We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but definitely over priced over the holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but definitely over priced over the holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The room rate of $700 plus per night is definitely not warranted. While nice, and the staff quite accommodating, there was nothing special about the accommodations themselves. Other hotels of this quality will have deluxe bathroom facilities, room for sitting etc. but this was a basic room, in the oceanfront category. The beach is nice and the pool area is nice but again, I would not rank this as a Deluxe 5-star property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,251
    294
    104
    44
    27
See reviews for
422
751
54
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I don't know what kind of kool aid they give the staff but whatever it is I want it. Theses guys are the friendliest hardest working people I've ever met. Make sure you meet Genaro at the pool restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In the midst of the 5-mile Cancun beach is the Ritz Carlton. We booked three rooms, one on club level, for our family of 7. We were not disappointed. Highlights: club lounge (unusually good and works for breakfast, lunch and cocktails...even dinner if you are penny-pinching); service, particularly housekeeping and restaurants; beach access (direct, adjacent). Very few negatives: 1) insufficient hot tub space; the single hot tub was sometimes disgusting, with guests often ignoring signs not to eat while bathing, and full of children too young to be potty trained....undoubtedly contributing to the "heat".2) not enough outdoor eating opportunity for breakfast.

Room Tip: Book at least one room on Club level. You can upgrade the others in your group for a fee, and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service is above & beyond, as you would expect at a Ritz-Carlton. The rooms were impeccably clean and very comfortable but certain parts of the hotel need to be updated. Mainly the foyers around the rooms were quite dated (older carpet, paint colors), the tv was old (80s, maybe 90s) and the rooms actually used keys, which I haven't seen in years. That being said, it's still a beautiful hotel, the restaurants are great, beautiful beaches & pools, but it's not quite like the Ritz Carltons in the US.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Four of us went to celebrate a big birthday last year. It was beyond amazing. We loved the staff, the club floor ( so, so worth it!) the pools and the beach. The casita for dinner was the highlight! My husband celebrated a little too much the first night so I called the spa for a massage hangover rejuvenation. They had him good to go in 90 minutes ha ha! We are booking a next trip for this year and Im calling the ritz first! We looked everywhere, and I mean everywhere else and just kept coing back to the ritz cancun...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel wasn't terrible, but it wasn't what we expected from the Ritz. While the property itself is beautiful, it is more like a 4 star resort instead of 5. But I give it 3 stars because it was FAR below my expectations

Pros of the hotel:
1. Beautiful property (classy look)
2. Pool area is very nice
3. Rooms are spacious (though a little dated) and bathrooms very nice

Cons:
1. Staff - quite rude. And unhelpful. More below
2. Cleanliness - one of the towels in the room upon checkin that was folded up was FILTHY. I let it slide as a one-off, except then we went down to the pool and one of the staff laid a towel out on my chair with a huge yellow stain on it - clearly visible to anyone, except they thought I wouldn't notice and left it as-is. Gross
3. Hot tub was not even very hot when it was working. And then it didnt work at all the last 3 days we were there. Staff told me every day they were "fixing it today", but nothing was ever done about it. It was colder than the pool.
4. Food - I am happy to pay the expected Ritz prices as long as the food is good. It wasn't. There are also a lot of pre-made items on their menus, and I'm sorry but I don't want to pay $25 for a pre-mixed chicken quesadilla.

More on the Staff -
Aside from the housekeeping staff who were always friendly and polite, the rest of the staff were pretty rude. The concierge (except Yoko) acted as though we were bothering them every time we asked a question... like it was such a hassle for them to do their jobs. Then, when we asked them to make reservations at a restaurant, we showed up to... no reservation. Furthermore, at the airport we booked a round trip shuttle, and when we asked the concierge to call and reserve for us, they said they "couldnt get through" and "why don't you just take a taxi?"

On this note, they were far from helpful when asked for recommendations on restaurants. They clearly only want to steer you toward places that give them kickbacks. I expected more.

The doormen - not sure where to start here because they made us feel as though we should be tipping them EVERY TIME they opened the door for us, which is their job. No extra service, no smile, nothing from them. One of them even barked "veinte pesos" at me after he opened the door. I am all for tipping, but I'm sorry... I am not tipping you 1. every time i walk through a door, 2. for doing your job, especially 3. with an attitude.

Anyway, to sum it, I wouldn't stay here again. I've stayed at the JW Marriott Cancun, and I enjoyed it much more. It's not that the resort is terrible, but it is not your typical Ritz Carlton. You don't get the above and beyond service, and the attention to detail is very poor- it's not consistent with the brand. Comparing this place to the Ritz Carlton Kapalua is like comparing night and day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Ritz in Cancun is a perfect hotel for anyone, whether you are soloing, coming with a group of friends, or going with the family. The beach allows for a fun swim in the nice waters of the Gulf of Mexico; the pool is a great place to sit and relax or go swimming; and the rooms have terrific views of the ocean. Inside the Ritz, you are able to escape the chaos of Cancun and enter a tranquil environment in the heart of the hotel zone. We have visited the Ritz countless times since our first visit in 2004 and it has never failed to disappoint.

Room Tip: A room with a view will make your stay amazing. Club floors (levels 8 and 9) have their own lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.