We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stone Crab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab House Cancun

Crab House Cancun
Boulevard Kukulcan km 14.8, Cancun 77500, Mexico
+52 (998) 193 0350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 549 restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Stone Crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This is my friends favorite place to eat in Cancun and my first visit to the Crab House. It was raining so we didn't get to eat outside but the inside ,while very clean , was lacking ambiance . The Stone Crab was excellent and the price was fair. A few of the others in our party aren't big on seafood and found very few other options but everyone enjoyed their meal. I found the servers very friendly and we had a great time. If you're looking for very good Stone Crabs this is the place to go .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    129
    79
    45
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puebla, Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

An even better experience having stonecrabs in Cancún than in Miami.
Price was good, the food was great, and the service even better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Not particularly good value for money.....but hey you're in Cancun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went for dinner while on holiday in Cancun as it was well located facing the lagoon on the hotel strip. We ordered the seafood platter for two which was 1200 pesos. We got 1 lobster tail, a few garlic shrimp, some snow crab claws, one alaskan crab leg and an odd tasting fish filet. The seafood portion was meagre compared with a similar dish available at La Habichuela (for the same price) and less seasoned. Quite disappointed.

Another TA reviewer summed it up pretty well - eat first before you come to Crab House otherwise you will leave hungry unless you pay far more than expected even for a higher end restaurant meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We sat on the patio over the lagoon. It's a beautiful view. My husband had the stone crab that was really good. I had the lobster tacos, they were delicious. Service was really good, they weren't busy so we had several people helping us.
One downside is they had the tip to the bill. I find it off putting when restaurants do this. We would have left more than they added. Their visa machine doesn't have an additional tip option.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Alternate for all inclusive food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

TGFR we was really hunger and the hotel all inclusive really suck. This place was closeby and the food and atmosphere was amazing we sat outside. Prices was good but not better than downtown

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab House Cancun also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Crab House Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab House Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.