We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Rocket's

Johnny Rocket's
Boulevard Kukulcan Km. 12.5 | Cancun International Airport, Cancun, Mexico
+52 8835575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #253 of 596 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never Again!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

6 of us from the US visited Johnny Rockets at the Isla Mall in Cancun for some "american eats" for lunch. 11 am..place is empty..no greeting by waitress....When she did take our order..we told her over and over and over that we wanted 3 seperate checks...she kept saying Ci, Ci. When our food came..she could not remember who ordered what, so she lifted each burger bun with her bare hands to see what she had on her tray........!!!!!! She never came back to check on us to see how the food was or to refill drinks., etc. Then she presented us with ONE check...and we told her NO...we wanted three checks...she then took over 21 minutes to seperate the checks..we timed her. She had to ask three different co-workers for help...needless to say the other two were texting on their cells....When she did bring us our checks..they were not itemized..just a little piece of paper with an amount listed. WE could not wait to get out of there....we paid..NO TIP....and will never go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    29
    15
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Much better then the food at our resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to Johnny Rocket's in Cancun because we couldn't handle anymore of the rubbish food they were serving up at our all inclusive resort. It's the same set up as in the US, typical 1950s diner layout. They were in the middle of renovations but that didn't bother us. Food is stock standard, hambugers, fries and shakes. They weren't bad but the vanilla malt could have had a bit more flavour. Other then that, no complaints. Service was also good, they are a bit expensive for what you get thou.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This Rocket Misfired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

At 5:30 in the afternoon on May 22, 2012, I went here for a hamburger, fries and a soda. The food definitely defined the word ordinary. There was nothing noteworthy about my visit here or the food. Watching the old music videos from VH1 and MTV was somewhat a treat, but that’s not why I went there. My opinion; if you like average food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always a quality tasty meal at JR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

My favourite route 66 (no mayo) and a cold lemonade in Johnny Rockets at Cancun's La Isla mall, can't be matched anywhere else in the world...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Went to the location at Isla Mall. After waiting in our booth for 15 minutes without the waiter even coming over to give us a menu or take our drink order, we decided that we probably shouldn't be eating at a place that has AC and chooses not to use it, chooses not to attend to customers, and chooses not to even have food cooking - what were they doing?! No idea, but I do know that it was a total waste of time and from the reviews, I'm glad we high-tailed it out of there because we probably would have gotten sick!

Whike the employees were busy NOT ccooking, NOT taking orders, and NOT providing menus, they were also busy NOT cleaning! The place was filthy! Avoid this place! What a dump!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Rocket's also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Johnny Rocket's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Rocket's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.