We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #12 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
GreenLeadersGold level
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“family trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife, daughter age 30 and myself travelled from Toronto ON to Cancun Mexico and stayed for 8 nights at the Westin Lagunamar. We had stayed there in February of the same year 2012. The service is great, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is easy to use the bus to travel for groceries, some activities [wet and wild]. You are opposite a large mall. Prices for restaurants are more money in the mall compared to just down the street.

Room Tip: Rooms in the area of the main entrance have better access to infinity pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our resort. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,071
    805
    213
    89
    50
See reviews for
1,345
1,263
54
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franksville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This facility offers villas (a lockoff suite with kitchen facilities) for travelers and each room has an ocean view, the beach and excellent pool facilities. It is ideally located for easy access to and from the airport, to the La Isla mall, restaurants, La Casa Del Habano (for cigar lovers and the world's greatest mojito's prepared by David), and a short bus or taxi ride to Costco for stocking up your villa. The staff is very friendly and attentive. For our trip, Rebecca and Arline at La Duna sports bar were noteworthy along with poolside waiters, Marco and Joaquin. The only suggestion I have for the resort would be to add some character to the sports bar, it's very sterile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you fo your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling better than when thay arrived. Please come back to visit us soon here at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is not your typical full service hotel, this property provides the timeshare aspect and a hotel.

Plus:
Location, ocean views in each room with the flexibility of a one bedroom villa or a hotel room with a fully equipped kitchen. The one bedroom villa is tastefully decorated and offer the,luxury of a high end but also offer the ability to cook with all the necessary kitchen tools.

Concierge is friendly and very accommodating, restaurant and bar staff is awesome. Property is amazing and well kept.

Housekeeping works hard and keep your room clan and sparkling, they even create different animals each day which was a pleasant surprise each day.

Bathroom is huge with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub.

Areas of improvement: No valet or bellman to assist you upon arrival, front desk is not friendly, our guest service agent who check us in was extremely tired, yawning, non engaging, wiping his nose and could of cared less. Internet is non existing but Starbucks is directly across the street or you can use the hotels business center.

Request for a high floor to have awesome views of the ocean.

If your bring your family and want to save money, upon arrival you can go to Walmart and buy all your food, the property is perfect if want want to cook or have a barbecue, the hotel does not mind if you bring your own alcohol in any of the public areas, pool side, park like setting thought the property.

The beach is amazing, the sand is white, with amazing blue waters!

I would of given a 4 star but I felt the lack of service coupled with the friendliness out weighed the Resort which is why I provided a 3 star. The hotel/resort was awesome but the details was just not there.

Room Tip: High floor for better views, stay in the first building for better wifi access, purchase the one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar Resort and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to Cancun.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a pomotion for four days in October. The resort gave us a large one bedroom ocean front suit. It had a full kitchen with a washer dryer and even an icemaker in the refrigerator. The reort being so new everything is modern and clean. The only down sides are the price of food and the early checkout time. Checkout is 10 AM and they would not extend it for us beyond 11 AM. Also I can see that during the busy season there would not be enough palapas on the beach for everyone. The aabove faults are minor and should not keep anyone from visiting this resort. There is a hugh upscale shoping center accross the street with many restaurants. We did take the timeshare tour. There was not much pressure. They were asking for $11,000 for a one bedroom suite every other year low season. Maintenance is $1,400 the year that you have the room for a week. We took the Xlo-ha adventure and it is highly recommended. The down sai was it took an hour and 1/2 to get there and return.

Room Tip: All of the one bedroom suites are excellent. we were in buiding 9 on the second floor and we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin Lagunamar. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Thank you again and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of block 7. Beautifully kitted out with all the amenities. Lovely view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea from the two balconies.
Two lovely pools to choose from with very good pool-side service. Beach kept immaculately groomed with loungers and umbrellas.
Concierge service very good - arranged all our excursions and restaurant reservations with a smile.
Will definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We welcome and appreciate every piece of feedback we receive. We hope you have the opportunity to return to the resort we would love to be your new home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We originally booked for Nassau, but as it became obvious that Sandy was going to hit, we quickly changed plans and decided on Cancun. Yes, yes, Cancun is very developed and very commercial and not exactly a good deal. But the water was very warm, the weather was perfect and the hotel and staff were terrific!

Let's start with getting to the hotel. We didn't book transport in advanced, so when you arrive you get blitz'd by tens of rentals, taxis and shuttle companies all offering you varying rates ranging from $40-$80 dollars, or whatever they can extract. This didn’t seem like a bargain, so we went all the way to the taxi line and waited for a cab. At the curb, I found out that the taxi was $30 to the Westin. (On our return, we took a new suburban from the hotel to the airport for $35.) Just book through the hotel, its easier and safer. Also, take the bus everywhere once at the hotel. It’s a buck anywhere, comes ever minute and runs 24 hours a day, very clean and safe. Taxis are outrageous!

I’m trying to write more reviews, so I am going to keep this short and list our likes and dislikes. But first, I will say our Westin stay was terrific, I recommend the hotel and will return.

What I liked:

1) New hotel. (3 years old)
2) Great big beautiful beach.
3) Nice views.
4) Very friendly staff.
5) Multiple large pools.
6) Happy hour specials. (a lot of time drinking…)
7) Reasonable food and drink.
8) Great location. Mid-strip.
9) Right across the street from Cancun’s largest shopping and river walk area.

What I didn’t like:

1) Make sure you request a floor higher than the 3rd. Otherwise, you won’t see past the palm trees to the ocean. They tried a low floor first with me. No beuno.
2) Make sure you stay on the main pool side of the resort (north side). The smaller south auxiliary pool side isn’t as nice and is a much longer walk.
3) I would have to suggest eating off site as much as possible. The food was just a little bland. Okay for poolside quesadillas, but not for evening choices. (By the by, there are two fabulous restaurants at the outdoor mall across the street. Indian and Thai, and their both very, very good.) Also, all the units have kitchens, so buy food once there to avoid “hotel priced” snacks and drinks.


Hope this helps!

M&R

Room Tip: Make sure you request a floor higher than the 3rd. Otherwise you won’t see past the palm trees to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are very glad that youe decided to visit us!!!!! Thank you for your wonderful feedback ! We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, we did not do all-inclusive. The room was a ocean view "villa" which basically means it was a suite with a small kitchen. Bed was very comfortable & massive. Bathroom was great & had a large jacuzzi tub. The hotel has a beautiful pool, swim up bar etc and palapa on the beach; all the stuff you would expect. It's also directly across from a mall which has a Starbucks with free wifi and a bunch of other shops & restaurants. We thought the location near this mall & another down the street was really ideal.


All the staff were very friendly & helpful except for the one who bare face lied when we first arrived when he said they had no problems before with wifi. No-one we met could get a decent wifi signal on property and even the staff couldn't get onto the Internet to book trips or take our money at times. If not having wifi for a week is going to make you crazy then don't stay here.

So, bottom line is a wonderful hotel, very nice staff but crap Internet access. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest ,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#12 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.