We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Started out at an all inclusive resort about 30 miles south.. big mistake. The Ritz to the rescue from the moment we pulled thru the gate. We felt at home with warm embraces, excellent oceanfront rooms. We were traumatized by the cheaper place so went for an oceanfront suite north building with a giant terrace. A fast hop down the stairs to the massive pool and beachfront.
The breakfast was amazing (used Amex Plat card deal) and every meal was terrific. At the end of the day the total per person including 2 additional hotel meals was less than a $100 pp per day more and worth every penny. The only issue is that the ocean can be very rough and is not conducive to swimming. I will be back for fast breaks in the future. Loved it!!

Room Tip: we loved the oceanfront suite with the larger terrace on the north side for great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    300
    106
    45
    27
See reviews for
429
764
55
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been to this resort twice and I will never stay Anywhere else in Cancun. The service is over the top, food is outstanding and I am gluten free and they went out of their way to prepare me special meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for an all-inclusive in Cancun for a short weekend with the Kids (3 mo's & 9 yr's) and had stayed at a Dreams and Adventura Spa in the past. I'm a Marriott Platinum from all my work travel and saw there was a JW and a regular Marriott in Cancun that were VERY CHEAP, so I kept looking and saw my rate for the Ritz and said why not - forget the crappy food at an all-inclusive and lets head to the Ritz! Even if we spent 2k on food over the 5 days we were there, we were still ahead.

Ok, so the property blew me away. Much better than what I expected in terms of rooms (we were upgraded to a King Suite), location (it's still quiet even though you are in a party zone and very pretty beaches) and probably the best service of any RC resort I've been to (Maui, St. Thomas, Caymans). The property is a little tired and was to be upgraded a few years back, but it never happened. Still - they do a good job keeping it up.

Since we were traveling with an infant, we reserved their Itsy Bitsy Ritz room that has a crib and many of the things you need for a baby. It was going to be a tight fit with a roll-away, but we were going to give it a shot. Since we were upgraded to a Suite, They moved all that baby stuff to our suite and placed a crib and a roll away bed in the other room for the 9 yr old.

We ate breakfast on property for two mornings, the buffet was perfect and cheaper than expected ($29/adults, $14 kids) and we ate two nights at the lobby bar. One night was during the Superbowl and they brought in TV's and had a sports bar menu. That food was pretty good. Also had sushi the next time I ate there and it was ok. I'd pass next time and go for the regular bar menu.

I had a chance to go up to the Club Lounge a few times and was disappointed. Nothing like the club lounge in St Thomas RC. They only put liquor out from 5-8 pm, an it's very limited. The cookies were always over cooked, usually my favorite part. The breakfast and dessert menu didn't change much, as lunch seemed to have the most variety. No food for kids either. I personally wouldn't pay. They won't let you "buy into" the club level with actually buying a club room here stating exclusivity, but I bet it's also because its not a separate room, rather in the open space on the 8th floor. Also, they use real keys for the rooms there and thus can't reprogram a key card for access.

The fitness center was perfect. We didn't get to use the spa, but I heard its one of the best for a RC. Basically hung out at the pool during the day.

Went to a few restaurants in the area a night and was happy.

No question we'll be back here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very nice property. Service was excellent all around. Room service was expensive but nothing outrageous. Actually better than I was expecting. Lunch at the Mexican restaurant was one of the best meals we had in Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Service was amazing even by American standars. They have been well trained for sure. Rooms are very very clean. Hotel is well appointed and trimmed out. The beach is soft and large. Water is great. Easy to walk to all kinds of cool places locally.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Year after year we keep coming back to the Ritz Carlton Cancun. We visited in December and had almost perfect weather the entire trip. The Ritz is the only traditionally decorated hotel in Cancun (that I have seen) and it feels very comfortable and inviting. We usually go 1 or 2 times per year. The beach is wonderful and the hotel is gracious and clean with perfect service. Dont forget to reserve a casita on the beach-they are expensive but worth it. You have the cover from the sun and are waited on hand-and-foot all day long,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Am currently staying here on business. The staff are warm and friendly and can't do enough for you. The rooms are spotless with a lovely range of toiletries and a huge comfy bed. However feel that the hotel could benefit from a Coffee shop or deli. Hardly any atmosphere in the main bar and feel the menu is way over priced. I found the location out of the way also. Don't think I would book for a family holiday

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.