We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 35% Plus Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic family resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a 2-bedroom apartment on the 4th floor of block 7. Beautifully kitted out with all the amenities. Lovely view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea from the two balconies.
Two lovely pools to choose from with very good pool-side service. Beach kept immaculately groomed with loungers and umbrellas.
Concierge service very good - arranged all our excursions and restaurant reservations with a smile.
Will definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We welcome and appreciate every piece of feedback we receive. We hope you have the opportunity to return to the resort we would love to be your new home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,606
    657
    164
    73
    37
See reviews for
1054
1008
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We originally booked for Nassau, but as it became obvious that Sandy was going to hit, we quickly changed plans and decided on Cancun. Yes, yes, Cancun is very developed and very commercial and not exactly a good deal. But the water was very warm, the weather was perfect and the hotel and staff were terrific!

Let's start with getting to the hotel. We didn't book transport in advanced, so when you arrive you get blitz'd by tens of rentals, taxis and shuttle companies all offering you varying rates ranging from $40-$80 dollars, or whatever they can extract. This didn’t seem like a bargain, so we went all the way to the taxi line and waited for a cab. At the curb, I found out that the taxi was $30 to the Westin. (On our return, we took a new suburban from the hotel to the airport for $35.) Just book through the hotel, its easier and safer. Also, take the bus everywhere once at the hotel. It’s a buck anywhere, comes ever minute and runs 24 hours a day, very clean and safe. Taxis are outrageous!

I’m trying to write more reviews, so I am going to keep this short and list our likes and dislikes. But first, I will say our Westin stay was terrific, I recommend the hotel and will return.

What I liked:

1) New hotel. (3 years old)
2) Great big beautiful beach.
3) Nice views.
4) Very friendly staff.
5) Multiple large pools.
6) Happy hour specials. (a lot of time drinking…)
7) Reasonable food and drink.
8) Great location. Mid-strip.
9) Right across the street from Cancun’s largest shopping and river walk area.

What I didn’t like:

1) Make sure you request a floor higher than the 3rd. Otherwise, you won’t see past the palm trees to the ocean. They tried a low floor first with me. No beuno.
2) Make sure you stay on the main pool side of the resort (north side). The smaller south auxiliary pool side isn’t as nice and is a much longer walk.
3) I would have to suggest eating off site as much as possible. The food was just a little bland. Okay for poolside quesadillas, but not for evening choices. (By the by, there are two fabulous restaurants at the outdoor mall across the street. Indian and Thai, and their both very, very good.) Also, all the units have kitchens, so buy food once there to avoid “hotel priced” snacks and drinks.


Hope this helps!

M&R

Room Tip: Make sure you request a floor higher than the 3rd. Otherwise you won’t see past the palm trees to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are very glad that youe decided to visit us!!!!! Thank you for your wonderful feedback ! We hope you have found a new "home away from home" and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights, we did not do all-inclusive. The room was a ocean view "villa" which basically means it was a suite with a small kitchen. Bed was very comfortable & massive. Bathroom was great & had a large jacuzzi tub. The hotel has a beautiful pool, swim up bar etc and palapa on the beach; all the stuff you would expect. It's also directly across from a mall which has a Starbucks with free wifi and a bunch of other shops & restaurants. We thought the location near this mall & another down the street was really ideal.


All the staff were very friendly & helpful except for the one who bare face lied when we first arrived when he said they had no problems before with wifi. No-one we met could get a decent wifi signal on property and even the staff couldn't get onto the Internet to book trips or take our money at times. If not having wifi for a week is going to make you crazy then don't stay here.

So, bottom line is a wonderful hotel, very nice staff but crap Internet access. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest ,

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a week at this fabulous resort. Our first time there and won't be our last. Staff was very accomodating, beautiful resort. Had several massages from Gerardo. Ask for him if you go. Best massage I ever had. Nice happy hour at their pool bar. Food ok but there are many great restaurants within walking distance. Room and view were fantastic.Nicely centrally located.

Room Tip: great view from 4th floor on up to 8th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest ,

We are delighted to have created memories for you here at our amazing resort. We look forward to creating more for you in the future. Thank you for you comments, we are very glad to know we were able to make your vacation exceptional...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had read reviews of how The Westin Lagunamar had not lived up to SPG Members expectations, but as platinum members, I must speak up and say those must have been old posts or during exceptionally busy times of the year when upgrades were impossible. Whatever construction might have been in the past has been completed and there was no noise other than ocean waves :)) We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with a full kitchen, dining area and living area ~ beautiful room !

My husband and I just had a delightful stay ~ The staff treated us (and all the guests) exceedingly well - always remembered our names, were polite, good humored, and pampered us even more than many well known hotels in Palm Beach and New York.

Even though the hotel is large, it has a small community feel and we often chatted with other guests who were interesting and well traveled. The hotel was so clean you could eat off the floor and the beach was one of the best I have been to in many years, including Florida, Italy and Jamaica (other trips I have taken this year).

This hotel in particular is directly across the street from La Isla, the big festive shopping and dining area on the Cancun strip. I would love to give a note of thanks to some wonderful employees: Marco, Arturo, Carlos, Oscar, Geraldo, Jesus and Felipe. We can't wait to return to Cancun, and even more specifically, The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort :)))

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor suite and loved it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for all of that wonderful feedback. We listen to every piece of feedback our guests provide us. Our highest mission is to provide the exact service and facilities that our guests want, deserve, and expect. We also, would like to inform you that we will share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Westin Lagunamar in a near future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a wonderful visit to this resort 10/2012. It is a beautiful place, very clean, very well-maintained, beautiful pool, great beach, conveniently located to shopping and other restaurants. HOWEVER, being able to stay connected to the Internet was important for me due to business. They offer free wireless connections in all rooms. My experience was very disappointing. You might maintain a wireless connection for a maximum of 10 minutes, if you're lucky. I was in building 200. To get a constant signal, you had to sit in a lobby near the entrance to the hotel. To me, that was very inconvenient and annoying. I was able to get a signal outside by the pool at times, as well. To their credit, they do have the rooms hardwired for T5. My problem was that I had only brought my Ipad to transact business.

Bottom line.............if having a reliable wireless connection while traveling is vital, you need to look elsewhere. Otherwise, you will have a very frustrating week.

Other than the above stated problem, it is a fabulous place!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure that all rooms have a beach view. To me, it didn't appear that there were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are currently working on improving our internet connection to give our guests full connectivity. Please come back soon to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon. This is a beautiful property. The construction wasn't too obtrusive. The room was nice --great shower and tub. The only complaint about the room was the wool rug...that thing shed like a dog! Wool tumbles everywhere! We ate at all the restaurants on the property. The food is very hit or miss. The brunch was good and worth the money as was steak night. Pasta night was terrible so skip it. The staff was very friendly at this resort particularly the waiters. The location is convenient to the mall across the street and plenty of restaurants. You can take the Best Day airport shuttle instead of a taxi..great savings. Book online before you travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Gracias !!!!! Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad to know that you had a wonderful experience with us at Westin Lagunamar. Please come back soon to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.