We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa Belga

La Palapa Belga
Calle Quetzal No 13 INT Hotel Imperial Laguna | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 883 5454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 564 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: If you are lucky enough to find this gem hidden behind the pool at the Hotel Imperial Laguna, you will be greatly rewarded with fine cuisine at a reasonable price, gracious service, and a table on the lagoon with a beautiful view of the hotel zone.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in a hotel with only breakfast included and somewhat on a budget. Coming from San Francisco Bay area where good food can be sold in holes in walls, student food courts or food trucks, and groupons are abound, we can appreciate good food with reasonable prices. On our 2nd night there, we were deeply disappointed with the quality of the Mexican food IN MEXICO (or at least Cancun) and I gave him the task to find real good food- and he delivered La Palapa Belga- Big Time. For the same prices of Mexican food in Cancun with mediocre quality, this gem of a place offers yummy crunchy bred-sticks (mini baguettes, just baked really) with avocado mayo garlic dip (we had a 2nd servings), yummy and generous salads with zesty and not too acidic dressing, excellent catch of the day and Salmon and I think we had dessert too. Don't remember what it was, but I guarantee, it has the same high quality as the rest of the meal. No short cuts- fresh ingredients and exact cooking. The place is quint and romantic, right on the water. Come at sunset and take lots of photos of the Caribbean hut with straw roof in which the restaurant is located fluffy pina colada at hand (a must- they make great ones there). Totally worth the $10 cab ride. Tip: next time I will bring a bathing suit and sneak into the cute pool of the hotel in which the restaurant is located which is right on the walkway to the restaurant. It's a small and romantic pool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    217
    49
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful change from generic Cancun hotel strip food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found La Palapa Belga on Tripadvisor and walked the 10 minutes from our Hotel near the convention center to find ourselves in another world. Its a little tucked away, so look at the map before you go, and is hidden behind a pool and the walkways of the Laguna Imperial hotel. The service was delightful - the manager had lived in Chicago where we are from and was extremely helpful and friendly. We ate all fish dishes, which were well cooked and a complete cut above the food we have had elsewhere on the hotel strip. Its also a romantic spot on the lagoon, with nice lighting and a wonderful breeze this evening. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent,well presented food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dined at the restaurant while staying at the Laguna Imperial hotel.Great tasty food,varied choice and well presented.Very friendly staff !! One must try it !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Has never been anything but wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

La Palapa Belga is one of those restaurants that I look forward to eating at at least twice during our two weeks in Cancun each year. The service is wonderful and the food is as good or better than the higher priced steak and seafood restaurants in the hotel zone.

One of our favorite things to do in Cancun is to eat out at great restaurants. This one is just a short walk off the main road in the hotel zone and is an easy bus ride. It is well worth searching it out. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great ambience, service, and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a disappointing trip to Cancun due to all of the rain; however, La Pelapa Belga was one of the highlights. The restaurant is right on the water, and we enjoyed watching the hotel zone lights "come to life" as it got dark.

A couple of us had the french onion soup, and it was excellent. My wife enjoyed the carrot soup, and my oldest daughter went with the scallops and asparagus. I tasted one of the scallops, and it was great...perfectly done.

I went with the beef tenderloin in pepper sauce, one daughter went with chicken stuffed w/spinach and mozzarella, my wife had the grouper in lemon sauce, and the other daughter had sautéed shrimp and wild mushrooms. The sauces with each of these meals were the difference makers...very well done and original.

Of course, we ended with the chocolate mousse and creme brûlée.

Definitely put the La Palapa Belga on your dinner destination list while visiting Cancun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Belga also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Palapa Belga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa Belga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.