We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good: pool area and the beach Bad: food, kids club, housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 9.5 Lote 6 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
London, UK
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good: pool area and the beach Bad: food, kids club, housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent here 2 weeks from 25th of Dec 2012 till 8th of Jan 2013 with 2 children (2 and 9 years old). Could't wait to share the experience!

Ok stay, but felt a real shame that the management is using great location and beach to compensate for many other flaws.

Have to be fair, beach and restaurant staff is trying really hard to please the guests.

But, food choice and quality is very poor which is a shame as Mexico has such a great culinary heritage and you would expect Fiesta to share that with guests. Some of the room service Mexican dishes were worse that in any low cost convenience store....but they charge you like first class restaurant for that. One of the restaurants on the beach was ok, they had a selection of fresh fish, that cook did not seem to know what to do with it, but fry fry fry.....yak. Also, very limited selection of fresh vegetables and fruits.

Rooms are ok, but NOT five star hotel. We later found out that even though they renovated in 2010, not all the rooms got upgraded. We stayed in the East tower, which still has 20 years ago feel with many plugs broken. We had two interconnecting rooms, good size but definitely needing renovation. Housekeeping was ok but very irregular and late the same is for turndown service. Quality is very inconsistent.

Kids club is almost non existent. Consists of tiny room with several tables, variety of activities is very limited and boring. There is one big playroom which is useful, but you have to be there with the kids and it gets boring after a while.

We stayed over Christmas and New Year and were surprised with total luck of Holiday embiance. Of course they had holiday decorations and you had to book New Year eve dinner, but the whole hotel felt like goast town.....thanks to JW Marriott that we escaped to feel the celebratory atmosphere!

Concierge service is very basic, staff was pleasant but scared of your questions which shows luck of training, definitely not 5 star.

Transportation is very disappointing. Hotel doesn't have its own cars. Taxi is ok to get around the area, but when we asked for a nice car to go to Xcaret we got worn down van without sit belts and had to pay transport consierge $100 just to find as car and he refused to put it to the room charge, obviously everything went to his pocket, which would be ok if we got the service that we asked for! Total disappointment!


Overall feel a little cheated, and sorry as this hotel could be a real pearl and has all the ingredients (location, beach, size, hard working staff) to be 5 star.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    436
    107
    62
    45
See reviews for
649
760
37
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, NY
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights with our 2 kids (under 10 yrs old) and were very impressed with this hotel. Their staff is professional, responsive, and always courteous. We had a GREAT view of the ocean and liked the spacious room. The pictures of the rooms from their website are pretty accurate. Part of the hallway by the elevators smelled musty at times, but we had no problems with our room or the hallway by our room.
The pros:
- Spacious rooms, great hotel service, excellent view (recommend you get ocean view)
- If you get the European Plan (free breakfast), it's a great deal
- Great breakfast buffet (loved their selections).
- Family-friendly but not Disney-like
- Close to the bus stop and nearby shops, some restaurants
- Right by the beach and nice pools
- Feels like a grand, top-notch hotel

The cons:
- Wi-Fi is at an extra cost
- Lounge chairs by pool are limited
- On 2 of the 8 nights we were there, the water was barely lukewarm (not good if you like hot showers/baths)

Some other suggestions/tips:
- We didn't buy adventure packages (i.e. Xel-Ha, X-Caret, etc.) from the hotel. We saved over $100US by walking down the block to the agents by the bus stop for the same exact package.
- Try to get to the pools early if you want a chair.
- Taking the bus was easier than I thought. If you want to go to La Isla Mall (good mall), or downtown, it's fast and SO easy (carry a map- available on any travel pamphlet). It costs less than 1 US dollar (about 8.5 pesos) per person. If you don't check the exact fare, the bus drivers might ask you to pay more. I discovered this after I was charged different fares by different drivers. The R1 and R2 both come very often (like every 2-4 minutes) so wait for the next bus if one looks crowded. Note: they don't always stop long at each bus stop so if you exit at the back of the bus with children, the bus might start moving before they hop off (while the back door is still open)! VERY dangerous and happened to us TWICE. Other American riders shouted at the drivers when they saw this happening (THANKS to those who helped!).
- The Starbucks at the Caracol Mall nearby is decent, although the coffee tasted a bit lighter.
- If you want to buy jewelry or silver at the Caracol Mall, go to the jewelry store on the 1st/main floor. Prices are negotiable and more fair (and the store owner is professional and courteous). If you go upstairs to the flea-market-like stores, you should be very careful. Not only did they try to harass me into buying from them, I found out that 2 of the store owners are related (brothers) and they became aggressive when I decided not to buy from either of them. They tried to convince me that some of the bracelets were real silver when I can tell they weren't. I found the same bracelets elsewhere where the storeowners told me they were stainless steel if I do not see the "925" imprinted on the silver. There are also street vendors who will sell you silver jewelry at low prices but shop at your own risk.
- If you are going to a restaurant downtown for dinner and you're not sure how to get there, you might consider a cab vs. the bus. It's not fun to get lost walking around downtown at night.
- Try the fish tacos at Mex-treme restaurant (walking distance) and their drinks if you're looking for a light snack or easy meal.
- You can save money if you buy your own water and snacks from OXXO (several of them within walking distance) for your hotel room.
- Money exchange storefronts, certain stores, and banks nearby usually offer better rates than the airport.
- US Transfers offered us a good price and good service for travel to/from airport and hotel (not a shared ride). Easy, affordable, and hassle-free.
- The Plaza Fiesta outlets (souvenirs, silver, edible goods, clothing, etc.) claims to have the best prices. They definitely do not.

