We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Parrilla

La Parrilla
Avenida Yaxchilan 51, Cancun 77500, Mexico
998-287-8119
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 563 restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ignore all the tourist trap details and go anyway, because this place is popular among locals, Mexican tourists and foreigners equally.
The food and margaritas are great and if you are lucky enough there will be a Mexican couple or a family sitting next to you, singing with the mariachi band and making you a part of their celebration.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    228
    181
    65
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance, Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Ramada down the street for a few nights before moving to our other hotel so we had plenty of opportunities to try most of the restaurants on Av. Yaxchilán. La Parilla was one of those. As we passed this restaurant it caught our attention, especially at nights with their live music and strolling musicians so we decided to eat there one night. The restaurant definitely has a nice ambiance and it's quite Mexican; at least for a tourist like myself. The music is nice enough; waitstaff is OK. But.... We really didn't enjoy our food all that much. It wasn't much different than most other Mexican restaurants and to be frank, the salmon I ordered was less than average. I'm not sure what the problem was but either it wasn't fresh or it was over-cooked but it tasted more like wood than fish. The chicken enchiladas weren't exceptional or even good either. As for the price, initially I thought they were OK. Upon tasting the food and having found other local gems even on the same street which are far better than La Parilla, I think they are over-priced for the quality of food. But most other reviewers seem to have enjoyed their experience so maybe it was that day that the food sucked.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments!
Hope to see you round, whenever you're back to Cancun!

Best Regards,
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant during a private tour of the area.....Great choice. Our driver recommended this restaurant! Very authentic food. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments!
Hope to see you round, whenever you're back to Cancun!

Best Regards,
La Parrilla Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This restaurant had authentic food-it was crowded with Mexicans, unlike other Mexican restaurants in the hotel zone. The food was tasty and plentiful and reasonably priced.

They will take a goofy picture of your group in sombreros that you can purchase if you like, They also have strolling musicians-I think they were a group of 8-that will sing a song for you of your choice and take pictures for 100 pesos. Worth it to get in the spirit.

Recommend that you take a taxi there and back-they have taxis waiting at the restaurant. Always agree on the price beforehand.

Ask the concierge at your hotel for coupons-you'll get a free drink-and make reservations. It was nice to be brought to a waiting table with our name on it while others were waiting for open tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate your comments!
We love to show the world the wonderful food and atmosphere of Mexico!

Hope to see you soon whenever you're back in Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food & entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good place to eat downtown. Authentic Mexican food. Great drinks. Good prices. Waiters are very entertaining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RhippieAgency, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Parrilla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate your comments!
We love to show the world the wonderful food and atmosphere of Mexico!

Hope to see you soon whenever you're back in Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Parrilla also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Parrilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Parrilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.