We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff will light themselves on fire if you ask them to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Stratham, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Staff will light themselves on fire if you ask them to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I don't know what kind of kool aid they give the staff but whatever it is I want it. Theses guys are the friendliest hardest working people I've ever met. Make sure you meet Genaro at the pool restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    256
    88
    38
    25
See reviews for
354
611
44
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In the midst of the 5-mile Cancun beach is the Ritz Carlton. We booked three rooms, one on club level, for our family of 7. We were not disappointed. Highlights: club lounge (unusually good and works for breakfast, lunch and cocktails...even dinner if you are penny-pinching); service, particularly housekeeping and restaurants; beach access (direct, adjacent). Very few negatives: 1) insufficient hot tub space; the single hot tub was sometimes disgusting, with guests often ignoring signs not to eat while bathing, and full of children too young to be potty trained....undoubtedly contributing to the "heat".2) not enough outdoor eating opportunity for breakfast.

Room Tip: Book at least one room on Club level. You can upgrade the others in your group for a fee, and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The service is above & beyond, as you would expect at a Ritz-Carlton. The rooms were impeccably clean and very comfortable but certain parts of the hotel need to be updated. Mainly the foyers around the rooms were quite dated (older carpet, paint colors), the tv was old (80s, maybe 90s) and the rooms actually used keys, which I haven't seen in years. That being said, it's still a beautiful hotel, the restaurants are great, beautiful beaches & pools, but it's not quite like the Ritz Carltons in the US.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Four of us went to celebrate a big birthday last year. It was beyond amazing. We loved the staff, the club floor ( so, so worth it!) the pools and the beach. The casita for dinner was the highlight! My husband celebrated a little too much the first night so I called the spa for a massage hangover rejuvenation. They had him good to go in 90 minutes ha ha! We are booking a next trip for this year and Im calling the ritz first! We looked everywhere, and I mean everywhere else and just kept coing back to the ritz cancun...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel wasn't terrible, but it wasn't what we expected from the Ritz. While the property itself is beautiful, it is more like a 4 star resort instead of 5. But I give it 3 stars because it was FAR below my expectations

Pros of the hotel:
1. Beautiful property (classy look)
2. Pool area is very nice
3. Rooms are spacious (though a little dated) and bathrooms very nice

Cons:
1. Staff - quite rude. And unhelpful. More below
2. Cleanliness - one of the towels in the room upon checkin that was folded up was FILTHY. I let it slide as a one-off, except then we went down to the pool and one of the staff laid a towel out on my chair with a huge yellow stain on it - clearly visible to anyone, except they thought I wouldn't notice and left it as-is. Gross
3. Hot tub was not even very hot when it was working. And then it didnt work at all the last 3 days we were there. Staff told me every day they were "fixing it today", but nothing was ever done about it. It was colder than the pool.
4. Food - I am happy to pay the expected Ritz prices as long as the food is good. It wasn't. There are also a lot of pre-made items on their menus, and I'm sorry but I don't want to pay $25 for a pre-mixed chicken quesadilla.

More on the Staff -
Aside from the housekeeping staff who were always friendly and polite, the rest of the staff were pretty rude. The concierge (except Yoko) acted as though we were bothering them every time we asked a question... like it was such a hassle for them to do their jobs. Then, when we asked them to make reservations at a restaurant, we showed up to... no reservation. Furthermore, at the airport we booked a round trip shuttle, and when we asked the concierge to call and reserve for us, they said they "couldnt get through" and "why don't you just take a taxi?"

On this note, they were far from helpful when asked for recommendations on restaurants. They clearly only want to steer you toward places that give them kickbacks. I expected more.

The doormen - not sure where to start here because they made us feel as though we should be tipping them EVERY TIME they opened the door for us, which is their job. No extra service, no smile, nothing from them. One of them even barked "veinte pesos" at me after he opened the door. I am all for tipping, but I'm sorry... I am not tipping you 1. every time i walk through a door, 2. for doing your job, especially 3. with an attitude.

Anyway, to sum it, I wouldn't stay here again. I've stayed at the JW Marriott Cancun, and I enjoyed it much more. It's not that the resort is terrible, but it is not your typical Ritz Carlton. You don't get the above and beyond service, and the attention to detail is very poor- it's not consistent with the brand. Comparing this place to the Ritz Carlton Kapalua is like comparing night and day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Ritz in Cancun is a perfect hotel for anyone, whether you are soloing, coming with a group of friends, or going with the family. The beach allows for a fun swim in the nice waters of the Gulf of Mexico; the pool is a great place to sit and relax or go swimming; and the rooms have terrific views of the ocean. Inside the Ritz, you are able to escape the chaos of Cancun and enter a tranquil environment in the heart of the hotel zone. We have visited the Ritz countless times since our first visit in 2004 and it has never failed to disappoint.

Room Tip: A room with a view will make your stay amazing. Club floors (levels 8 and 9) have their own lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We returned here for my husband's birthday for an experience like no other! We stayed with friends on The Club Level for a perfect vacation! The Club Level is an absolute MUST for anyone staying here. The staff met every need we could possibly have and the food and drinks were delicious works of art. We met wonderful people from all over. Everything was included and the beach the most beautiful ever. We will return often and recommend it heartily for a vacation that will leave you completely satisfied.

Room Tip: Club Level an absolute must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 365 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.