We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service ever...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit & More
Ranked #11 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best service ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just had our honeymoon and spent 8 nights at the Ritz Carlton Cancun. What an incredible experience. The hotel has many, many strong suits... amazing location, luxurious comfortable rooms, epic views, and outstanding food and amenities.

However, the service levels and commitment to customer experience is unparalleled. The friendly staff cannot do enough to please you and ensure you are completely satisfied. Restaurant, bar staff, concierge, pool attendants, shop staff, housekeeping, hotel taxi service, you name it the consistent service culture is friendly, genuine and absolutely no fuss.

Please come to Australia and train our hotel staff on what real service is.You have set the bar for others to follow and you've made a fan for life!

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront room and wake up like a god!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    266
    95
    39
    25
See reviews for
365
655
46
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

my wife and i have traveled to mexico several times. two weeks ago, we spent 5 days at the ritz in cancun and the treatment we received--by everyone from the front desk to the restaurant employes inside and out to the pool attendants--was remarkably good and extremely genuine. you may pay more at the ritz but give yourself a break and take in service that you only dreamed of previously. ok, call it being pampered, if you will. some advice to lower the cost: 1. look in november and the first two weeks of december and check out orbitz. 2. take an ocean view room instead of an ocean front room. the view is basically the same and you save a few dollars. most of all, enjoy and be sure to say hi to diego who works the outside restaurants and is just a great guy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you look for nice quiet holidays - then Cancun is the place. But in The Ritz you will get quiet holidays but on top of that - the best service we have ever seen. Literally you need nothing to do there. On the beach - best service - although there is yellow/red flag on the beach there is no risk of getting to sea. 30m away from shore - and you still have 1m deep. Quality of food - mexican (recommend nachos with cheese on the pool side) and international - excellent. Yuo could also go and cook with Chef - every day - different culinary theme. Very quiet. You should rent a car - valet parking on site.

Room Tip: High floor (6-7) - ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent a week in this beautiful hotel attending a conference. Everything in this hotel is tops. The comfort of the rooms, the stunning views, the friendly staff, the food, the conference facilities, the entertainment, the beach and the pool, etc. It's located on the main strip and close to many restaurants, bars and shopping stores. You may take a taxi if you want to go to the other end. Or, catch the bus in-front of the hotel. Public transportation is readily available. Buses are modern, clean, safe, and fun to ride on them. The beach is clean with very fine white sand that feels like talc. The ocean is inviting and there are many aquatic related activities worth pursuing.

Room Tip: Top floors toward the middle have unbelievable views of the ocean and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was there for the Cancun Travel Mart and was really disapointed, my expectations very high due to the reputation of this chain but the rooms are not anything special, Internet in the rooms is pricy, impossible to drink Coke since the owner of the property aparently is the owner of Pepsi distribution in Mexico....the service is good but nothing out of extraordinary. I would go some place else in Cancun if I am willing to pay for a Luxury Resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Currently staying at the Ritz here in Cancun. I realize it is "The Ritz", but really, $20 per day per device for internet access? This alone would add $40/day to our tab for the two of us, or $520 to our planned 13 day stay. Rather than allowing ourselves to be victimized by these thugs we have accepted the inconvenience of having to walk several blocks where free internet service is available, and apparently still profitable to the provider. What a way to treat one's "guests"! Then there's the matter of $15 for a pot of coffee in the morning. No continental breakfast...that's just for the coffee! And the food in the hotel's restaurants? Count on 3 times the cost of outside restaurants of comparable quality. Again, I do realize it is "The Ritz", but I am captive here since I am attending a professional function being conducted at this particular facility, and resent being totally gouged for services that are clearly unwarranted and excessive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I went to the Ritz Carlton, Cancun for my honeymoon, it was fantastic! The room was nice it had a private balcony. Ask for a room with a private balcony, which are only in the corner rooms as the others are very open. I highly reccomend dinner one night in the Casitas, wonderful experience, so relaxing and the food was great. We loved how they had a double chaise lounge outside each Casita for you to relax in between courses. The water at the beach was so beautiful, there were plenty of places to sit by the pool, we went in May. I would highly reccomend this hotel. I would also reccomend getting thier ground transportation to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony, we had a corner room with an entrance hall leading into the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun

Address: Retorno del Rey 36 | Zona Hotelera, Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Cancun
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most elegant resorts in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, reflects Mexico's rich architectural heritage in an atmosphere of magnificent sophistication. Minutes from many lively and leisurely attractions, the resort features 365 guestrooms overlooking the sea, a 1,200-foot beach, sculpted outdoor swimming pools, a full service Spa, an impressive Culinary Center and award winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Cancun Hotel Cancun
Cancun Ritz Carlton
Ritz Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.