We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 40% on 2nd night
Ranked #15 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a villa at the Westing here. The villa accomodation has wonderful views of the carribean. The villas themselves have excellent full service kitchen with separate couples bedroom as well as sofa bed in living area for kids. Excellent pools with great water slide. if you do want to eat at the restauarant, the buffet breakfast is good but dinner options are not that great. however, with the suites, you will likely go to the Walmart which is 20 minutes away by taxi and cook yourself. will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a nice review and feedback. We hope to welcome you near future for another great experience at The Westin Lagunamar.

Warm Regards,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,859
    745
    198
    82
    46
See reviews for
1,212
1,147
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (993)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We own 3 properties there and two in Atlantis; we obviously are firm believers in our Starwood ownership. In January 2013, we spent two weeks on our 5th trip in Languamar. Each trip gets better and better! The reason is the people who work there and strive to make our stay the best ever! A few of the names who impressed us were Omar, Hectors, Carlos, Claudia, Luis, Jorge, Marco, Juan and Jorquin, but many others as well. They are many in number, positive in their attitude and possess a strong work ethic! The facility is well-maintained, abundant amentites, and we really appreciated the opening of the "quiet side" coupled with the remainder of the resort. An area for improvement is the consistency of quality Wi-Fi and Internet service - we were told that it's coming. We have scheduled two more trips there this year and as always look forward to our stays and renewing our friendships there.

Room Tip: Higher floors above the palm trees are the best, although all the villa views face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest , It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Warm Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from 12 days at the Westin Lagunamar in Cancun. Unbelieveable. I read some reviews prior that the service wasnt that great...I disagree. First of all - all of the units face the Carribean, the view is amazing. There are three different pools, hot tubs and the beach set up is out of this world.

The rooms have everything you need on a getaway, including a mini kitchenette (we had a studio) as well as a jacuzzi tub, shower and washer and dryer. Im not an all inclusive person so this was the best.

Step out the front door and a beautiful mall is across, bus transportation, taxis you name it all there.

The staff took care of everything and were so kind to me and my daughter. I used the gym everyday and just loved the cleanliness, modern facilities everywhere and just total ambiance was amazing. Thank you for a perfect vacation. Our concierge Violetta made us feel so special and welcome. I cannot wait to get back there!!!!

Room Tip: Higher up the better view and quieter as no one is above you and I got what I asked for!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...

Sincerely,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDWARDSVILLE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a great place. The new addition is now open. Service and amenities were outstanding as several folks went out of their way to assist us. This is our fifth trip to Lagunamar. The location is across the street from a shopping mall and several restaurants. We will be back in December or January.

Room Tip: Request upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin for your vacation. We would love to host you again soon.

Warm Regargs,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I'll try to make this quick. The rooms and property are beautiful. We had a two room suite, which was just great. Pools are gorgeous and the beach is really nice. The service, though, is very very spotty. After being promised adjoining rooms with a couple we were traveling with, when we arrived, they had never heard of the request and couldn't do anything because their 'Room Booker' was gone for the day. It took a lot of arguing to be placed anywhere close to them. After asking to be moved the next day to adjoining rooms (by explanation we both had 9 month old babies and wanted to be able to hang out during their naps) they told us that, 'We already moved you once, and we have 150 guests checking in today'. To me, that is strange because if 150 people haven't checked in yet, you should have a lot of room to move people you've promised this to already. After more arguing, and a lot of waiting, they were finally able to move us. But... it wouldn't be until 5:30pm. No problem, but our babies go to sleep around 7, so we need to be in there for bedtime. At 7:30pm the rooms still weren't ready and they wouldn't promise us a time. Total disaster and we were already packed up from our original rooms. There were some very unhappy babies.

So after that debacle and talking to numerous employees, including the manager (who was very nice and apologetic) you would think things would be fine. Unfortunately, that was the last time we saw housekeeping. They never cleaned our room again for the entire stay. Not a pretty picture when you have diapers sitting around for 3 days. We even called and scheduled the cleaning and no one came. They cleaned the room next to us one day, and we asked if we were next, which they said 'yes', and then they vanished without cleaning. There were some really nice employees there, and some people who worked genuinely hard at customer service, but unfortunately for us, not everyone, or at least the people we needed most.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. It is very important to us that you take home memories that you will never forget. And also the feedback from our valuable Guests to improve everyday and give you the best Westin Experience. We hope to see you again very soon to enjoy another vacation!

Warm Regards.,

The Westin Lagunamar Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First time staying at this property in Cancun. We were extremely pleased with the accommodations of the 2bdrm villa. All the rooms face the ocean, an upper room above 4th floor better to see over the plam trees. The staff was very professional and helpful from the front desk to housekeeping. The location of the resort is excellent, accross from La Isla mall and a short bus ride to anywhere in Cancun. We took the timeshare sales tour and the presentation was nice with not much pressure. Good deal, if I needed another one. The concierge was very helpful in booking our activities and we were able to use the tour credit. The resturants could use some work, as the food was good but mostly average. Beach area was great, clean and beautiful. If I was to return to Cancun, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Bldg 1 2 or 3 are great upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went with friends on vacation to their time share. This place had an infinite pool (clean), great poolside drinks (a little pricey), comfortable beds, great views of the ocean. I highly recommend this lovely place when in Cancun.

Room Tip: One facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Westin Lagunamar.
It is our highest mission to provide each of our valuable guests with their very own personal and memorable experience. We are delighted you enjoyed the magic of our property and the surrounding area. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards
The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.