We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crab House Cancun

Crab House Cancun
Boulevard Kukulcan km 14.8, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 (998) 193 0350
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab House Cancun is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 649 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Dont bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Expensive- paid by credit card... find out its $120 more then what I was charged when returned home. Avoid- 3 persons and bill was $435.0 Served crackers with there expensive fish fry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    118
    55
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our hotel referred us to the Crab House upon on evening of arrival. Thought it to be a bit intruding of a question to ask us our names and where we were staying after telling them we didn't have a reservation. Can't imagine needing a reservation as the place was totally empty and we were the only ones in there. Not only did they ask us too many questions upon just walking in they also asked if we were given a "free appetizer" card. We were but didn't feel like we needed to answer that question either. We were given one but I didn't know where in my purse it was and why did I need to find it and show it upon entering the place? Didn't make us feel very welcomed or even like we wanted to perhaps stay.

They had a HUGE bottle of Milagro tequila sitting on the bar facing out towards the restaurant. When I asked for a margarita with Milagro tequila the bartender had no idea what I was talking about. When I showed him the bottle of Milagro he said, "oh we don't have that." Huh?

I ordered a sashimi dish and the pieces of fish were still frozen. Wait, why would fresh fish be frozen? Really disappointing seeing how the the price was more than what I would pay for fresh fish midwest that is flown in daily.

We would not recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food not godd and very expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It's a seafood house but the shrimp cocktail was not fresh...we didnt finish it. Atmosphere is nice...overall, not worth the expensive meal. 4 of us paied $500 including tip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stone crab delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a little bit out of the way - but can be reached by local bus, which is safe and cheap. We had a table on the deck overlooking the lower docks with a beautiful view of the water. While the menu was not extensive, the claim to fame is the delectable Stone crab and Lobster. Caesar salad table-side service was delightful, and although they did not have the bottle of wine listed on the menu that we requested, they did have an adequate substitute. A good place to be sure to try while in Cancun.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Craving Crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Excellent and attentive service. The king crab was delicious and we enjoyed our dessets. Tastes were great and everything was enjoyable.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab House Cancun also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Crab House Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab House Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.