We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful all around, wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 40% on 2nd night
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Alpharetta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful all around, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Cancun and my wife and I felt like we really got lucky staying at the Westin Lagunamar. The hotel was great, the beach was incredible, the pools were fantastic and all the staff were extremely kind and welcoming. We definitely plan to stay there for future trips to Cancun.

The only real complaint that we had was fairly poor WiFi in the room and around the grounds. I have no idea if other resorts have better internet access, but as we were on a couples trip with our three kids back in the states, it would have been nice to be able to connect with them more consistently. Also, the pool areas seemed to close slightly early for our liking, but that wasn't a big deal.

Being across the street from the La Isla mall was very convenient and we never waited more than 30 or 45 seconds for a bus at the stop outside the hotel.

Our room faced due east and we were able to watch the sunrise from our balcony in the morning. The views from our room and everywhere on the grounds were breathtaking and there is even a small Mayan ruin adjacent to the property.

Overall it was an outstanding trip and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Just about every room is great, but there are palm trees around the property that could block the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review about your recent stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and knowing that we exceeded your expectations of facilities and people, our associates are always happy to serve you and go beyond the limits to give you a renewing and refreshing stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    745
    198
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,211
1,146
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just returned from Cancun having spent the past week there. This is our third year in a row - needless to say we love this place and would love to return every year. We did not go on any excursions but stayed in the resort and played volleyball and soccer every day with the other guests and staff. I think the Fun Staff is what makes this place so enjoyable - Rene', Carlos and even their newest member Sebastion, all are friendly and helpful. They make a point to remember past guests and welcome us back with open arms making us feel like we are returning home! This year, because of the 4+ hours of volley ball and soccer every day, I decided to try the massage on the beach. Geraldo was very accomodating and did such a great job massaging my sore feet that I was able to continue my beach activities! Wish we were back there now :-( I highly recommend this resort to anyone who's looking for a fun family time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The one bedroom villas are very spacious the bedroom is big, the bed super confortable, big bathroom, shower toilet and jacuzzi are all separated in little rooms, there is full kitchen and laundry, 6 chairs table microwave, fridge etc. is like being at home or better.
The pools are big and clean and really close to the beach.
across the street from la isla mall.

Room Tip: most of rooms are in front of the ocean, but you have a better view on third floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar and that you enjoyed our rooms so much. Thank you for choosing again our resort for your vacation and thank you for your loyalty, we hope to welcome you many more times in the future.
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family chose to spend a night at the Westin Lagunamar before we headed down to our beloved Sunset Fisherman's Village in Playa del Carmen for two weeks. Although our family is definitely not a "large resort" family, we enjoyed our stay at the Lagunamar. The pools and the beach at the resort are extremely nice and our room was probably the most modern and newest of any room that we've stayed at in Mexico. The hotel is also directly across the street from the Las Islas shopping center, which makes it easier to go off resort to eat. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay at a larger resort in Cancun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is closer to the larger set of pools in the resort, which are towards the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
We are delighted to read your review, is very important to us to hear and read opinions of any kind from our valuable guests, thank you for choosing The Westin Lagunamar for your vacation and please come back soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've been to this resort 5 times and have never been disappointed. The best infinity pool we've seen. There's something for everyone at this resort - families, kids, teens, singles. The food is good at all the restaurants and the service at Oceano restaurant is excellent and Freddy, manager always makes sure everyone is happy . The only issue was the service by the pool decks. There are not nearly enough waiters walking around and we had to wait 30-60 minutes routinely to order food/drinks. The waiters are over loaded and are not too friendly. The service at the other restaurants are much better. Ester gives the best massage at the spa ever. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for posting this nice review about our resort and facilities, we are glad to know that you and your family were enjoying your accommodations and our spectacular infinity pools.
We hope to welcome you near future and please contact us before your next visit to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com
Sincerely,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Read the negative reviews, but many were about the vacation experience and not about the property or service. From my experience, this Westin property and service were absolutely outstanding.

Greeted with a smile, arrived early as we had stayed in Playa before coming to Cancun, figured we would just take our luggage with us across the street to check out La Isla Mall and grab some lunch, but Westin took our luggage to hold it for us until our unit was available. Yes, this is usually expected from a top-tier resort, but I haven't always had this happen, especially in a matter of about 30 seconds. Outstanding. Originally slated for building 11, requested building 8 or 9, and was told, "Absolutely, sir, we will take care of that right away." We were in building 8 (buildings 8 and 9 are both located between the two sides of the resort and a little closer to the beach).

Came back and unit was ready precisely when they said it would be, took the luggage up to the unit for us and we were checked in and in the unit within 5-10 minutes. Unit was impeccable. Everything spotless, gorgeous view of the property and beach, what you would expect from a Westin.

During the week, we took advantage of the beach, the pools, the hot tubs (at night), mini golf, the fitness center, the market, and happy hour. :-) Not one employee treated us with anything but the utmost respect and outstanding service. The epitome of this was when we stopped to watch a couple of workers trim the palm trees and were cutting off branches and coconuts with machetes. They offered us coconuts which they trimmed up for us and we stopped by the pool bar for a straw and drank the coconut water before having the coconuts cut for us so we could eat them. First time to have fresh coconut straight off a tree, and the kids loved it.

Took the very low-pressure sales pitch, politely declined, and have never been treated with more respect from a timeshare proposition. Got a nice discount on an excursion for it and took the excursion the day we checked out. Westin once again kept our luggage for us and we picked it up when we got back from the excursion. All in a matter of seconds.

Location is phenomenal with the beautiful La Isla Mall directly across the street and a bus stop right in front of the resort if you want to go into town.

Could not have asked for a better vacation, and not sure we could have a better one at the beach unless maybe we are ever able to return to the Westin Lagunamar. Outstanding property, outstanding service.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have views of the property. We liked building 8 for its location betwee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review about your stay at The Westin Lagunamar, we are proud of our selves by reading this nice review and knowing that we exceeded your expectations of facilities and people, our associates are always happy to serve you and go beyond the limits to give you a renewing and refreshing stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Mom and dad plus four sons 11-17 stayed for a week at the Lagunamar. This is a very nice place. we would definitely stay here again. The staff were friendly. the concierges were extraordinarily helpful! The location is perhaps the most convenient in the hotel zone as it is directly across the street from the prominent La Isla, an outdoor shopping mall. The hotel has a vibrant kids program, a miniature golf course, private beach access, beach volleyball and soccer activities. The pool staff are young, friendly and engaging. there are 3 large pools to choose from. there are 4 restaurants on location if you want to eat "off campus". Our kids had a great time, and so did mom and dad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for coming back again for a great family experience at Westin Lagunamar; it is our mission to improve every time our valuable guests come back and expect a renewed Experience.
We hope to welcome you for the third time near future!
Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.