We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Playas Hotel Cancun

Save Saved
You added Dos Playas Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dos Playas Hotel Cancun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   blvd kukulcan km 6.5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 72160, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adequate for one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at hotel for one night. About a 30-35 min. ride from Cancun airport. Room was near the main office. Basic amenities with king size bed, small tv and bathroom. Internet charges of $10 per day. Room card also controlled electricity to the room so don't count on leaving the room with AC on. Buffet was decent. Beach area was nice and had jet ski, parasailing and bungee jump activities nearby. Would only recommend hotel for 2-3 day max stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    198
    142
    105
    127
See reviews for
94
214
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Dos Playas, we just got back from Cancun - really awesome. We stayed at the Hotel Dos Playas - everything was okay except for the internet. Dos Playas charges $8 USD per day for internet, and this is just to access the wifi that you have to use in the lobby. Does anyone charge for internet anymore? We went to Costco instead to use the internet. I was complaining to the clerk at costco and she told me that internet probably costs Dos Playas about 400 pesos per month or approx. $35 USD per month - what a rip off charge $8 USD PER DAY!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Your comments are very valuable to us. We understand that, at first sight, the cost of the internet service might seem to be expensive for a 3 stars property. The reality is that most of the hotels charge internet service to guests one way or another, either by adding the cost to the room rate or independently precisely to avoid the public rate price increase. We offer a fast, secure internet connection in all the hotel areas (lobby, restaurants, swimming pool, rooms) based on a complex infrastructure of antennas scattered throughout the property with a significantly higher cost of household connections (as mentioned by the cashier COSTCO). We, however, are considering our guests comments, at this regard, to minimize the cost of this service. We will soon inform our guests about the outcome of this matter. Meanwhile we will keep this option available to our guests, even if this could be considered a bit expensive for some of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I travelled to cancun for our 40th birthday. The Dos playas hotel was value for the money we paid! Room was large and clean. The toilet roof could have used a bit of work as it looked like it would collapse at any time. The grounds were lush and green and the iguanas were a true highlight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just spent the one night here on arrival in Mexico for the first time. We were looking for a budget hotel in Cancun of which there are plenty to choose from. I was neither pleased nor displeased, the room was clean and the beds comfortable. The pool area and beach are small and the onsite restaurant was okay but didn't have great service. It's ideal for the ferry port to Isla Mujeres, however on advice from our guidebook we decided to travel by public bus to another port further north for a cheaper Ferry. It turned out that the Ferry company was the same and therefore the discount plus bus fare only saved us a few pounds. There is a local shop nearby for drinks etc rather than using the hotel bar.
Our room overlooked the tennis courts and main road - they looked in good condition and some people were using them as we left.
I'm not sure I'd recommend this hotel as there are so many others to chose from, but I was not displeased by it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 10 nights in February 2013. Starting with the positives, the hotel location is good, right on the beach but there are steep stone steps down to the beach which are uneven and could do with some work. The grounds are beautiful, green and lush and plenty of iguanas roaming around.
Now, the bad points. Our room was big but sparse, and although there were two double beds in the room, they didn’t fit properly, so the bedside table between them could only fit in sideways and therefore couldn’t be opened. The bathroom was very big but there were not enough towels supplied. We noticed that our balcony door wouldn’t lock and naturally we wanted this fixed so when we went down for dinner on the first night, we called in at reception and advised them of the problem. When we went back after dinner we were told it was fixed, but we found that the door wouldn’t open at all. We then realised that it was because their idea of “fixing” it was to get a plank of wood and put it in the runner to stop the door opening. We raised this with our rep the next morning and he complained on our behalf but nothing was ever done to fix it. The TV is rubbish and might as well not be there, the signal is poor and unwatchable.
The food was pretty bad. The breakfast was good and the fresh omelettes very tasty, but other than that, the food during the day and in the evening was poor. Every night is supposed to be a different cuisine, e.g. Caribbean, Italian, Mexican, but in reality it was same stuff every night. No matter what night it was, it just seemed to be a different way of cooking pork! Most of it was cold and bland. As for the service, it was terrible! The staff are rude, one waiter in the evening in particular is arrogant and ignorant. We were initially getting drinks from the bar but after a few days were told it was table service and we should sit down and ask a waiter. Well we sat there, and attempted to get a waiter’s attention but were ignored. When we eventually did get his attention, he only brought my boyfriend a drink and walked away when I asked him for one. You also need to be aware that they frequently start closing down before the time stated. Hardly a friendly hotel and the staff need to learn some basic manners.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is not good period. I went there with my wife to meet some friends as we were going down town together. We walked into the pool area where they had said to meet and within two minutes several security guards grabbed us and took us to some nasty ignorant woman who said I owed them $100 as I never had a band on. We did not have any drinks or food (fortunate because our friends said it was disgusting anyway) but she would hear none of it. They just want our money and when I objected they called the police. They threatened us with jail if we did not pay, maybe they are in on their racket. I am currently talking with my credit card company who have responded well, they do not like people ripping off their customers. I am also going to search out travel agencies etc to try and get this officially documented as this hotel is obviously not doing Cancuns reputation any good. I assume the hotel director will respond to this with some PR BS like the others. If you want to respond properly stop ripping people off and give me my money back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Maria P, Guest Relations Manager at Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Non registered visitors are not allowed in the hotel unless they get a "day-pass" which gives them right to use the facilities as well as food and beverages. You voluntarily signed the credit card voucher for this concept. The hotel staff has precise instructions to avoid these situations including recourse to force public in order to mantain order within the hotel facilities. Being an all-inclusive hotel means having control over people who enter the property to prevent unauthorized consumptions. We appreciate your understanding on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in March for 2 weeks. The hotel and grounds were lovely, our room on checking in was right up the top with no balcony, we were informed if we wanted to change rooms we could do so the next day, which we did and stayed in one on the ground floor facing the tennis courts. Rooms were regularly cleaned, beds made, also little shower gels and shampoo were always topped up, we found leaving a small tiip every now and again ensured getting clean towels lol,
The food was ok, breakfasts omelettes/fried eggs were all cooked fresh and very nice. Had cereal, cornflakes, frosties, coco pops etc. Also were bread and salad and the usual continental stuff along with pancakes and maple syrup/honey.
We drunk mainly beer at the start but then started on the cocktails, the best being a miami vice, very nice, they were all drinking them. No signs of cockroaches in my apartment. During the day we went over to the bar by the beach as we could lie on the beach and easily get a top up drink, we also had lunch here. Overall food was ok, dinner there was always meat on the grill, food was rarely hot. We met some great people out there and staff were brilliant
The bus stop is just outside the hotel which you can go downtown cancun or central.
Will try and go out again next year,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dos Playas Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Playas Hotel Cancun

Address: blvd kukulcan km 6.5 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 72160, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dos Playas Hotel Cancun 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dos Playas Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Playas Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.