We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel and Gracious Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% Plus Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Gladstone, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Hotel and Gracious Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had the best, restful vacation at the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun. Carlos and Marcella were such awesome massage therapists! The surf pounded in the background as we relaxed together during our 80 minute treatment. Everyone was so friendly and Maggie was always available to direct us when we had questions! The grounds were beautiful and very clean. We used the bus transportation with no problems! The directions to the Catholic Church were priceless: take the bus to the Playboy Club and get off bus. Walk 1/2 block to the church on the left!! The directions were perfect! Very relaxed and can't wait to book for next time!!

Room Tip: 4th floor and above have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments about our Team and will be sure to recognize them.We hope you have found a new ""home away from home"" and we look forward to welcome you back next year!!

Warm Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,623
    668
    165
    73
    38
See reviews for
1071
1018
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time at this property! If you are looking for luxury this is the place for you! This resort is superb in everything and the staff is most accommodating! I will always use this hotel for my trips to Cancun! The pictures you can see online are beautiful but I assure you they are nothing compared to the real thing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for your loyalty....it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals.

We hope to Welcome you back very soon!

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week here at the Westin Lagunamar. We are SVN owners since 2005 and had stayed previously in four other network resorts. This one has by far the friendliest staff of any we've stayed in. It was like vacationing with family!. The restaurants were reasonably priced and the food was excellent. The buffet breakfast at the Oceano is amazing. Even the prices in the market were very comparable to shops across the street. We had never purchased food from the markets at any of the other resorts because the prices were high, but this was not the case here. We did the owner's update, something we had said we would not do, because every other resort had high pressure salespeople, but here it was truly low-key. We did end up purchasing a small unit on the odd year and left feeling good about our decision. We plan to go back in the fall, and are really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach so you can't go wrong! Left the spa blank because we didn't use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review. Nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when they arrived. We look forward to Welcome you and your family soon!

Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment you arrive you think you are in heaven, everything about this trip was amazing. The staff is attentive and great at answering your questions and making everything about your trip wonderful. The fun team leads great activities and René was great and always made us laugh. Edourdo the pool concierge was amazing always make sure we found a spot we like getting umbrellas set up etc. But by far the best experience was a massage with Joreim a must do for anyone. The pool service was great, food was good. Oceana restaurant had great service the only down thing was really bad service at the sports bar Dona. It took forever to get served and then they brought peoples meals out space 5-7 minutes apart which made it difficult.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Thank you again and come back soon.

Warm Regards,
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juarez
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just loved the beach, the pool, the room, everything was perfect, I loved the way the rooms are distributed, two separate rooms for travelers with teenager...the kitchen is so pretty...you feel like you are at home, all the commodities you have at your home, you will have them here.

Room Tip: You can buy your groceries and cook in the room's kitchen or outside they have grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest , It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Warm Regards,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just returned from our third stay at the Lagunamar. I gave it 5 stars because it is an outstanding resort BUT there were two things that bothered me.

1. You've all heard it before - the internet is terrible and it was a real problem for us because our family at home was stuck in a blizzard and it was very difficult to assist them with inconsistent to impossible internet connectivity. We spoke to a consierge about this and they are working on it; the problem is with the internet company and they do realize what a big problem it is.

2. PLEASE stop hounding us about massages at the beach!!! One morning we were approached no less than 7 times by massage pushers who are paid by commission. Between them and the people hawking jewelry it really was annoying and difficult to have a conversation or read a book without interuption. I felt like hiding every time someone came into view. If I want a massage I will ask for one!

Aside from this, the resort is perfect for us. The concierges Lucio and Tony were great, the waiter on the beach Juan Jorges remembered our names from the year before! The steak tacos and hamburgers are outstanding, especially when eated on a stool in the pool. We did this everyday. The planned trips were well organized, as were the airport transportation reps. Our 2 bedroom lockoff was ready at 3 and there was NO WAIT at the check in. We are already planning our trip here for next year!

La Madonna and the Thai restaurant offer complimentary drinks if you book through Westin and both restaurants are romantic and the food is good. Baby Lobster (terrible name) has very good seafood at a bargain price. It is a little hidden away but we have been there a number of times over the last couple of years and are always happy with it.

Fish Fretanga, just a short walk away, is also good value for money and a real mexican environment next to the lagoon. Bring bug spray! There are no bugs on the ocean side of the hotel zone but near the lagoon there are mosquitos although it is nothing like being in New Hampshire!

ENJOY!!

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms but I like to be high up for a big view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review! We pride ourselves on creating personable and memorable experience for our guests. We thank you for your loyalty....it means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.
We await your next visit !!!

Warm Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This resort is located on a beautiful beach and is right across the street from a large mall with many good eateries. The ocean is terrific and there are lifeguards working the beaches. We enjoyed the fish tacos at the beach restaurant. We ordered them most every day!

We had the most amazing massage in the beach cabana by Miguel and Joreim. Miguel has many years of practice and is quite strong. Joreim is a trained chiropractor and is very intuitive. We highly recommend both of them! You can book them both for a couples massage. The beach cabana at dusk was a wonderful experience. Both of them are personable and fun. Be sure to ask for a free foot or shoulder massage while you are laying on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional.

Sincerely,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.