We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misnomer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiance Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ambiance Suites to your Saves list
Ambiance Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Tulum No 227 | Supermanzana 20 Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limassol
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Misnomer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was absolutely fine but there certainly was no 'ambiance'! The room was very clean and pleasantly furnished, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size with all the usual facilities. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby as the hotel breakfast wasn't worth going for. Bus stop for regular bus service to the beach area within a few steps of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    89
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
75
26
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we are there for 4 days and used the hotel only to sleep. We stay in two rooms very larger and practice The price is very honest. We don't know about American breakfast . Next time we will read the reviews.



Vieira

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to be your hosts once again in the near future with american breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at Ambiance for 4 nights, rooms are far larger than any others downtown Cancun, and the beds & sheets are incredible. Based on previously read reviews I opted for the American Breakfast, which was plentiful and included eggs any style, fruit, juice, bread, sweet rolls, coffee and tea.
Alll the staff were extremely helpful with particular requirements we had, and also with a smile. Made us feel right at home straight away.

Room Tip: American Breakfast, the best option to start the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to submit this review and hope to be your hosts once again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were there for 4 days and it rained the entire time. We were on the 3rd floor of 5 floors and the ceiling in our room leaked as well in the main hallways. The continental breakfast is only toast and juice, so that expect anything more. The gym area was very minimal. The water pressure was low and the water in the tub was dirty. Good luck if you want to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We thank you very much for your valuable feed back. We are sorry you feel this experience was not a positive one and have taken immediate steps to rectifiy the situation. The flood that week was not unusual in Cancun and all leaks have been taken care of. May I suggest that next time you book with American breakfast to make your stay more satisfying
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After our 7 night stay, I feel neutral towards Ambiance Suites. It probably isn't the best hotel choice...

The hotel website says they offer a welcome cocktail. When I asked about this after our arrival at 5pm, they told me the cocktails were gone by 3:30pm (and check-in is at 3pm). We never received our welcome cocktails for our entire stay.

Included breakfast is (per person) 2 pieces of toast (with jam and butter), a glass of orange juice, and a cup of coffee. It is served to you in the hotel restaurant. A menu is provided if you need to order more.

In the bathroom was 2 complimentary bottles of Kirkland water. We drank them on day 1 and were never given more. Name brand water can be purchased from the minibar at inflated prices. Also in the bathroom is 2 oatmeal bar soaps, chocolate shampoo and lotion, shoe shine, shower cap and 2 glass cups. I broke one of the glass cups, it was not replaced, and I was not charged for it at the end of our stay. No problems with hot water. The bathroom was overall very nice.

Now the room. We got a room overlooking the pool to limit road noise. It was decent. The clock didn't work. We had to ask them 3 times to get it fixed. The safe instructions (printed on the safe) were incorrect. We had to ask twice to get security to come and she couldn't get the safe to work. Finally maintenance came by and explained the correct method for using the safe (enter the code twice).

On our final night there, we needed to ice an injury from earlier in the day. I asked for ice but they told me the restaurant was closed and the only thing I could do was to walk across the street to the OXXO (convenience store) and buy a bag. A little inconvenient.

The hotel ran out of parking spaces one night at the front of the hotel (about 7 spaces), so we were forced to park around back. It was difficult to find, we asked the front desk how to get there and where it was safe to park. Good customer service would have been for a security guard to open the back door for us, but instead we had to walk around through the casino alley.

The Palace Casino buffet next door is now 100 pesos, includes some gambling credits, and is not available before 7:30pm.

You are probably better off at another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We thank you very much for your valuable feed back. We are sorry you feel this experience was not a positive one and have taken immediate steps to rectifiy the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Staffs in this hotel were unfriendly, unhelpful and had attitude when asked for information. It is true the hotel was clean, though more of a business setting. Continental breakfast consisted of two pieces of toast, a glass of diluted orange juice and coffee. Would not imagine staying here again. When the guide book said they have unfriendly staffs, they are not kidding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We thank you very much for your valuable feed back. We are sorry you feel this experience was not a positive one and have taken immediate steps to rectifiy the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was staying at the Grand Caribe for a week but had a day before and day after to kill before my friends arrived so I chose this hotel and I'm glad I did. First, there are lots of buses nearby. Second it's just across from a large new shopping center called Las Americas, third, I believe there is a wifi router in every room! next the price was a fraction of what I paid at grand caribe.

The only issue was the very poor breakfast. The pictures show a breakfast bar with things like cereal, etc. However all I got was coffee, oj, and 2 pieces of toast. A "continental breakfast" they called it. However overall, the room was well designed, fast internet, 2 free bottles of water in the room, good shampoo/lotion/soat/etc. Reminded me of Ibis w/o the brand name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAMB, General Manager at Ambiance Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time of writing the review of Ambiance Suites Cancun. We appreciateyour comments and hope to have the opportunity of being your hosts once again in the near future. May I suggest that during your next visit you reserve with American breakfast included. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambiance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiance Suites

Address: Av Tulum No 227 | Supermanzana 20 Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#16 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambiance Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambiance Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiance Hotel Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambiance Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.