We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacular hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A spectacular hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was a breath of fresh air after spending two nights at the neighbouring Westin. It is beautiful and a tranquil oasis in the midst of the madness of Cancun. We did stay on the club level which was perfect for our family as we could get snacks whenever we wanted and the children were treated very well. The service in all areas of the resort was terrific.

Room Tip: Choose the club level. The service was amazing and there are delicious snacks set out pretty much al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    257
    89
    39
    25
See reviews for
355
614
44
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service in this hotel was excellent. My daughter and I spent a wonderful week - March 16 to 22nd and couldn't have been more pampered. We'd especially like to thank Blanca in the lobby lounge for fantastic service. She knew which margaritas we liked and sometimes we stopped in for tea later in the evening and she knew which kind of tea wanted. The beach service was also wonderful but unfortunately can't remember their names. We had dinner at the Chef's Table and highly recommend the experience. Not only was the food and wine delicious, but Chef Carlos Garcia and his cooks were so personable that we felt like we were being entertained in someone's house. A couple of negatives: the hotel could be updated as it's looking a little "tired". However, everything in it was very clean and comfortable. The beds were were so comfortable and housekeeping was good. There was some mold in the shower and there really could be a shelf for belongings in the bathroom. The beach and pool areas were fantastic. The ocean was rather rough but we can't control that. All in all, this was a fantastic trip. The hotel did arrange a wonderful day long trip to Chichen Itza and the cenotes. The tour guides and itinerary were great. We would definitely go back for another week.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is in the center of Cancun hotel zone. Not far away from several shopping centers. There are quite few good restaurants along the side of the main road. The hotel is good. Room is spcious and clean. It has beautiful view. Room service is excellent. One thing bothered us during our stay was their 2nd rounds of service around 8 to 9 PM. We tended to sleep early. By that time, we already slept in bed. However, they knocked the door to ask if we need anything. They woke us during our sleep. We thought we had bad dream when we heard the knock on the door. When you woke up in the middle of sleep, it is more scary than delight. I hope they could do that earlier.

They charged everything up-front. Even you do not use doorman service, they still charged to your account. Their nightly rate is pretty expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went for a girls week. Lovely staff, very expert, professional, friendly, and helpful. Delicious food, all rooms have a view. Two large pools plus private beach. They built a sandbar so mistdays, tthe Ritz beach is the only part if the water you can go in other places too rough. I wanted to take my bed home, awesome toiletry products, waffle robes, iPod speakers. Not cheap, but for all the extras you get and fir how hard the staff works to ensure your stay us perfect, totally worth it. Do the buffet at breakfast. Includes all drinks and mimosas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this resort as part of a group attending a conference.

First, we have traveled around the world and we are not always seeking for perfect luxury, but we do have high expectations on service. Although we could not give the Ritz Cancun a perfect 5 star rating due to minor flaws, they did meet our expectations on the service provided.

The rooms: traveling as coworkers, we asked for a two double bed bedroom. Although not directly facing the ocean, we did have a very nice mostly unobstructed view of it. Our room was immaculate and spacious for the location (Cancun). The beds were very comfortable, the shower is separated from the bathtub and the housekeeping service was simply perfect.

The flaws: As mention in the previous reviews, some amenities of the hotel are in need for an update (carpets, some walls, no fan in the bathroom, better hair products). However, the hotel is kept immaculately clean from pool sides to public bathrooms and those small flaws were therefore never a problem for us. In fact, the overall feel of relaxation, luxury and friendliness of this resort over-passed by far minor details like those previously mentioned. Some people reviewing this hotel badly may have had bad experiences, but we think some others may simply never be pleased.

As far of conference goes, we were VERY impressed with the organization of it all. The conference room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast provided was very similar (but smaller in quantities and choices) to the spectacular breakfast buffet they provide. As part of the conference group, we were provided with complimentary wifi; a "perk" that was highly appreciated.

