We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Meal ..........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Palapa Belga

La Palapa Belga
Calle Quetzal No 13 INT Hotel Imperial Laguna | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 998 883 5454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 549 restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: If you are lucky enough to find this gem hidden behind the pool at the Hotel Imperial Laguna, you will be greatly rewarded with fine cuisine at a reasonable price, gracious service, and a table on the lagoon with a beautiful view of the hotel zone.
Clayton, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Meal ..........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Finally, a good piece of Filet in Cancun. We find it hard to get a good piece of red meat here. But not at LA Palala Belga. Excellent. The service is good and everything we had with the meal was very tasty. The prices were reasonable for a fine food restaurant. Too bad it was super windy and they had to keep the wind curtains down. Would not hesitate to return and try something else.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    214
    45
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
near Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our group made our reservation a few days ahead of time. We asked for, and received, a table right on the water. The service was very good. It would have been excellent, but the waiter brought us the wrong checks at the end. The food was excellent - everyone was more than happy with his/her choice. Most of us got one of the specials of the day. The grilled vegetable salad is also a good choice. The Belgium Chocolate Mousse was to die for. On Thursdays a guitar player and a saxophone player provide background music. The music was loud enough to hear, but didn't overpower so we could still easily converse. We will definitely go again!

Quetzal Street is the street on the east (towards the night club zone) end of Pok-ta-Pok Golf Course. There is a bus stop right at the end of the street, which makes getting there easy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Cancun and was told by some yearly guests to try La Palapa Belga. Best to take a taxi to this restaurant as it is difficult to find. The taxi brought us to a run down hotel on a side road. Was very apprehensive, but followed the directions throught this hotel and behold, found a very romantic out of the way restaurant. We were the only ones there but by the time we were served, the place was full. Small restaurant, only about 10-12 tables.

The food was delicious, reasonably priced and the service was excellent. What a wonderful restaurant and I would and will recommend to anyone traveling.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not What It Used to Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't think the owner is in the kitchen anymore. Our food was ok, nothing to rave about as in previous visits. My husband had the duck with cherry sauce which was on the tough side with 1, yes 1 cherry on it. He was rather disappointed since this is one of his favorites. Also had the pate which was good but 1/2 the portion that used to be served. The french onion soup was good and the stuffed raviolis were ok. The wait staff was very good. It is such a shame that the food quality has slipped quite a few notches.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fairly good food - poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Dined here recently on the advice of family members who promised it would be a memorable experience. Unfortunately, it was not memorable in the way they had hoped.

My wife's duck confit salad was wonderful, and her snapper delicious. My onion soup was good - not great as many fellow reviewers have claimed - and my duck breast was only OK, absolutely overwhelmed by an overly sweet cherry sauce. The bottle French wine we selected to accompany our meal was fine.

After the entrees were delivered, our waiter disappeared for over 45 minutes! When he finally returned, I flagged him down and politely stated: "I'd like three things: dessert, coffee, and the check please," (since we had a cab returning at a specified time and I feared another disappearance by the waiter.) A few minutes later he brought the check only - ignoring my other requests! I've never been to a restaurant that didn't want you to enjoy their dessert or coffee!

Allow me to summarize my review in two words: don't bother!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa Belga also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Palapa Belga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palapa Belga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.