We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Diligencias

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Diligencias to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Diligencias
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Independencia Col. Centro, 1115, Veracruz 91700, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Veracruz
California Hot Springs, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent location on the Zocalo. Friendly, English speaking 24-hour front desk. Large rooms. If you have the hotel get a taxi for you they have a favorite driver who does not seem to be the least expensive. We got a quote from him to drive us to La Antiqua and Cempoala and on Xalapa for 2000 pesos, whereas another very nice taxi driver took us on the same route for 1500 pesos and even showed us around the sites (though he spoke almost no English).

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the Zocalo. Typical Zocalo noise, but not too bad and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    69
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
48
64
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Rooms are large and immaculate. Furniture is generic "big hotel" style. Air conditioning is integrated into ventilation and is effective. Additional bottles of water are reasonably priced. Staff are generally helpful.

My only complaint--and it causes me to deduct a star--is that when I needed to leave quickly for the bus terminal the person at check out had ZERO knowledge of ENGLISH. My Spanish is poor, but in such a highly structured environment it is inexplicable that my request, in broken Spanish, for the expected taxi cost to the Central Bus Station should just puzzle him.

And, despite what he or someone claimed when I called back from the bus, the cost should NOT be 40 pesos (the prepaid taxi from the station was 25).

Also, anyone who stays at this hotel should avoid any taxi that waits immediately outside the hotel. Not only will you be overcharged, but the one I had scammed me when I did not have change. He took a loooong time to arrive to the bus station (I was watching him on Google Maps) so that you, as rider, would have to choose between his poorly acted attempts for change and catching your bus. (Onlookers were smiling, as this seems to be a well-understood scam.)

If I knew that the hotel was complicit in this scam, this would be a one-star review.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Cosala, Mexico
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The lobby is grand and the breakfast is very good. Everyone on the staff was friendly and the hotel is in a great location right across from the plaza. The rooms have a dated feeling, but everything is functional, clean and comfortable. Our only problem was initially programming the safe, but once we had help there were no other problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is probably the most famous and popular hotel in Veracruz. It is next to zocalo. We stayed there at MXN 900 per night and found it very good value for money. Seafront, souvenirs market and restaurants and some attractions are within walking distance. Receptionists and staff at business centre were very helpful. Double rooms were big. Our room for the first two nights face the swimming pool and we could see part of zocalo and a church and part of the sea. New and modern hotels prop up along seashore but we like this hotel housed in colonial building the most. Though its attached restaurant is said to have good sea food, it was no surprise to us. Nevertheless, its lunch buffet was value for money. No dinner needed.

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms on high floors facing zocalo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It is a great location from which to see all the sights of Veracruz. Hotel is but a short and inexpensive ride away (less than 8 dollars US). Hotel is clean and very accommodating to most of your needs. I stayed for 5 nights, so after 3 nights I needed laundry done. Front desk told me, 'in the morning'. But, no laundry services the next morning (Sunday). Told me next day, Monday. Guess what, suddenly a holiday, no laundry. Oh well, this is Mexico. I highly recommend the hotel. The plaza is right across the street and the Malecon is only about 4 hours away. Many places to eat and drink within a 3 block radius. English is not spoken by the majority of staff, but no problem, everything is possible in Mexico. Yes, I love it here and will return again, I hope soon. Only "con" in the room was the electronic locking system. I had to stop by the front desk at least twice a day to have my key reactivated. I did not have anything magnetic on my person, so finally they sent the mechanic up and he fixed it to work. And it did for half a day. But, this is Mexico so why worry.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors give a much better view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We drove into Veracruz with a rental car from Xalapa. Arrival at the hotel was pleasant. The front desk was helpful and the staff handling the garage was also very helpful. We had planned to spend two nights at the Gran Hotel Diligencias but extended an additional two nights. The room we had was comfortable and clean. Wireless internet was adequately fast and worked throughout our stay. Parking was free, and actually was in a garage that was secure and part of the hotel building itself. The main hotel restaurant is actually operated by Villa Rica restaurants which has several locations in Veracruz. The food was superb. Being on the historic central square was a great location. Both the hotel restaurant and the bar share an open veranda that overlooks the square (there is inside seating for both as well). As you leave the front of the hotel there is a Sanborns to your left and the Gran Cafe to your right. The Gran Cafe has a very good menu and delicious local coffee. We would happily visit the hotel again and hope to be able spend additional time there and in Veracruz.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our experience at the Gran Hotel Diligencias was great. The staff was friendly and although my Spanish and their English were both lacking, we had no problem communicating. The hotel is right across from a lively square in what appeared to be a safe area, even after dark (when the activity picks up). There are also plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and clean, but a little worn. For example, there was a hole in one of the towels but the towel was clean as any without holes. The bed was firm and comfortable. One of the hotel restaurants could have come from a "Graham Green" novel in that it seemed to cater to foreigners but not in a touristy way. We would definitely stay there again if we had reason to pass through Veracruz again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Diligencias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Diligencias

Address: Av. Independencia Col. Centro, 1115, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Veracruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Diligencias 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Diligencias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Veracruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Diligencias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.