Restaurants: beside the breakfast provided by the conference arrangements, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet every other morning. Fresh fruit are abounding, pastries of all kinds are simply delicious, many fresh juices and crepes (they even provide pure Canadian maple syrup). They also have all the traditional items (bacon, cereal, eggs etc.). We ate lunch and dinner on the resort exclusively and tried all of their restaurants.

The lunch restaurants tend to serve bigger portions so we would share a plate (burritos being a good example) and have plenty of food with the extra benefits of not feeling too heavy and saving money. Although not too fancy, it was always very good and most importantly, very safe. On that matter, we could not say enough about the unparalleled quality of food and water on this resort as far as safety goes. Anybody traveling pregnant or with young children could expect eating and drinking on the resort worry-free, a HUGE advantage for the Caribbeans.

The dinner restaurants are as expected more expensive but delicious. As food lovers, we are used of spending a little more for good food. We weren't outraged by the prices by any means (note: prices are marked on the menus as Mexican pesos, not USD!!!). Expect to pay between 20-60 USD for a main course and around 15 USD for a glass of wine. The bottom line is: it is not fast food, so you don't pay fast food price. That being said, the sushi rolls are enormous (8 pieces a roll) so you could share 3 rolls for 2 and have a satisfying meal. We tried them all: the sushi restaurant, the Club Grill and the Fantino. The last two are rated as 5 diamond restaurants. Frankly, the Club grill is overrated according to us. Our meal and service were both very good, but not 5 diamond rating good. On the other hand, the Fantino was extraordinary...so much in fact we ended up eating there twice! The food is incredible, the service refined and personalized and the live piano makes the whole experience perfect! Do expect to pay around 60-150 USD a person including a couple glasses of wine. Again, if money is a concern, it is not mandatory to take the degustation menu. You could eat 3 smaller items and be full (we did that the second time as we were not overly hungry and leaving early the next day).

The beach is gorgeous and the pools are both very clean with warmer water.

As mentioned in previous reviews, there are a few kids running around as it is a "family oriented hotel". To us, it was never a problem, quite the opposite in fact as everything seems more "alive". If for some reasons you do not wish to see one single kid in your entire stay, we would suggest you choose a resort that caters to 18+ clientele. Again, some previous reviewers may have had bad experiences, but some others may have chosen the wrong type of hotel for their needs.

At the end of the day, we would go back without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband, child, my mother, and I stayed here in February 2013 for 7 nights, and it was by far the most relaxing vacation we've taken - EVER. You simply can't beat the service provided here and we plan to return to the Ritz every year to get away from the cold winter at home!

The room - We asked for and received adjoining rooms on the 7th floor facing the ocean directly and the pool. Our room was both beautiful and immaculate. We were impressed with the housekeeping service. I've read many reviews that point out a need for the hotel to update it's carpet, etc. I can understand their point, and yes, the hotel is probably due for some updating; however, it did not detract from our trip in the least. The hotel is kept in beautiful condition. We never found anything to be unclean looking. It simply didn't matter.

Restaurants - We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and enjoyed our meals in every restaurant on site. Also the best room service food we've ever received in any hotel.

Beach Service - We rented a cabana most days and were pampered. We felt pampered when we rented the casitas as well. The Ritz staff is wonderful on the beach! It's not tough to order/receive anything you'd like in a reasonable amount of time.

Pool - We always used the pool in late afternoons after being on the beach all day. It has a gorgeous layout, is kept very clean, is heated, and pool side service is fantastic!

Service - I simply cannot stress how wonderful the Ritz service is. From the front desk, to housekeeping, room service, restaurants, beach/pool service - it's the best we've ever seen. And we have traveled extensively.

