We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayafair Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mayafair Design Hotel to your Saves list
Mayafair Design Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kukulcan Boulevard Km 8.5 hotel zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Only come here if you are looking for a cheap place, and nothing more. There is no pool, no view, no restaurant, there isn't even a separate room for the toilet. Whag really got to me is the little ants I'd find around the room. The place is dim and really does seem to have been a shopping center at some point. It's also super close to clubs, restaurants, bars, and shops. The staff is helpful and nice. You can hear everything that is going on outside your door. We were right outside the lobby and around 10 am jazz would start blaring. I'd suggest this location if you are planning on hitting the bars, it's a good place to stumble back to, not so good if you want to spend any concious time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to the lobby may be subject to early morning loud jazz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    21
    8
    19
See reviews for
10
26
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our second time in Cancun and the second time we stay in this nice small hotel. The beds are huge, our room very comfortable and the service quite efficient. I wish it had a pool though. An excellent option to spend your vacation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the MDH Hotel almost by accident because our reservation was not kept at some other place, but telling the truth, that was good; this hotel is somehow different because of its combination of Mayan-Modern style, which makes it so special. It feels more personalized, nice people, very respectful, so clean, cool and the best at an excellent rate.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is really cheap and its ok. Rooms are clean and have the basic stuff.

The strange thing is that it consists of a gallery that was turned into a hotel. So it looks like an abandoned mall. Kind of creepy. So the light is poor (since every room was a local) and there´s no view. Every room is dedicated to an artist (that's why "gallery"). Our´s was about Rui Kawakubo, a Japanesse designer, so the room had her style...which was bad taste. The bathroom is separated by a biombo.
The people at the reception was very nice and helpfull.
It is very near the "night area" at Cancun, so if your plan it to spend little money and rock the night, go for it. It is not romantic at all, so not a good idea for couple holidays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

If you just want a cheap hotel room and don't plan on spending much time in the hotel it's perfect. The rooms are fine, but the hotel is half closed down.

It is the worst customer service I have experienced in the last 4 months of travel. The guy who works in the mornings is less than helpful and doesn't know anything. His attitude is rude and cocky and he seems annoyed anytime someone asks for something. The guy who works at night is not rude, but only moderately helpful. Upon arrival they don't even show you to your room or offer to help you carry your stuff up the stairs, because there is no elevator... They just point. No information about the hotel or what's around it. It's not surprising this hotel is falling apart the people they have working here are giving it a bad name. I have been to other design hotels before and never experienced anything like this. If trip advisor allowed zeros, this place would get more of them.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

During my stay here i had many problems,.. my first night here i thought it was gonna be confortable but there are many sounds at night, like if something were walking over the roof, i did not want to know what was it, I really tryed to sleep but something stung me all night like a little insect, The next morning i was full of hives, i was really upset, i ask for another room, they said had no more..

If you want to eat something you have to go out of the hotel ´case they have no restaurant,

no Swimming Pool,

not even a nice place,

looks like a jungle and it feels like a jungle, hot, and there are many mosquitoes. Terrible experience i would have prefer sleep on the street at least i would have saved my money.

This is my experience.. now is your chosse

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent a week with my boyfriend in this hotel.
The situation of the hotel was perfect, realy close to the restaurant and places of entertainment.
The rooms were huge, we were in a room dedicated to Madonna, splendid.
The staff was realy nice, although I have a missunderstunding with the service, they fixed it inmediately.
We took the Day Pass, and we could use all the services that the Oasis Hotel has. The pool, the restaurants, the bars...
We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayafair Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayafair Design Hotel

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 8.5 hotel zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mayafair Design Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mayafair Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayafair Design Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.