We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely spectacular!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Firstly would like to say I am still at this hotel 2nd day in and I don't need to wait until the end to tell you just how amazing this place is! The location is brilliant, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean it's like something you see on films. Beautiful. The views are amazing from this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to you all. I have another 13 nights left and feel so privileged to have found such a beautiful place :-) thank you to all the westin lagunamar staff. I will definitely be returning.
Room 1421

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. Thank you for choosing again our resort for your vacation and thank you for your loyalty, we hope to welcome you many more times in the future.
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    805
    213
    89
    50
See reviews for
1,344
1,263
54
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Took 5 of 6 kids, three spouses and 4 grandkids to the Westin Lagunamar to celebrate our 20th anniversary with our blended family. I simply can't say enough nice things about the location, facilities and service we enjoyed. The beach is one of the finest we have ever visited. The pools are exceptional. We dined several times on site and enjoyed the sports bar, poolside dining and fine dining. Rooms were great and the high chairs and cribs were readily available. The kids got us a couples massage on the beach which was a truly divine experience, lots of pampering, great massage (though I think I slept through some of it). This was our third trip there, previously just the two of us, perfect venue for that as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this great family experience! We are glad to read that you had a blast in our resort, the location we have is the best and we are always looking forward to exceed our guest expectations, please come to visit us again soon!
Warm Regards from Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I’m going to keep it brief...this place just rocked it...family friendly...plenty of activities...theme night dinners...incredible pool complex...my favorite spot...the hammock circle...across from a great mall...nothing to disappoint. (well unless your just looking for it!!!)

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. I was on the 3rd floor...plenty of view...all rooms have balconies. Ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,
We are delighted to read your review, is very important to us to hear and read opinions of any kind from our valuable guests, thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar for your vacation and please come back soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Visited last July 2014 and could not help but commend the hotel and its staff for the stay we had. Check in was alright and the staff made you feel welcome. Rooms were big specially for a family of 5 with a kitchen and laundry and they give you soap so you can do your laundry. Hotel has a small grocery where you can get food that you can cook in your room. Room has cooking pans and plates and spoon and forks. Gives you the option to hang around the hotel area if you are not in the mood to go out and eat. Infinity pool with a swim up bar was great and drinks were not watered down. Beach was wavy and good enough for small kids. A big plus was the La Isla Mall across the street which gives you lots of options and for those who are not much into staying in the pool or the beach.

Room Tip: Get a higher room if possible but not really a big deal. Restaurant food selection is quite limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Family,
I am so excited by reading your amazing feedback, we are always happy to help you and your family to have a Westin Lagunamar experience. Nothing is more important than knowing you left the property so happy. We know you will be back soon, please contact us if you need prior information or assistance.
Saludos from Sunny Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at the Westin because we were taking a family trip with our timeshare. It was a nice place, with 2 huge pools and beautiful beach area. I will say the place is HUGE if you like more boutique hotels or smaller hotels you will not like this! I thought it was nice because we had a room with our own kitchen and washer and dryer. One other downside was the food. It was not bad just very plain and it seemed liked all the restaurants had the same menu. Overall it was a nice stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is very important to us that you take home memories that you will never forget. We appreciate your comments about our infinity pools and Villas and we feel that our mission is accomplished, exceeding your expectations and giving you the refreshing experience you deserve.
Please come back soon and we will be more than happy to welcome you again.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun and I absolutely love it. The property is beautiful, with 2 huge infinity pools and all rooms have a view of the ocean.

Our villa is a 1 bedroom lock-off with a full kitchen, dining room, living room, separate bathroom, separate shower, jacuzzi tub and a balcony with a view of the pool and ocean. Villa is stocked every day with shampoo, conditioner, body wash, dish washer detergent, laundry detergent, paper towels, and tissues. No need to bring these items.

The Westin Lagunamar knows how to get it right. They offer daily complimentary housekeeping, if you are an owner - 20% off at all restaurants/15% off if you are not an owner. WiFi is free!! (I just went to Atlantis in the Bahamas which charges $22 per day for WiFi - will never go there again!)

The concierge is excellent, very helpful and they will help you book restaurants - usually with a complimentary cocktail. They have full menus at the concierge of many restaurants so you can check the menu for selections and affordability before you go. The villas and grounds are extremely clean.

Having a kitchen is awesome since we can at least have breakfast in the villa and some other snacks in order to save and most importantly for convenience. At night, we enjoy eating dinner out at on the of fantastic restaurants.

All villas also have a washer and dryer which is extremely convenient after spending your day at the beach and/or pool. This is a must for me.

Overall: The facilities at the Westin Lagunamar is excellent and top notch.