The Ritz is where we plan to stay each time we travel to Cancun from now on. I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well, I had really high hopes and high standards as this hotel is rated "five diamonds" by AAA standards. Since Cancun only has one hotel with this designation I really expected high quality. I happened to be traveling as part of a group conference, so not sure if we were treated differently due to this, but the service was not any better than a Holiday Inn in my opinion.
1) Upon arrival, the attendants did not address us by name, and even after telling them our name, they forgot it over and over. We were charged a fee tip in advance as part of the group for bellman serivces and not even explained anything by the bellman staff-no explanations of where anything was, restaurants/pool/ice machines/where my conference meeting would be, etc...this is the standard for 5 diamonds and it was not met. I had to go to the front desk after check in and ask these questions myself.
2) Also the concierge was very "loose" to say the least. I would have expected them to actually call and confirm or at least send a letter stating which tour we choose and when to arrive for the tour, they didnt and also had a very poor selection of tour choices. If going to Cancun in the future, I will definately book on my own on the internet prior to arrival.
3) The hotel is also very, very old and dated. Carpets are stained, walls are scratched and dirty with stains, doors are broken and bathroom has rust on shower and sink areas. Not pretty and definately below ritz standards in the United States. The first night turn down service was very poor, maids not bringing our waters and then the attendant was checking our fridge to see if we used the honor bar when we already informed them we had not. By the way, the fridge is ridiculously small because apparently they dont want you buying food elsewhere and storing in the fridge for later. They also never restocked our coffee distilled water for the entire stay, very inconsistent with receiving ice some days, other days not. Same with the paper, some days on the door and other days not. Confused as to why that was. They also dont have plastic bags for the ice or garbage so it´s a bit disgusing to think about using the ice bin when others have been and it is not sanitary without the plastic. Maids also didnt bring new soaps/shampoos/etc consistently and I had to keep asking for more when I found them in the hallways.
4) Next was the rip off scam they are using with the exchange rate. The hotel is quoting prices in USD for spa services and for the hotel rate online. However, when you arrive they are using their own exchange rate which is completely elevated and is 13.8 peso to dollar when in reality the banks and credit card companies are using 12.3 so basically the hotel is quoting you in dollars then charging you an inflated price in pesos using their inflated rates. So...you are paying more than it seems!!! I dont think too many people get this or notice, but it adds up over time and is deceptive. They should in the future just charge in pesos so people wont be annoyed when checking out and noticing how much more the price really is. The spa treatment I had for example was quoted as $315 and really I was charged $330 due to the hotel poor rate of xchange. Not nice and the hotel reception staff (Alejandro) was a bit snarky when I questioned this. Yes, as another reviewer stated the spa was very small and unfortunate that you cannot use for a day rate as many hotels would accommodate this. I felt a bit rushed as I wanted to use the facilities a little longer before and after my treatment but the staff was kinda spying on me in the bathroom and I felt a bit pressured to leave even though they didnt explicitly say so.
5) Pool area. Long wait for a chicken Cesar wrap, about 45minutes. Wait staff also were not picking up the old trays and glasses, and many were laying around the pool which is not good. Also, ALOT of young children running around unsupervised throughout the pool, a few kids were bullying another child and no parents or staff were stopping or paying attention to this. Also by 2·30pm the hotel building is covering the pool so that it is essentially quite shaded and you will have to hang by the beach to get any sun. Not a good design for the building.

Yes, I have high standards but this is a ritz carlton, or apparently not.... one nice thing was that the pool was very very warm and the pool attendants did try to find you a spot and bring the towels for you and set them up. I saw a popsicle man one day, one time but never again and it would have been nice to get some more popsicles. The beach is also not ideal because the locals walk around trying to sell you stuff when you just want to rest and relax. Not the fault of the hotel, of course but just a thought to maybe avoid if you are trying to sleep. Ocean was also very rough and windy. I would not let small children or really anyone who is not a strong swimmer in there, although the hotel did have a lifeguard I really would be cautious to avoid esp when the red flag is up. Cancun is very windy and the beach waves are strong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 365 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.