We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 35% Plus Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed for two nights, at first I thought the room was ugly but maybe I was affected by the fact that I came from the Fairmont in Mayakoba which is a completely different range of hotel. The room is ample, all have a small balcony looking at the ocean (it doesn't get better than Cancun's colors) a kitchenette and washing and drying machines. The bathroom has all amenities. Sheets and towels are clean but I think they could have done a more thorough job cleaning the kitchen and the furniture.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar and for your very nice comments !! We are very glad to know you experienced a fantastic time with us. Please come back soon as we would love to host you again. Sincerely,The Westin Lagunamar Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,608
    657
    164
    73
    37
See reviews for
1055
1008
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweetwater, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

it was great stay staff was very good,pool was great , and location was excellent ,bus stop is just outside of resort and u can get bus ride anywhere in just (8:50 pesos) and specially we had a 18 moth baby with us so it was very clean and nice room. and ocean view room was great....i just love it ...............

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, and we hope to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Arrived earlier than 4:00pm check in time. Staff was able to find a room and allowed us to check in early. Room was large, comfortable and spotless. This is a ownership resort and it is understood the cleaning staff will clean your room once during your stay unless you request otherwise. The pools were spectacular. The restaurants were great. The entire staff were overly courteous and friendly. The location was perfect. I love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our resort. We are very happy to know you
enjoyed your time at the Westin Lagunamar and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cancun!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A beautiful place and clean, close to shopping centers(La Isla & Kukulkan Blvd)), only a bus ride(8.50 pesos) to Cancun downtown for great prices groceries, close to after dark nightlife activities, safe, and excellent rooms ocean view all around...If there is a weakness point about this place, it will easily be overcome by the courteous and friendly staff in serving you...

Room Tip: Any center rooms on the top floors overlooking both swimmimg pools are excellent ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest ,
It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments , thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar as your Caribbean Getaway. We would love to host you again in a near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHRIDGE, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First we got there and our room wasn't ready. Check in is at 3pm we arrived at 3:45pm. They said it would only be 20 minutes, it ended up being an hour. They only come and clean your room once in a whole week you stay there. When they go in to clean they do a very poor job. There was still sand on the floors, they don't change your sheets or towels. If you order room service you have to call them twice to come pick it up. The staff does not acknowledges you. The place it self is nice and clean. They need to work on their service. They do have great and friendly concierge. That lady who helped us was Alicia. She's friendly and took very good care of us. If and when I return to Cancun will definitely not be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your honest feedback!we greatly appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continously strive for service excellence. We would welcome the opportunity to show very soon all the new enhancements of the property. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

As Starwood owners (Harborside at Atlantis), we felt a keener sense of "ownership" at Lagunamar. We were made to feel "special" from the moment we walked into the lobby. We have been to many "timeshare" resorts, but this was to date the best experience we have had. The staff was attentive, responsive, and downright pleasant! The property is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and offers captivating views of the turquoise waters. The location is excellent, with easy access to an abundance of shopping and dining venues. Forget the taxis and take the bus wherever you want to go. They are safe, frequent, and cheap (less than $3.00 roundtrip for two)! Viva Lagunamar!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Lagunamar!! We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff, location and amenities of this resort are what makes this one of the best places to stay at in Cancun. Clean, accessible and you're right in the middle of everything. The service is impeccable and staff know you by name. It's cool, quiet and relaxing, definitely positioned that way. It's not a party hotel which makes it what it is, a true Westin experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLMManagement, Manager at The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Westin Lagunamar.

It is our highest mission to provide each of our valuable guests with their very own personal and memorable experience. We are delighted you enjoyed the magic of our property. We look forward to your next visit! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa

Address: Km 12.5 Blvd Kukulcan | Zona Hotelera, PO Box 834 Apdo., Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#13 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel Cancun
Westin Lagunamar Ocean Hotel
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.