We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, drinks, service and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destileria (La)

Destileria (La)
Boulevard Kukulcan km 12.65, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
019988851086 y 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 569 Restaurants in Cancun
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of the best Mexican restaurants in Cancun. There is a spectacular view of the lagoon and a unequal ambience. The contemporary Mexican cuisine includes a variety of typical dishes and creations of the chef with authentic Mexican flavors. El mejor restaurante de cocina mexicana en Cancun. Espectacular vista a la laguna y ambiente sinigual. Nuestra cocina mexicana contemporanea ofrece una variedad de platillos tipicos asi como creaciones de nuestro chef con el autentico sabor mexicano.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Might be a bit touristy, but it was the best spot we hit all week. Ate outside and the sunset was great. Had two young children with us, and the service was awesomely accommodating. The drinks were perfect, mojitos and marguaritas! Shrimp skewers were good, as was the sophas. The best meal of the night was the mixed molcajete, nicely spiced beef and chicken, it was delicious. Only complaint, and it is a small one, is that it does get a little cramped with the marriachi band out on the deck

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    192
    69
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overrated and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Wanted a real Mexucan exoerience for dinner and waa recommended here by hotel concierge. So disappointing! The terrace at night only had a view of trees and parked vans. The table and chairs were ricketty and need replacing. The tables were small and too close to each other for comfort. The food was more Carribean than Mexican . Pricey and tasteless. I definitely wiuldnt go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, superb service and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here - it was recommended by our hosts who come weekly and we could see why. We had contact with around 7 servers during the course of our meal and each provided wonderful attentive service. Good variety of food, lovely on the deck watching the sun set. Only comment is that the food was brought really quickly - we had not finished our entree when the mains arrived and had just had those plates cleared when they brought the dessert platter for our perusal. The Mexican band played while we were there too - a bit cheesy but just added to the atmosphere. We'll go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best of CANCUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We go to Cancun May and Sept , and this is on the top of our list for an authentic mexican meal,I always order the chicken lime broth soup which is the best of any place I have ever been. The atmosphere is awsome. when you go ask for Octavio to be you server, I have know him for many years, and he will help you order just what you want. Love this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Incredible food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Obviously this is a tourist destination in Cancun, it is not cheap. However the food quality and preparation are amazing. We started with tequila cheese and guacamole that was prepared tableside.

Everything was so fresh and tasty. We had the fajitas and a chicken dish. The margaritas were strong and tasty.

The service provided by Ruben was exemplary. He was attentive, fun and really helped make our experience special. The band was a bit loud when actually tableside, but overall made for a fun experience.

This is a great experience with great food and should be sought out when you travel to Cancun. We certainly will do so next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destileria (La) also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Destileria (La)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destileria (La), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.