The location of the Westin Lagunamar is excellent - directly across the street from La Isla Mall - which has many more restaurant options and an excellent variety of shopping. The outdoor concept with restaurants on the lagoon is just gorgeous. One caveat is that overall - if you are from the USA - shopping designer goods are much cheaper in the USA.

Booking excursions is generally more expensive in the hotels but they will make sure that those tours are insured by the government.

It is very safe to take the Bus (R2) to Walmart (center of the City of Cancun - is not on the island) - but is will take at least 25 minutes on the bus. Not all buses are air conditioned. The bus will cost you 10 pesos (which is less than $1).

You can also take the bus up to the Isla Mujeres ferry, the ferry will cost you approx. $20pp. Spending a day at Isla Mujeres is a lot of fun and the boat ride is beautiful. Don't forget to rent a golf cart for a couple of hours to tour the island (approx. $15 per hour).

The only difficulty I have found is getting a chaise lounge -- pool side or on the beach. I recommend getting up early to reserve a chaise lounge with a pair of flip flops, magazine, etc. Yesterday, I wanted to sit on the beach and found 1 chaise lounge when this family several seats down approached us and told us they were all saved - even though no one was using them and nothing was on it. The mother was very aggressive and started yelling at me and my daughter.

I'm not sure how the Lagunamar could police chairs/chaise lounges, but I dare say that many people save seats and don't use them or only use them for a few hours. The Lagunamar could also use more umbrellas up by the pools. More chaises and umbrellas/huts are also needed on the beach. Thankfully, I am a morning person, typically up by 630am - and am going to make sure I reserve seat(s) early.

Overall - I would definitely recommend the Westin Lagunamar for your stay in Cancun, the facilities are new and beautiful and the location is excellent. The beach, location, heavenly beds, villas, and pools are amazing.

Room Tip: Choose a villa above the 3rd floor otherwise you will have to look at the beach between the palm tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your nice comments, we are glad to know that you had a relaxed stay at Westin Lagunamar, he appreciate every comment from our valued guest and we want to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Louisiana
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first experience with a timeshare property and as much as some things were an inconvenience, others were much better. We liked the freedom and flexibility of having a kitchen and being able to snack/cook as we chose. Also loved having a washer and dryer. Disadvantage was with our drinks. You can bring a cooler to the pool/beach which is fine if you drink beer but a pain if you want a good frozen drink. Drinks at the resort are expensive so we saved our alcohol intake for happy hour from 3-4 at the main pool and 4-5 at the other.
Tips:
Book airport transfers through USA Transfers. $55 for up to 3 people roundtrip in a private vehicle. Not a bus!
Keep your room tidy throughout your stay because they only offered cleaning services for 1 day of our 7 night stay.
Use the resort voucher and take the cab to Wal-Mart - 20 min cab ride and you can find just about everything you need there. Stock up on paper towels, toilet paper and paper plates! I asked the cab driver to then take us across the street to the liquor store La Europa. He did without hesitation. Make sure you tip your driver! If you would prefer to walk, they have the same store a few blocks down to the left of the resort.
For tequila lovers visit La Disterilla a few blocks to the left of the resort. They offer plenty samples of free, good tequila to help make your decision. Decent prices too.
We ate at El Fish Fritanga which was recommended by our concierge. Short 5 min walk to the left of the resort. Food was ok. I guess if you don't experience seafood like we do in Louisiana, you would enjoy it!
Eat at Elephante and Thai across the street at La Isla - AWESOME food and atmosphere. Both ended up being our favorites. You can make reservations before hand at opentable.com
Eat breakfast at the little place next door to the aquarium at La Isla. Can't remember the name of the place but if you ask and its early, they will seat you in a little walkway right next to the dolphin pools. Place opens at 9:30 and the dolphin shows start at 10. Awesome to be able to eat breakfast and watch them at the same time.
Eat at La Parilla at La Isla for some good Mexican food! They'll bring your drinks out on their heads. Great place for kids.
Take the ferry to Isla Mujures! Rent a golf cart and spend the day cruising the island. Have a drink at The Joint - neat little Jamaican themed place. Buy some fruit at the little stands on the street to experience what you can't find in the states. North beach is the best for swimming. South side is the best to sightsee. Awesome day and Great time!
Do your souvenir shopping at market 28 instead of the flea market. Bus ride closer to downtown.

Overall a great trip and the advantage of the resort not being all inclusive was that we got to experience lots more of Cancun and Isla Mujuers than others that stayed at the resort because it was "free". Prob spent about the same if not a little more than an all-inclusive place.
Service is great a a little tip goes a long way!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you accept it. Make them give you a few options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest:
We really appreciate your nice comments, thank you for taking the time to post this. At Westin Lagunamar is priority to meet our guest’s expectations and to give you the best Westin Experience every time to stay with us.
We look forward to welcome you in the near future,
Sincerlely,
Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.