We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Ka'beh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Ka'beh to your Saves list
Hostel Ka'beh
Alcatraces 45 | SM22 Mza 10 L26 Retorno 5, Cancun, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a good time here,all the staff especially Weston and kristie were really helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was alright and the free guac on one night and the BBQ on another were great.
I'd defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
7
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I first booked this hostel in a desperate need for a place to stay as my couchsurfer didn't answer anymore. I felt really comfortable here because of the staff, they are very helpful with everything. They help you finding the right day programm for you. So whether you want to dive or go and see the mayan ruins they have a lot of suggestions. In the evening they organize almost always something (games,tequilla nights, trips to parties, movies nights and lots more). David, the owner is always around and is a very good host. I would defintely recommand this hostel to people searching for a decent place to stay without spending a lot of money and meeting nice people.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days and the staff was very helpful in assisting me with tranportation, trips, etc. Every night they organize an event and people are friendly so you really are never without something to do. Close to an outdoor plaza with food and vendors, supermarket, etc. You can take the R1 bus for 9.5 pesos to the hotel distrct easily. It was cheap, nice, and I would stay again when I return to Cancun.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I'm bias because I didn't really enjoy cancun that much. I just stayed one night and it was ok. The staff are friendly and helpful and the environment is good. The location is in downtown so far from beach which is like the only attraction I cancun. However it's close to ado bus station so it's a plus.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If a true hostel experience is what you are looking for, look no further. This place is about a block away from Parque de Palapas, a great place for local music and events at night (lined with food shops from tacos y tortas, panuchos, salbutes, marquesitas and everything in between). The workers are very nice and full of useful information. Nightly activities in the hostel with deals for night life in the hotel zone as well. The best of both worlds if you are a budget traveler or wanting a good night life experience. Ka'beh in Mayan means "the day after tomorrow", which seems to be when everybody leaves. My husband and I came for just a few nights starting February 9th (was the plan, and also our first hostel experience abroad) and ended up staying longer, and now work here for a little while before heading down the Yucatan towards Central America. Come visit us, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice hostel away from the tourist madness that is Cancun. Only a block from authentic street tacos! Easy acess to the beach and bus station. I was using this hostel as a base between flights in and out of Cancun so I found it really convinent for a few nights stay as it was close to the bus to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here a night and I was pretty happy to get out of there. The staff are very nice and very helpful it's the facility that lets them down. The place is really run down. Small cramped dorm with plastic wrapped mattresses that make a lot of noise. Smelly, no ventilation. It's just a bit unclean. Thank goodness they had open bar night because I needed a drink! The pics on trip advisor are very misleading!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Ka'beh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ka'beh

Address: Alcatraces 45 | SM22 Mza 10 L26 Retorno 5, Cancun, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Ka'beh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Ka'beh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.