We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The service and friendliness of the staff is beyond comparison. Spent 5 nights and enjoyed every second. The breakfast buffet is first class and delicious, with something for everyone, plus the helpful staff will bring you anything that you would like, that is not displayed... (green juice, latte) The atmosphere is opulent yet inviting, and the location cannot be surpassed.... Yes, I will be returning to the Ritz-Carlton Cancun.

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    300
    109
    45
    27
See reviews for
429
768
55
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We checked in the week before Thanksgiving. Based on prior reviews and recommendations, we paid extra to stay on the club level. We did this because you get free wifi for up to three devices for your stay. That alone amounts to $60 per day for three if you need to be connected, which we all did. The club level also includes full breakfast and lunch, drinks throughout the day, heavy hors d'oeuvres for dinner and chocolates and drinks thereafter. SInce any meal on the property is around at least $20 per person, this also saved a bunch. You will not ant all your meals there, except maybe breakfast, because the options are limited, but it still saves you a lot.

But that did not stop the surprise charges. Despite having booked and pre-paid for our full trip for three, there was a $75 per day surcharge for our 12 year old to stay with us (with taxes, this was about $100 per day. There was no explanation for why this as not included in the packages.

When we wanted to use the tennis courts, I expected a charge for using rackets, but a $30/hour charge for using one of the courts, which were empty virtually the whole time we were there? Really?

The facilities themselves are starting to show their age compared to other newer, and cheaper facilities. The hallway carpets need replacing. The rooms and their furniture are also aging.

The good news is that the food and service are top notch. They make an affirmative effort to know your name, including our son. They also made great recommendations for other attractions. Like all Ritz places, the service and setting are a bit formal, but always helpful, and never condescending.

The pool and beach facilities are also excellent.

Room Tip: opt for a club level, seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

As a winner of the Conde Nast Traveller Magazine's monthly Where Are You Contest, my husband and I were treated to 4-day vacation at the Ritz-Carlton, Cancun. We were placed in a room on the Club Level, where the service was extraordinary. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and the view of the Caribbean was spectacular. The restaurants were out of this world, and the club-level lounge was brimming with food all day.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the Club Levels 8 & 9 can't be beat"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just had our honeymoon and spent 8 nights at the Ritz Carlton Cancun. What an incredible experience. The hotel has many, many strong suits... amazing location, luxurious comfortable rooms, epic views, and outstanding food and amenities.

However, the service levels and commitment to customer experience is unparalleled. The friendly staff cannot do enough to please you and ensure you are completely satisfied. Restaurant, bar staff, concierge, pool attendants, shop staff, housekeeping, hotel taxi service, you name it the consistent service culture is friendly, genuine and absolutely no fuss.

Please come to Australia and train our hotel staff on what real service is.You have set the bar for others to follow and you've made a fan for life!

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront room and wake up like a god!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

my wife and i have traveled to mexico several times. two weeks ago, we spent 5 days at the ritz in cancun and the treatment we received--by everyone from the front desk to the restaurant employes inside and out to the pool attendants--was remarkably good and extremely genuine. you may pay more at the ritz but give yourself a break and take in service that you only dreamed of previously. ok, call it being pampered, if you will. some advice to lower the cost: 1. look in november and the first two weeks of december and check out orbitz. 2. take an ocean view room instead of an ocean front room. the view is basically the same and you save a few dollars. most of all, enjoy and be sure to say hi to diego who works the outside restaurants and is just a great guy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you look for nice quiet holidays - then Cancun is the place. But in The Ritz you will get quiet holidays but on top of that - the best service we have ever seen. Literally you need nothing to do there. On the beach - best service - although there is yellow/red flag on the beach there is no risk of getting to sea. 30m away from shore - and you still have 1m deep. Quality of food - mexican (recommend nachos with cheese on the pool side) and international - excellent. Yuo could also go and cook with Chef - every day - different culinary theme. Very quiet. You should rent a car - valet parking on site.

Room Tip: High floor (6-7) - ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent a week in this beautiful hotel attending a conference. Everything in this hotel is tops. The comfort of the rooms, the stunning views, the friendly staff, the food, the conference facilities, the entertainment, the beach and the pool, etc. It's located on the main strip and close to many restaurants, bars and shopping stores. You may take a taxi if you want to go to the other end. Or, catch the bus in-front of the hotel. Public transportation is readily available. Buses are modern, clean, safe, and fun to ride on them. The beach is clean with very fine white sand that feels like talc. The ocean is inviting and there are many aquatic related activities worth pursuing.

Room Tip: Top floors toward the middle have unbelievable views of the ocean and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
1.0 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
3.3 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 363 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.