We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Availability Despite Our Reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel los Girasoles Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel los Girasoles Cancun to your Saves list
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Pina #20 | Sm. 25, centro (downtown), Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 49 Cancun B&B and Inns
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“No Availability Despite Our Reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I booked a room two weeks in advance of our arrival. After a long bus ride and another long walk from the bus station to the hotel, we arrived, just to be told that there was no availability. I mentioned our confirmation e-mail from Carlos Delgado, but was only offered other nearby hotel options. Oddly enough, two women arrived while we were deciding where to go next. and they were asking about availability (in Spanish). I listened as I heard the clerk (presumably Delgado) whisper them a price. I immediately explained our situation to the women, and mentioned to Delgado that if there was a room for them then there should be a room for us. The women agreed, smiled, and drove off. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels across Mexico and have never had this happen. Bottom line? Don't count on your reservation. Stay at the Hotel Cotty instead. It's on Av. Uxmal, just a few blocks from the ADO bus station. The rooms are set back from the street, so it was very quiet. Large, sparkling clean rooms with colorful linens, fast (free) WiFi, decent water pressure, even a bathtub (albeit a bit stained). $500 pesos/night for two people. Oh, and Los Girasoles does not honor their Internet prices. Their website quotes a double for $400 pesos, but we were going to be charged $450.
Really . . . stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room? Stay at the Hotel Cotty instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
26
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yacht traveling south
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is very nice, very clean, everything works, very quiet. They are constantly turning people away. With that said, if you reserve, you must make a deposit, or as others have experienced, us as well, they will sell your room if you are late. Great location - walk to bus depot, major grocery stores, Wallmart, etc. in minutes. Many restaurants very close. 450 pesos ($36) night during high season. Fridge, tv (nothing in English), wifi, four pillows per bed. Stayed for 6 nights. Make a deposit!!! Nothing compares in this area.

Room Tip: They are all very quiet. I had 14 on the top floor. It is a quiet neiborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked 3 weeks before travelling. When we arrived at 9.00 at night with our three kids (as we had said we would) we were told there was no room for us. We received some limited help in finding an alternative hotel, which earns them 1* as it worked out fine for us in the end.

But seriously, be careful if you plan on staying here, as you might get an unwelcome surprise.

Room Tip: Get a confirmed reservation somewhere else :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I suppose there are people who really love Cancun, and probably stay at one of the beach resorts. That is great for what it is, but I have to say generally I am not a big fan of Cancun.

What I liked about los Girasoles was that it was central (only five blocks or so from the main ADO station), but when you are there or on the streets nearby, it doesn't feel like you are in Disneyland Mexico.

It's a comfortable place, with nice, airy rooms, and a number of fun local restaurants and bars nearby (leaving aside the one with donkey saddles for barstools). Very affordable - I think it was 400 pesos a night when I was there, in April 2012.

Beware of all the Cancun cab drivers though - I think most of the ones I had tried to rip me off - "no, not the forty pesos that we agreed on for this (five block) ride, forty dollars!"

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed for one night coming back from Holbox. Room was functional - everything worked. And it was clean. Staff was very friendly, helpful and put up with my spanish. Mattress was average.
We were there Sunday so most of the restaurants were closed on restaurant row - ave Yaxchilan. However, La Parrilla had a buffet. It was comforting see a whole bunch of locals.

The place is a modest, safe and quiet property. They serve no breakfast. However, there's a very nice diner-type place within 2 minutes walking distance.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

When you're two or more persons, travelling Yucatan on a budget, and need a hotel after flying into (or before flying out of) Cancún, Los Girasoles is a great option. It's 400 pesos for a clean, spacious double room with fan, airconditioning, a good bed and a warm shower. The Calle Pina is a quiet street in downtown Cancún, almost no traffic. It's a ten minute walk from the ADO bus station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose a Cancun city hotel since we arrived late the first night and planned to visit Isla Mujeres the next day before journeying on in the Riviera Maya. The hotel was basic, but very clean and safe. Lots of great local restaurants and bars in walking distance, and easy to catch a taxi nearby. For $30 USD a night, this place far exceeded my expectations. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Must email for a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel los Girasoles Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Girasoles Cancun

Address: Calle Pina #20 | Sm. 25, centro (downtown), Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel los Girasoles Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Girasoles propietors and staff, give you a warm wellcome to Cancun, the Mexican Caribean's Paradise. We put at your service our great small hotel that offers you the ideal balance between the comfort and convenient location at a truly affordable price. We count with 17 rooms, where you can enjoy in a friendly environment of Comfort in the facilities and high standars of cleaniness, located in downtown zone in a very safe area, multiple services to facilitate your stay and low prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel los Girasoles Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel los Girasoles Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.