We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My daughters and I just stayed here for a week, which was our first time visiting Cancun. I must first give kudos to our personal conceirge at WLR, Pedro Aguilar, who contacted me a week or so prior to our arrival with a 'welcome' email. Pedro answered all of my questions, submitted my requests, and prepared an excursion list of things we were interested in doing prior to our arrival. Once we arrived, he arranged reservations for ZipLining at Selvatica. If your interested in ZipLining, you MUST inquire about the Selvatica Company, they're awesome!! From the moment we walked in the entrance doors of WLR, we were welcomed in a very professional way.....no complaints at from me for the most part. The room was actually ready when we arrived at 2:30p on a Sunday!!! The rooms and property are well maintained!! The only complaints I would have is that a lot of the employees do not speak English well which in return they will try to avoid contact with you. It's a real inconvenient not to be able to pay for food or drinks with cash or pesos. You would have to pay with a credit card or charge to your room (if you pre-authorize a credit card during check in). Also the gas grill area would be awesome if the grills actually worked!!! I called maintenance for help twice and waited for about 30 minutes and no one showed up. I finally walked over to the Owners Lounge and asked someone if they could help me. Without hesitation, Omar Rivera was so kind to come to the grilling area to help me light the grill. Another kudos to Omar Rivera, thank you so much!! The hotel is in a great location, be sure to ask the conceirge desk for restaurant recommendations. A lot of restaurants offer some type of promo (complimentary drinks, percentage off, etc) for Westin's guest so be sure to inquire with the Conceirge desk prior to.

ATTN Westin Management, please take a moment and acknowledge the two employees that I mentioned above, they are valuable employees and are making WLR look good, especially after reading some of the other reviews on this site. Be sure to give recognition when recognition is due!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 4th floor to have a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your amazing review about your recent stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and knowing that we exceeded your expectations of facilities and people, our associates are always happy to welcome you and go beyond the limits to provide you a renewing and refreshing stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,807
    732
    187
    79
    43
See reviews for
1,183
1,117
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I made our third trip to the Lagunamar, we love it so much we stayed 2 weeks this time, July 6-20. The rooms are great, the view incredible. The service is 5-star all the way! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and had several dinners at the hotel restaurants. The service at the pool was outstanding and the Lagunamar employees used our names regularly. The infinity pool is just beautiful, loved the Tai Restaurant across the street too. I would like to make special mention of the following: Henry who was just an incredible person, so friendly and always had a smile. Benito was always running around to make sure he was doing all he could for us and other guests. Lomolie, Edwardo and Roberto are just fabulous with smiles and so helpful in all they could do for us. Ernesto was great to us too, always helping in all he could. Pedro, the restaurant manager was friendly and professional. Juan Jose was also hard at work to please. We had 2 Enriques...one was Enrique Zavala and I am sorry I don't remember the name of the 2nd Enrique. In general we had a great experience with all employees there, including Emma. The only tiny complaint is that they need more help in the little store, but the store does have a lot. There is a little library in the Kids Center, where you can take a book or two at no charge, I did return them before I left. Was a fabulous vacation!

Room Tip: We like building 5 best as it is an elevator ride up from check in and the store, etc The higher the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Family,
I am so excited by reading your amazing feedback, we are always happy to help you and your family to have a Westin Lagunamar experience. Nothing is more important than knowing you left the property so happy. We know you will be back soon, please contact us if you need prior information or assistance.
Saludos from Sunny Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlefield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here during the week of 8-9-14 and found it to be terrific. Cannot ask for better service - everyone was polite, efficient, and incredibly customer focused. Our 9 year old found it easy to get around and loved the pool with the slide. The ocean front is spacious and there are very few trinket peddlers. The property is very well maintained - both the villa and the public areas were very clean. The Isla Mall across the street was great for dinners and had a nice variety - Thai, Indian, Mexican, Italian, etc. No reservations really needed if you eat before 7PM. For an activity, I suggest booking XPLOR through the hotel. They take care of everything, and I was very impressed by the balance of adventure and safety at XPLOR. This resort and Cancun will be added to our places to come back to.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view in Phase II
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when they arrived. Thank you for being part of Westin Lagunamar and for your loyalty to us. We are glad and happy to make you feel like home.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon!
Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here for a week with family in a studio. Loved having the washer and dryer and mini kitchen. The room was spacious and clean. Extremely comfortable. The pools were amazing, warm and huge! The kids loved he slide and the beach. The kids club is fantastic. This hotel is directly across the street from a large mall which has a variety of restaurants to eat at. Transportation from this hotel is so easy, you can take a cab or the city bus. We did both and both options were fine! The service is fantastic at this hotel. The one thing we had trouble with was the lunch we ate at the restaurant by the pool. The service was slow (not our servers fault, he was very nice) and the food was awful. We ordered Mexican food and it was like Mexican food from a bad Mexican restaurant in the states, seriously. Nasty. Needless to say after that we did not try the other restaurants on site. There were so many better options for food at the mall and in the surrounding area that it really wasn't a problem. We I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We would like to thank you for your comments and wonderful feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our property so much. Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts,
You will be very welcome next time if you decide to come to your second home at the Mexican Caribbean.
Be Well,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had what they call a two bedroom layout which is a Villia and Studio with connecting doors. This was a lot of space for a family of four with a big dinning room table and full kitchen. The only negative there are not two bed rooms only queen bed and sofa bed which I did not get any complaints from my 18/20 year old children. We were on the 5th floor in the building that over looks the "smaller" pool (see photo). This location was very quite and not too far from the main lobby.

