We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cabanas del Doctor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Las Cabanas del Doctor to your Saves list
Las Cabanas del Doctor
Av. Majahual 6 | Majahual, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #510 of 876 Hotels in Yucatan Peninsula
Ellsworth, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We happened onto this place by chance,& it was one of the best places on our trip. Clean rooms ,great king sized bed,crisp linens,just awesome.Very reasonable rates. We had a room on the second floor of the hotel section & it was $700 mx. per nite.

Room Tip: a/c probably a good idea if you go off season. we didnt need it much in Jan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A friend had recommended this place, and so we decided to stay. On their website it says that a double is 400 pesos a night. We made a reservation via email. However, upon arrival they attempted to charge us 550 MXN (about $11 USD more a night). I refused and quoted the 400 MXN on their website. The staff member called the owner who countered with 500 MXN. Again, I quoted the website, and the owner wouldn't budge, so we left.

It looks like a nice place, is a bit outside of town, but just be aware that you need to secure the amount they will charge you in your email since the website price won't always be honored.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

So as not to duplicate what I already wrote, here is my blog post about Mahahual and Las Cabanas Del Doctor. The bathroom was amazing. They have a small restaurant, cabanas, bigger rooms and lots of areas for camping.

http://www.sanpedroscoop.com/2012/03/mahahual-almost-two-different-towns.html

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed a few...forget exactly, days at cabanas del doctor and really enjoyed the stay. I stayed in the cheaper older cabana on the second floor and what I really liked...was hearing the waves crash on the reef at night. The room is clean and functional plenty of hot water and the bed was pretty comfortable and now that I think about it was the best deal of my month trip. Dollar for value it was just great, now the newer rooms were very nice in that they are almost brand new and clean. I think those were 50$ not sure but around that range... nice little semi private beach just nice perfect for having a few beers and watching the cars going to or from xcalak.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I loved this hotel, in addition to cabanas there are also hotel like rooms, which are impecably clean, great bedding, luxury type finishings, good airconditioning, fantastic ocean views, gorgous lounge area on rooftop patio and all this for around $35 a night. We looked at other hotels and they were more money, didn't have ocean views. For the quality we received the comparable hotels were over $100. Highly recommended, fantastic service. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Cabanas del Doctor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanas del Doctor

Address: Av. Majahual 6 | Majahual, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Yucatan Peninsula
#284 On the Beach Hotel in Yucatan Peninsula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Las Cabanas del Doctor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanas Del Doctor Mexico/Yucatan Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cabanas del Doctor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.