I hope this helps. We enjoyed our stay at the Fiesta American Grand Coral Beach. I hope you do too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We traveled to this hotel early jan 2013 w two teenage children. While choosing this hotel, the travel agent mentioned that the beach water was "calmer" here than in the north /south hotel zone strip (where most of the hotels are located) due to the Island Mujeres, which is an island off the coast which blocks the rough water. I really gave that piece of beach info little consideration in choosing our hotel bc my children are older and excellent swimmers, but it can be LIFE SAVING ! While walking a few hotels down on the beach yesterday, we noticed immediately that the ocean water was much rougher than at the FA. Then we saw 2 bodies lying in the sand, adult victims of a drowning that just occurred and all the emergency personnel.
OMG.....so tragic I can't even describe.....and to think this could happen to any unsuspecting swimmer....they did post warning flags about water conditions, but we were unaware of them as I guess many others are.....
So when thinking about choosing this hotel , choose the safety offered by its beautiful crystal clear beach and also it's lifeguard.
P.s. by the way , FA deserves every one of its 5 stars, excellent service, super clean--upgrade to club level---worth every penny and more--excellent food/drink all day w spectacular ocean views.... Safe travels:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I just returned after a five day stay with my husband and adult children. The room was spacious and clean. From check in to check out, the staff was very attentive. The hotel was full and I was worried that it would be hard to get lounge chairs. No problem! The cabana boys were helpful in finding us chairs and setting up our towels. The spa was wonderful. I'm a bit of a spa snob and I could find no complaints with it. I definitely would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I travel all around the world and stay at the most exclusive hotel and resorts. This hotel is in the top three favorite hotels and resorts we have ever stayed at and is why we continue to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A truly "GRAND " hotel. We chose to upgrade to the Grand Club Ocean View. well worth the extra expense. Easy check in upstairs with no lines, free great breakfast, noon snacks and free drinks, tea in the afternoon and late night with o devours and more free bar. Always fresh fruit available. Also with the Grand Club you have free use of the exercise room and Grand club meeting rooms upstairs with TV and get together room. Also free wi-fi. We didn't need to go out to eat every meal because of the large assortment available from 7am to 11pm. But for a "real meal" except for breakfast you need to go a short way down to the restuarants.

The pools are very large with calmer beaches than many other of the hotels. Plenty of sun until middle afternoon then the building shades the pools and beach, but the pool are heated to different degrees. Even in December the ocean was warm.

The most noteworthy attributes at this hotel are attention to detail. The service is truly the best I've seen and everything is clean, clean, clean. The staff except for a few cleaning people are fluent in English and never can do enough for their guests.

Room Tip: Get the Grand Club Ocean View. The North building is entirely renovated and a little closer to nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is wonderful. The attention we received was first-rate. The room and the views from our terrace were beautiful. The beach is right there and unlike other hotels in Cancun, it's very calm. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. The only complaints are 1) there is $26 a day charge for wi-fi...it should be free; 2) no free bottles of water. The cost of each bottle in the mini-bar is approximately 7x what it would cost you to buy it outside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 9.5 Lote 6 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Business Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Family Hotel in Cancun
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel rises majestically in the heart of Cancun’s entertainment district. The 602-rooms present with all the class of a fine European hotel, combined with the warm and gracious service that has made us famous. Our full-service spa, invite you to enjoy the endless relaxation and adventure. Fine cuisine is available in our nine restaurants and bars. Guests may also use the large outdoor pool along with a children’s club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Resort And Spa
Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Cancun Hotel Cancun
Fiesta American Cancun
Grand Coral Beach Cancun
Fiesta Americana Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiesta Americana Grand Coral Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.