Check-in experience: smooth; they do have a lot of steps to follow so it takes a bit longer then a standard Westin

Condition of property: top notch; not a tile out of place or worn furnishing

Pool/ Beach: hard to beat. Biggest pool in Cancun (I am told) lots of areas to hangout in the water. The beach is spotless with nice waves and attentive lifeguards. There are lots of lounges and we never had trouble getting one (wait until after 10AM and the best stops will be taken)

WiFi: very good even around pool and edge of beach (not sure what others were complaining about)

Food: we really liked the pool side restaurant and ate there twice (great service). There are lots of great places across the street or short taxi/ bus ride away (bus ride costs about a $1). We did not have a dinner at property.

Service: We had not issues with service and used the concierge to set up a few excursions

OK it is a Time share property (SVO): that had no impact on our enjoyment. We actually did do the "tour" to save some money on an excursion and $100 credit. We were committed to 90min but they "released" us in 45min as we were very familiar with the value proposition and they could see we were not buying in

We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your reviewing our resort, we loved your comments and tips for the travelers. We also want to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean gateway.
We look forward to welcome you in the near future!
Warm Regards from Cancún!
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I was really nervous about this as we are booked as part of a timeshare experience (buy a 3 year experience to taste what it's like on the timeshare programme). Booking it was the most complex and stressful process full of restrictions despite what we were sold. However none of that is this resorts issue that's the interval international programme. So when we arrived at the security gate and the taxi driver had to give our name in I was so relived they were expecting us!
Entering the Westin reception is a lovely experience. It really is as beautiful as the pictures portray if not more so. The reception team and the baggage porters are so lovely and welcoming ( in fact everyone is, smiling all the time saying hello (Hola), all wanting to ensure you are enjoying your stay. We were advised on check in that whilst our room wasn't ready (check in at 4 we arrived at 2) we had a beautiful room. I hoped so as we had already dropped a specification level from our deal, we were entitled to a 1 bedroom apt but all that was available on the exchange was a studio, again nothing to do with the resort but the programme. When we entered our room they weren't wrong! We have had the most beautiful room, ocean view, stunning facilities, jacuzzi bath, excellent kitchen facilities and even a washing machine and dryer, all including washing up liquid, powder etc. We wanted for nothing.

We have had a week here and it really is superb. We have no complaints whatsoever. We are a couple and despite this being a family resort there is plenty of space for families and couples. The beach access is superb, there are plenty of beds despite what some reviews say. There are some people who do the usual sun bed bagging by getting out early towels out on beds then not turning up for 4-6 hours then when they do only turning up for an hour at most (extremely selfish people). But all you need to do is tell the concierge and they will remove the stuff after an hour.
We weren't affected by it at all as there were so many many beds around. The hotel is about 90% occupied yet in the second pool area it's so quiet.
The pool concierge staff are so helpful and on hand for anything you want. The on site supermarket is excellent and yes more expensive than your local supermarket at home but not bad prices at all and certainly comparable to the local supermarket and liqueur store overs the road.

That is a bank on site but it has a heavy charge about £5 per withdrawal but if you go over the road to the Nova Scotia bank it's about 50p.

The facilities over the road are excellent loads of restaurants nearby and shops galore. Don't expect prices to be low though, these are top brands at top prices or even cheap brands at top prices.

We have had a super time here the hotel is superb as are the staff.
No complaints form us and a very happy time had.

Room Tip: Block 900 ocean facing is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is very important to us that you take home memories that you will never forget. And is very important to us your feedback for improvement every day. We hope to see you again next year to enjoy another Westin experience!!
Best regards,
The Westin Lagunamar management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

if you would take this hotel and put it not in front of this gorgeous caribbean sea, it would be a 2 star. but since its on the ocean you forget all other issues with the hotel. whenever i called down to the front desk with a request, either it never came or came a hour later. one night i came back to find that my room has not been cleaned. they charge for in room coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review. We will share your feedback with the respective upper Managers so that they can ensure our associates are doing their best to provide our guests with a refreshing experience. Please contact us to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further assistance on this matter.
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.