We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mexican Restaurant near Market 28 and Walmart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Parrilla

La Parrilla
Avenida Yaxchilan 51 | S.M 22, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 988 193 3973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 622 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican Restaurant near Market 28 and Walmart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went there for the Sunday buffet (we heard that buffet only on Sunday), which is a short walk from the bus stop in Cancun downtown. We were handed a few drink coupon on our way to the restaurant, so we got free tequila etc. which is nice plus. The food was very good and staff are polite and respectful. We enjoyed our lunch before heading to Market 28 / Walmart.

The only minor thing is that you need to be good at math when it comes to the price :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello,
We appreciate your comments!
Love to hear you had a great Mexican experience!

We hope you can visit us again, whenever in Cancun.

Bestr Regards
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    242
    82
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I go to Cancun 2-3 times per year and I always make a trip here. I am comfortable taking the bus downtown and walking but unless you are familiar with the city of Cancun take a taxi. Great food, great service, great ambiance, great value - just an all around great night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello,
We appreciate your comments!
Love to hear you always have a great Mexican experience!

Looking forward to your next visit

Bestr Regards
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great restaurant-getting away from the resort area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We wanted some great Mexican food, so asked the locals. They recommended La Parrilla downtown Cancun. We were actually looking forward to getting away from the resort area and try some new places. We had some elderly relatives with us, so chose a taxi ($17one way) versus the bus. It is a darling restaurant, near the street, with metal bars separating the dining area from the street (decorative, not at all unattractive and give you the illusion of being outside). We ordered cocktails and watched the waiters deliver margaritas stacked up high on their heads to the tables-quite impressive. Service was impeccable from attending to our order, making our caesar salad table side, to answering any questions we had. Everything was delicious from the seafood to the Mexican food. To our surprise, during dessert, a mariachi band strolled through, adding to the ambiance of the night. It was not pricey, I think the most expensive dish was $20-$22 and the portions are huge. Our elderly couple actually split a meal and it was perfect for them (we saw the portion sizes at another table as we were seated). Even though downtown, it was safe, there are security around it (not sure if even needed, but nice to have). I would highly recommend and not hesitate to go back if in Cancun again. Taxi drive was about 20 mins from Royal Islander, where we stayed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello,
We appreciate your comments!
Love to hear you had a great Mexican experience!

We hope you can visit us again, whenever in Cancun.

Bestr Regards
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Lovely Mexican space, excellent service. Moises went out of his way to provide gluten free alternatives, very attentive and good natured server, great flambé. We will return for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello, we appreciate your comments!
Love to hear you have a great time trying some traditional Mexican dishes gluten free!

Hope to hear from you soon,
Best regards!
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I were advised not to go to Downtown. However ,we took the R2 from the hotel zone and 25 minutes later were at the restaurant . It's not in a great area ,but we felt very safe . We got a delightful table and free welcome cocktails . We ordered starters but shouldn't have, the main course was massive . We had a speciality mixed stater for 2 and then went onto chicken and surf and turf . All the time lots of beers£1.50 and wines£3 were coming at regular intervals . The service was spot on .the bill was £50. Which included service 3 courses and an abundance of beverage . The cocktails weren't cheap 120 pesos ,£6 , but were huge and fantastic. A really well worth while trip

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello, we appreciate your comments!
Love to hear you have a great time trying some traditional Mexican dishes!

Hope to hear from you soon,
Best regards!
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrilla also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Parrilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parrilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.