We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the real thing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Plaza Nayandei Ave. Bonampak | Next to Tv Azteca, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 892 7107
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 622 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant Taste of India was created in the Maya region in order to bring the delicious tastes of India at Cancun.Our chefs have been brought from the beautiful land of India, just to cook up delicious typical and traditional food of this beautiful and colorful region in the world.The cooking is authentic because it is made with masala, spice essential in this type of food.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely the real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed with the food, as we live in NYC where there are many Indian restaurants. By comparison there is no contest. The food here is fabulous. The chef uses all the right spices and quite a bit of butter. The tandoori chicken is the best. Very Juicy and extremely tasty.
Everything has been delicious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just ate here for dinner. We both got the vegetarian combination dinner and it was absolutely scrumptious albeit a tad pricey. Thankful to have found this place given the limited vegetarian options in Cancun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton coldfield
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Indian meal in Cancun”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We ate here fancying a change from the hotel. Read the reviews on here and was looking forward to it, but to be honest, we were disappointed. Food wasnt the best, chicken didnt look like chicken. Chicken Madras looked nothing like it does back home. Maybe we are spoilt and the indian cuisine in the UK is very good but this was just like chewing old pants.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the trip into downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After craving Indian food and being recommended to Elefante on the hotel strip (and quickly crossing it off our list after the sticker shock of looking at the menu prices) we were very happy to stumble upon this humble little place in downtown Cancun. True, it was a 40 minute drive from our hotel at km 20 on the strip but it was some of the best Indian food we have had in Mexico and had a great authentic neighbourhood feel to it. The staff were super friendly, service was incredibly fast and all of the dishes we ordered were delicious (heavenly garlic naan) and very reasonably priced. Definitely the place to go in Cancun for Indian cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Great Service !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best Indian food restaurant in Cancun... traditional flavor, great service and really accessible prices for tourist and locals... Lucy & Adrian the best service... and of course the amazing Chef Gulab !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.