We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort and Lovely Honeymoon Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful Resort and Lovely Honeymoon Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything went well at the resort, except when it came to the in-room wifi. We had wonderful service, including maintenance and repairs, check-in, and check-out. The resort had a shuttle to and from the airport. The drivers were friendly and helpful and we made good time both ways. The concierge answered any questions we had about activities in Cancun and helped us book reservations for whatever we needed, including an all-expense day trip to Chichen Itza and restaurant accommodations. As stated before, the wifi was the only trouble we had. We rarely were able to get on the internet in our room, but were able to use the business center to take care of our needs. It actually helped us refrain from being so attached to technology during our honeymoon!! We would recommend this resort to anyone looking to travel to Cancun. We loved our stay and will go back if we get the chance.

Room Tip: Seems like every room has a great view of the Caribbean Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing Westin for your vacation and honeymoon. We would love to host you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    699
    178
    78
    41
See reviews for
1139
1055
47
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (900)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I will say the Westin Lagunamar is an excellent property !! Extremely friendly staff, incredible layout with perfect
pools, grounds etc. The beach is amazing with soft white coral sand. They offer everything you could imagine with basically no fees for extras. Rooms are clean with full small kitchenette. Standard amenities in the rooms, you would not really need much more.

We traveled with two small children (6 months and 3 yrs) and the resort is built and enjoyable for families. We spent our days by the luxurious main pools chatting with other families, sipping on tropical beverages and basking in the sun, all while watching our kids with smiles from ear to ear. The bar/restaurant at the pools (Veneto) is great. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The swim up bar is a bit cold, as are most of the pools.

Having the La Isla mall directly across the street is a HUGE bonus !! Restaurants, shopping, etc is at your fingertips. A little further down the the street is a phenomenal restaurant called El Fish Fritanga. This place is amazing. Eat dinner with your toes in the sand, great drinks, atmosphere and the food is top notch !! HIGHLY recommended. You must try the tuna salad half avocados.

Well with all that said and being here for three days now the Westin Lagunamar gets a big thumbs up from my family. It's a high quality resort in the heart of the Cancun Hotel Zone that won't disappoint.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...

Sincerely,

The Westin Lagunamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We only stayed one night, as we had another hotel booked in Playa del Carmen, but our stay was fantastic - we wished we stayed here longer rather than the hotel in PDC. The personal concierge went out of his way to assist and was extremely helpful. The view from our room was great as was the food and drinks in the bar.

The location is right in the middle of Cancun and there is lots of shops on one side. On the other side in an amazing beach. Our room came with everything we could ask for, stove, washing machine, dryer, etc.

The only downside was that check-in took a while. However, we were 2 hours early and were given our room as soon as we checked-in. We would definately recommend ths hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
"Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar!! We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,"
Westin Lagunmar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My only issue with this resort, was check-in time. We arrived at 3pm, one hour before check-in, the room was not ready, which could be understood. 4pm our room was still not ready, by 5:30pm we were finally able to get into our room. No compensation was offered, that was very disappointing. It appeared to be a pattern every afternoon couples walking around for a couple of hours with their suitcases waiting for their rooms, this is unacceptable, first impressions make all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review about our resort, it help us to make the Check in Experience a better one. Please feel free to contact us to: lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further attention.

