We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of CANCUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destileria (La)

Destileria (La)
Boulevard Kukulcan km 12.65, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
019988851086 y 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 621 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: One of the best Mexican restaurants in Cancun. There is a spectacular view of the lagoon and a unequal ambience. The contemporary Mexican cuisine includes a variety of typical dishes and creations of the chef with authentic Mexican flavors. El mejor restaurante de cocina mexicana en Cancun. Espectacular vista a la laguna y ambiente sinigual. Nuestra cocina mexicana contemporanea ofrece una variedad de platillos tipicos asi como creaciones de nuestro chef con el autentico sabor mexicano.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best of CANCUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We go to Cancun May and Sept , and this is on the top of our list for an authentic mexican meal,I always order the chicken lime broth soup which is the best of any place I have ever been. The atmosphere is awsome. when you go ask for Octavio to be you server, I have know him for many years, and he will help you order just what you want. Love this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    260
    95
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Incredible food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Obviously this is a tourist destination in Cancun, it is not cheap. However the food quality and preparation are amazing. We started with tequila cheese and guacamole that was prepared tableside.

Everything was so fresh and tasty. We had the fajitas and a chicken dish. The margaritas were strong and tasty.

The service provided by Ruben was exemplary. He was attentive, fun and really helped make our experience special. The band was a bit loud when actually tableside, but overall made for a fun experience.

This is a great experience with great food and should be sought out when you travel to Cancun. We certainly will do so next time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“3 star food, with 4 star atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

On our visit this evening we had an overall "good" experience and I would come back. We sat outside and enjoyed the sunset over the lagoon. But there are a few things that I would adjust. The service was attentive and knowledgeable but just a little too pushy for my taste. The mariachi band was great while it was inside the restaurant, but when 15 musicians with trumpets come outside to gather around your table it's way too intrusive.

The food itself was fine. It did arrive really quickly. No more than a couple of minutes after we had ordered. I've waited longer at Macdonalds. So probably not cooked to order then. We started with excellent margaritas and a guacamole dip which was clearly home made and very fresh. I had a rib eye steak which was quite tasty and came with mash potatoes but not much else. Finally we had a rather over sweet desert of crepes with butterscotch sauce. The price for two, with an (excellent) aged tequila to finish was almost exactly US$100.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food was great and the atmosphere was the best in Cancun. A must visit for couples. Its not cheap so bring alot of pesos. About $20 to $100 USD per plate!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great traditional Mexican and Mayan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of my personal favorite restaurants in Cancun. Maybe it is the 28oz margarita or maybe the molcajetes in the volcanic rock pot. We have eaten here several times and it is always great. We have had several of there flambe dishes, all great! We also recommend the queso tequila as an appetizer.

We also enjoy the mariachis strolling around playing various songs. The view at sunset is wonderful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Destileria (La) also viewed

 

Been to Destileria (La)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destileria (La), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.