We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation in november at the westin lagunamar ocean resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% Plus Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 172 hotels in Cancun
malden, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“vacation in november at the westin lagunamar ocean resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

my husband and I stayed at this resort from 11/6 - 11/15/2012. This vacation was exceptional. Everyone from the front desk staff to the maintenance people were gracious, helpful and courteous. Never have we stayed at a resort that was constantly being polished, cleaned, and kept spiffy and we have stayed at some very, very, nice places. The gym and locker area was just magnificant. We cannot stop singing the praises of this resort. Expect to return this Spring or at least again in Nov.of next year. The weather was perfect. Sunny, breezy (no bugs). Food was great. We ate all of our meals at the resort. Again, staff always greeted us by name and made us feel like we were old friends. I could go on and on but to sum it up, if your thinking of going to Cancun check out the Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort you will not regret it. Mr. & Mrs. A.Roger Clark, Malden, Ma. 02148

Room Tip: our room was in the second bldg and on the second floor. good view, quiet no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,623
    668
    165
    73
    38
See reviews for
1071
1018
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We haved stayed at Lagunamar 5 times and each visit has been better than the last. I have travelled to many places around the world and this one is at the top of my list. The entire property is always immaculate. The units have unbelievable views of the ocean and the fantastic infinity pool. The staff is fantastic, friendly and always helpful. This is the only place where many of the staff remember our names and are happy to see us. To quote my grandson who was five on our first visit, "this place is paradise" .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Aniello,

Thank you for your comments, we are very glad that our service met and supassed you expectations. Please think of Lagunamar as your new home away from home.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Westin Lagunamar in the last 18 months. We love it and given the chance to get away again over Thanksgiving we jumped at the chance to return. We were not disappointed. I have travelled around the world and love to come back here again and again. The people are fantastic and the property is beyond clean and beautiful. The units have everything you need and the views are amazing. We arrived around 1:00 and were able to get into our room early. Wendy at the front desk was wonderful and gave us an amazing room in building 14 that was right on the beach. It was hard to leave the balcony, with such a great view and a wonderful breeze. We slept with the door open each night as we could hear the surf. The food was again great and the wait staff is so wonderful, and it is great to see familiar faces from our previous trips. I read reviews and cannot understand how anyone can not love this place. The Wi-Fi is spotty...but please, you are on vacation, put the devices down and enjoy Mexico. I cannot wait to return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar once again for visiting to Cancun. We are really pleased to see that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed our services and facilities; we can assure you, your comments will be shared with all the team.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back very soon!!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed there Nov. 24 thru Dec. 1. We were on the 3rd floor in building 9. Great views. Room was very nice. The limited kitchen was great for making breakfast and lunch. Restaurants and bars were fairly expensive. We took an ice chest and purchased alcohol and beer outside the resort (isla mall has a couple of places and its right across the street). Made alot of margarita's, blender in room. Went across the street one day and got tacos, guacamole, and pico for lunch and brought it back to the beach. Probably the best lunch we had all week. Beach is very nice and they try to keep it as clean as possible. Some vacationers really make it rough. Fish Fritanga is a seafood restaurant just a short walk south. Great food ($10-$15). Highly recommend. Hooters is across the street for that can't miss game. They will find any game you want. Alot of TV's. If you're looking for something to do, take the city bus to playa torguga and catch the ferry to isla mujeras. walk down the playa norte (north beach). the restaurants let you use their chairs and umbrellas if you're drinking and eating. great day. SOAP BOX: smokers, please don't throw your cigarette butts on the beach. all of the beaches in the area are beautiful. please quit trashing them with cigarette butts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest , It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future. R

egards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed in studio which is great for a couple. In most Most timeshare places, the studio or lockoff side has a hotel type kitchenette (microwave , coffee maker, small fridge, bar sink period) and two double beds, not here. They have a queen bed, a kitchen with a two burner stove top, small fridge with ice maker, small dischwasher, bar sink, microwave, coffee maker, etc and even a washer and dryer. Great for a couple. there is also a fold out couch but this would be tight and no privacy for more than two people so maybe a very young child would be OK. Balcony is the same length as the one on the master suite side (the master is deeper to allow for 4 chairs) not as big as at the Royal resorts balconies but adequate for two. This set up is perfect for us since we like to eat a liesurely breakfast in, than have the option for lunch out or in the room, then we splurge on dining out in the evenings and there are some great places to eat in Cancun.
As long as you are three floors or higher you shuld have a nice pool and ocean view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I want to clearly provide full disclosure. I usually do not stay (nor aspire to stay) at big chains, but I had a very heavily discounted 5 night stay offer that my wife thought was worthwhile.

So, for a big chain property, the Westin was indeed a terrific property. The grounds were immaculate, the infinity pools strategically placed and the food/drinks at the pool were the normal expensive priced and good tasting. Great beach frontage.

The property is all-suite, and the rooms are really high end. Zero complaints! Located right across the street from a new mall (another one of my normal not-go-to places!!), but for a mall it was actually very interesting layout and some fun and funky stores.

If you are a beach resort kind of traveler, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 200 section rooms are closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much of a super fantastic review !!! We are so happy and pleased to know that you and your family had a great time at our property. Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Lazare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just stayed from Dec. 2-9 2012 it was wonderful when asked if we wanted a presentation for timeshare we said no and that was the last we heard of it no pressure what a refreshment. Like most places in Cancun the staff remembered our name and what we liked to drink. The food was great the place very clean. I would recomend this place to everyone. Now I am off the the Villa Del Palmar

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view never did the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#16 Business Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.