Warm Regards

Westin Lagunamar Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Cancun. We had an amazing trip. We had a small hiccup when checking in, we arrived early around 11am and was given a pager to let us know when our room was ready, so we had lunch at the outdoor cafe and used the beach bathrooms to get changed and do some swimming. Hours later around 5pm we still havent been paged. Our daughter 2yr old daughter was getting extremely tired and cranky (we had been up travelling since 4am). So we went to check on the status of our room only to be told that it had been ready hours earlier, Giving us a pager was completely pointless.
The room was absolutely beautiful and it had amazing views of the ocean everywhere. The beds are Heavenly beds which are always super comfortable. We had a 2bedroom lock-off so the place was very spacious. One half of the lockoff had a full size kitchen, dining area and lounge. Seperate master bedroom and a huge bathroom and dressing area. The other half of the lockoff had a kitchenette (mini stove/microwave/coffee maker/mini fridge), two queen beds and a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and separate walking shower. I was quite surprised that the bathrooms didnt have bathroom fans, not a good thing is anyone in your family is having a bout of Montezumas revenge. The water in the hotel is filtered, so you can consume it at your own risk but the hotel does sell water very cheaply as well. The kitchen is fully stocked with what you would need to cook, we have absolutely no complaints about our room. Wifi is available everywhere in the hotel but good luck being able to access it from your room, the best spot for us was the hotel pool area.
The hotel has many pools and hot tubs scattered around, it also has a waterslide, it was nice to be able to slide down with my son (which they dont seem to allow anywhere in the U.S) there is also a small round childrens pool. I was disappointed that the main pools were not zero entry and they dont provide life jackets for small children (you have to buy them from the store).
The beach was great, it november the waters a little choppy so we couldnt go in with the little ones, but it was quiet and comfortable, we had no problem getting chairs, and we could still order food and drinks down there.
All in all the vacation was fantastic, we look forward to going back in a couple of years, i expect as the children get a little older they'll love it even more.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, the higher the floor the better, for better Wifi connection ask to be clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your detailed review, we read every piece of your comments and we welcome the comments that can make us improve our service.

We cannot wait for your next visit!

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, great for children. They have a beautiful pool and GREAT beach. The sand and the colors of the sea are not easy to beat.
The rooms have kitchenets, washer and drier and are very nicely decorated
They have free WiFi, but it does not work properly.
I found difficult to believe that if you ask for a bottle of water by the pool, it is imported. Ben harder to believe is that you cannot get fresh orange juice in any of the restaurants

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pros
The Beach is wide and pristine.

The living room, master, and kitchen are spacious, master bath huge.

Location is excellent, almost like an all~inclusive; between the restaurants at the resort itself, and and La Isle Mall across the street, there is little need for a car. We did, however rent one to snorkel at Akumal (a wonderful walk out beach snorkeling spot where you can see Turtles the size of Volkswagens ,and eat wonderful food on the beach deck restaurant. We also walked the ruins and spent the later afternoon and evening at Playa Del Carmen. All are doable in a day.

Make a reservation for a Lagoon table at the Thai across the street. You feel like you have entered another world, a welcome shift from the bright neon mall atmosphere.

Have a massage with Carlos on the beach. As someone who gets massages monthly, he was outstanding.

The market is great for milk/juice/eggs/yogurt and a loaf of bread. I particularly liked the wraps and took them to the beach.

Cons
The resort could use some landscaping, there are absolutely no flowers, and few palm trees.
I agree that the infinity pool and turquoise waters are the draw when you arrive, not the lobby. It is like many other properties in Cancun.... concrete everywhere.

When you are on the beach it would be nice to have service to bring a coke or guacamole without having to go up to the bar. This may be because it is more of a time share than a hotel but service is not their strong point. That being said we were pleased with the help Lourdes gave us with regard to the room/finding us an access cable to improve our Wi~Fi /making reservations etc. We brought a Netgear cable from home but it was only when we used the Westin Access Point Cable that we got improved service. If you must use the internet, ask for one when you arrive as there was a waiting list.

We had one cleaning which was fine, however often there were items left in the hallways for over a day before someone came to get them.I was glad I brought a few dryer sheets). The hallways are really unattractive for a Westin, but that's a minor point.

Do NOT rent from Budget, although the property does have a connection with them, it took an hour and a half just to get the paperwork done, then the car didn't work (faulty brakes) so we had to basically start over with another vehicle.

The beach chairs are not comfortable which surprised us. Cushions would have been a huge plus.
The market could use more of everything, beach items, more food and snacks.

Some tips...
I loved having my slippers as everything is tile. I was happy I packed my favorite ground coffee and filters. I also packed granola, and Luna bars which came in handy.

We have been to Cancun 15 times. We loved the Royal Resort and the Westin compares nicely, it just doesn't wow me the way other Westin Properties do.

Room Tip: Quiet pool, bldg. 14 or 12. Near water and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun. Your feedback is always important to us,. As we take very seriously the satisfaction of our valuable Guest. Please contact us to lagunamaroceanresort@westin.com for further visits.

Warm Regards,

Westin Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 Business Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.