have the two pools, whirlpool, the Spa, fitness center, a premier tennis sporting facility offering world-class tennis programs year round, scuba diving lessons in the hotel’s pool, and of course, the beach… And More! For a getaway-business-meeting, the 27,000-square-foot convention center offers meeting spaces of all sizes. When I visited, there were multiple business meetings and presentations occurring.

I enjoyed my visit with Gissel and the opportunity to get behind-the-scenes at The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. The pools were pristine, the staff attentive, courteous and professional (as you expect at a Ritz-Carlton), and the hotel comfortable and relaxing. I only wish I had more time to try the sushi bar and a few of the restaurants. This is a resort that needs at least three or four days when you come – there’s just so much to see, do and experience. I can’t wait to return!

http://ow.ly/zWJtE

Room Tip: Look at a Club Level room on the 8th and 9th floors, combining great views and special amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.