We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another day in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 40% on 2nd night
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just another day in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have been coming to Lagunamar as an owner for 5 years now, and have loved each and every trip. The staff at this resort is outstanding. From the "ENTIRE" Elite Concierge staff to Lamili the pool concierge. These folks make you feel more like family instead of just a hotel guest. Even our maid Yessenia provided superior room service. I also own at the Westin Resort in Maui and like it there as well, but the dirfference between the two resorts is....the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
It means a lot to us to read this nice review, thank you for posting your comments about the great stay that you recent had at Wetin Lagunamar. It is true that Cancún is a paradise but the people and our associates are always happy to welcome you and willing to give you the best vacation ever! Thank you for being a loyal Starwood Property Owner. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    745
    198
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,209
1,145
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife, my 18 mo. old daughter and I stayed at this hotel in mid-September this year. My expectations were high... apparently too high. It's a nice hotel, it is, and the people are friendly and certainly did their best to help. Before arrival, we requested that our airport transfer vehicle (set up by the hotel) was equipped with a car seat. It wasn't. My 18 month old sat on my lap. I mentioned it and asked that they make sure that we at least had it for the trip back.. nope. Wasn't there then either. Bad 1st and last impression.
Pools are gorgeous as is the beach. When we were there, it was pretty windy and cloudy. Not a big deal, we were happy to hang out at the beach and pool without the blazing sun. The pools were very chilly as was the ocean. There were very few people swimming because of this. I asked 7 different people 1) If the pools were heated and 2) If they would turn the heat on. They said that yes, the pool was heated and they would turn it on. We were looking forward to enjoying one of several great pools on the property... But after 6 hours of constant reassurance from staff, managers, engineers, servers etc.., the heat was never turned on. This was especially disappointing and we were very put off by being mislead. Restaurants are pretty good. They have a limited selection for a resort of this size but the food was pleasant as was the service. I would return to Cancun, but I can't say that I would return to this hotel. I'm certain that there are several other properties in the area that take service a bit more seriously and don't rely so heavily on nice rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and post these comments, first of all, we are very sorry to know that your expectations weren’t meet and you had an inconvenience with ypur transportaction. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations, we appreciate your suggestion and we will share this with the appropriate department,
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this resort. The rooms were perfect, pools were amazing, grounds were immaculate, right on the beach, great location across from the mall and the staff were all so friendly and helpful! We will be back as soon as possible!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Congratulations for your marriage and thank you for choosing our spectacular resort to have your special moment. We can see that you loved our facilities, the beach, pool and room and that make us so happy.
We really want you to come back soon and the staff will be honored to welcome you and assist you during your next stay at Westin Lagunamar,
Warm Regards from Cancun

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had our best room in this hotel during our one month trip in the US and Mexico.
The one bedroom apartment was tastefully decorated, very specious and equipped with everything you could think of for a great stay. It even had a washing machine and a dryer.
The bed was very comfortable and the view from both windows was spectacular!
We stayed at the new wing and at the third floor of the center building (3101) which has a view of the pool and sea.

We went to shop for groceries at Wal-Mart which had a great selection of meat, fish & sea food. The hotel offered a deal of taking their transport to the nearer and smaller supermarket for 350 pesos but we decided to go by bus and return by taxi (9 pesos for the bus ticket and 150 pesos for the taxi back so definitely a better deal) and it was only about 20 min to get there.

As other reviewers wrote, we were offered to buy a time share but we declined politely.
There are many stores nearby (across the street) but most of them were quite expensive.
We spent most of our time at the beautiful beach and pool (there are two major pools and one of them has a slide).

On the beach and next to the hotel there is a small area where sea turtles eggs are kept in the sand and when they are hatched the hotel personnel bring the little turtles at around 7 pm back to the beach and let people release them to sea. It was one of our best experiences in our trip!
We highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
In behalf the Staff of Westin Lagunamar and Management Team we would like to thank you for your comments and wonderful feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our property so much.
We´ll post pictures of the new born baby turtles, you can always become our facebook fan.
Looking forward to see you soon!

Sincerely, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is really awesome! Hotel staff, tasteful and high quality food (you do not need to go outside) fair prices, cleanness, pool area, everything was perfect. Hard to find something to say for improvement. I definitely will come back with my family for another unforgettable vacation.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon for another Westin Lagunamar experience. The service you received is certainly the standard of a Westin Resort .
Enjoy another experience soon!

Warm Regards, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at this resort last week. This is one of the Starwood hotels which is really a cross between a Hotel and a Villa. It has all the advantages of a hotel in that your bed is made and room are cleaned every day, they provide clean towels, robes, soap, shampoo etc, have a great pool and all the amenities of a hotel; but the rooms are big and comfortable with a full sized kitchen (cooker, microwave, fridge freezer with icemaker, toaster, blender -great for cocktails, and just about everything else you would need). And if something is too big for the oven, take it to one of the outside gas BBQ's which are free to use.

The resort is on the beach and I do mean that. The beach is one of the few in the world used by sea turtles for laying their eggs. When the turtles lay their eggs the wardens go and dig them up and bury them in protected areas. When we were there in September the eggs are due to hatch. They take up to 100 newly hatched turtles at a time to the water where they release them. Any hotel guests there can help. We were all given a tiny little baby turtle to hold and everyone had to release them at the same time to give them the maximum chance of survival. Awesome!

The only negative going in September was the winds were a bit high and the red flags on the beach meant that we were often restricted to the pools. When the wind dropped the yellow flags went up where the life guards are on duty and then we also had the sea. Wonderful!

Now the reason for the title of this review. When we arrived the resort was almost full. As a result we did not get our preferred room. We were allocated one on the 3rd floor which did have a view of the sea, but it was mostly blocked by the palm trees in front of the rooms. Now that may be what some people want, but we had come to Mexico mainly for the sea. When we went down to the reception the guy there was Gustavo . Instead of the usual sorry but tough approach we sometimes get at other hotels, he was pleasant, understanding and did his utmost best to find somewhere we would like better. He was able to secure a room on a higher floor with proper sea view. He seemed to go well beyond what he had to do and called other departments and really worked hard to make sure we got what we wanted. It made us feel special and valued as customers and the room was amazing. Well, the room was the same, but the view could not have been better. It made the rest of our stay one of the best we have ever had. we highly recommended hotel and will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms if you want direct access to the beach/pool etc, but if not ask for at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so excited by reading your amazing feedback, we are always happy to help you and your family to have a Westin Lagunamar experience. We will send and post pictures of the new born baby turtles, you can always become our facebook fan and you will follow there that event and others. Please come back to visit us soon! We will share with Gustavo your kind comments and recognize him for the excellent service he provided you.
We know you will be back soon, please contact us if you need prior information or assistance.

Warm Regards, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very nice resort and great staff service every where on the resort. Beautiful beach and extra clean. If you are like me who was worried about my family's safety with all the mexico negative news. You shouldnt, at least Cancun is extremely safe and clean. The only negative I had was 2 incorrect charges posted on my bill, but they were both fixed. Also I requested a 2 beds bedroom for my kids and one of them was a futon!! It was a mission getting that second bed. Other than that, absolutly fantastic resort with the mall literally accross the street which made it very convinient.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room, abolut beautiful beach!! and if you need 2 beds, be sure to verify that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay, we certainly care about all our guests’ comments and feedback, it is important to us to improve and give our guest what deserve and what is a Westin Lagunamar Experience. We hope you have the opportunity to return to the resort and experience the enhancements we are working on for our valuable Guests.

Sincerely, The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.