We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 40% on 2nd night
Ranked #16 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great option for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed only for a night and got a studio room, we arrived late night and front desk was super nice. Our room was quite far away from the lobby but worth it.
Great beds, super clean rooms...expected a little bit more from a Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for a far away room for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice review, always make us glad to hear the feedback from you and to know that our efforts to serve and provide you with a refreshing stay, were worth it! We hope to welcome you back near future!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    745
    198
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,211
1,146
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great place to stay and staff was extremely friendly. Right on the beach and spa right on the beach was heavenly. With shopping very close and lots of tours and activities nearby location is perfect. Rooms are very spacious and appointed with a full kitchen so you don't have to eat out every night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is very important to us that you take home memories that you will never forget. And is very important to us your feedback for improvement every day. We hope to see you again next year to enjoy another Westin experience!!
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We received a great offer from Westin to try out the newly renovated sections of the Lagunamar (we paid about $360 for 3 nights). We typically would not stay at this type of apart-hotel property when on vacation but couldn't pass up the great deal. The rooms itself are nice, not great, but nice enough. A family or people staying for longer would probably really appreciate the kitchen and washer/dryer but we were only there for a short time and ate every meal out so did not really utilize those amenities.
The property itself is quite nice, the pools are really beautiful, well kept, we really enjoy hanging out there and grabbing drinks. One downside for us was that there were tons of families with kids, so most of the lounge chairs in the best spots were taken early in the morning, and also lots of screaming from the kids.
We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning. They have a buffet with unlimited champagne, which we LOVED. The food was good and the price we thought was very fair (I think $22 per person). For dinner we always ventured off property and found the hotel to be in an extremely convenient location to walk to a variety of restaurants for dinner. The hotel is also right across the street from a large mall, which is also great if you want to do some shopping.
In general, we had a nice time, the weather was great and the hotel was in general very good. We probably would not return to Lagunamar because it's more catered to families, and we prefer adults only resorts that have a more peaceful environment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments, we are glad to know that you had a relaxed stay at Westin Lagunamar, he appreciate every comment from our valued guest and we want to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The best thing about Westinn is its location. You just have to cross the street to go to
Liverpool shopping center. Besides, buses in Cancun run all the time, so you can easily
go to anywhere, but Wallmart is about 25 min far on hush hour, so be aware
of that. The room was good, and we had a charming balcony. The kitchen and laundry facilities
inside the room are great. You can buy things at the small shop they have in the hotel. Yes,
things there can be pricy, but they are afordable and convenient. The pools are beautiful, but
I believe they use too much clorine. We didn't like the staff much. Our concierge talked to us as
if she were our boss, she was almost rude actually. We felt that they are more worried with comissions than in actually helping us. Besides, our concierge called us at 9 am one day, and it really upseted us. The check in takes way too long, which isnt nice when you are tired of the journey. Besides that, the lobby area has a very strong perfume, which we didnt like much. We wouldn't come back to this hotel again, but as we pointed out here, there are good aspects too that you might consider.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Please accept our apology for those two minor hiccups you should not experienced during your stay. We thank you and appreciate your feedback and nice comments, the feedback of some staff is going to be revised and we appreciate this. Please contact us directly if you give us the opportunity to give you a Westin lagunamar Experience next time. to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com
Sincerely,
Mangement Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The staff are great and friendly the only concern we recieved a call every day to see if we were Intrested in tours, timeshare, etc it gets a bit annoying after a few days.

Food is overpriced and also the drinks , convinient location.

To be honest the resort isn't much to brag about , it was ok but not great I would recommend if you grab a deal like we did but I'd try something else

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, We are sorry to hear about calls experience and We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and assist you with your next visit to provide you a Westin Lagunamar Experience. Please contact us at: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com so we may discuss this further.
Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We just returned from a 5 day trip to Cancun with stay in a Studio Suite at the Westin Lagunamar. The property is very well maintained. The studio was nicely arranged and comfortable. We found it odd that there were no King beds in the studios. View from building 6 was very good. Jacuzzi tub and shower in the bathroom. Probably the coldest (most-wonderful) fridge I've ever seen. Nice to have a washer and dryer to do our clothes before our return to the States. Service was generally "good," but extra requests seemed "forced." This is not a 5-star resort with extra, above-and-beyond service, but it was adequate and friendly. Read horror stories of checkin, but ours was speedy and friendly. Although there are several restaurants on property, they had odd offerings of different themed foods each night, so that was a bit restricting. The food and beverage service was costly and really, nothing to write home about. Go off property for much better food at better prices. Nicely situated across the a mall/shopping plaza. Near McDonalds for those on a budget. Full kitchen and cooking utensils/cookware for preparing food in your room. The infinity pool was amazing and we enjoyed it most of all. We would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, 4th or above, so that the palm trees do not obstruct your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to post your review, your comments about our amenities and immaculate and gorgeous grounds, and perfect location, made us so proud to belong to a resort like Westin Lagunamar, and also your feedback about the food and restaurants will be shared with all the staff. Than you for your loyalty and please contact us for your next visit: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed there for one night in August.

You cant go wrong with the location and the infinity pool was amazing.

The room was nice and comfortable. However the toilet flush was not working properly.

Some of the staff were really nice others did not really respond to our questions. There was a lot of confusion about organizing out trip to the airport. We had to take a taxi in the end because they would not let us use the hotel shuttle service.

This hotel is great for kids though.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your vacation at the Caribbean,, and thank you for your feedback which is very important to us, we will share with our associates and entire staff. We hope to welcome you soon and give you a complete Westin Lagunamar Experience,
Warm Regards from Cancun
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.