We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Service/Honest Staff!!! Near everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lerdo 117 | Centro Historico, Veracruz 91700, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Veracruz
Irapuato, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good Service/Honest Staff!!! Near everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Firstable I have to thank the hotel Staff for taking care of a valuable forgotten asset I forgot at the lobby. The staff took care of it and returned it undamaged. They were really nice and were originally concerned of me getting my stuff back. Thank you guys! Your honesty makes a difference!

The hotel is near "El malecón" 5 mins walking distance, you can get in the fiesta or access the Restaurant area really easy.

Rooms looks a little bit old, but they are clean, AC works great (Specially in summer time is something you value in Veracruz).
They have a terrace were you can relax and have a nice quiet chat with your significant other, or see the fiesta environment at the plaza in front at the hotel.

One little detail I enjoyed (most people wont see it) is that you can observe from the Terrace, a part of the clock machinery through a little window of the Chappel in front of the hotel.

If using a GPS, and have a car, the garage is on the back of the hotel, You only can access the lobby walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

No hotel is more central (right on the town square / "Zocalo"), so a few minutes' walk gets you almost anywhere you'd want to be. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean (and mine was very quiet), though not everyone well enjoy the very firm beds. There's a small pool on the 2nd floor and no in-house restaurant (try Sanborn's on the east corner of the Zocalo for breakfast, decent seafood is not hard to find for dinner practically anywhere, though I particularly liked Pepe's, two doors down from the more famous Tano's on Molina). The hotel's WiFi is pretty good (and free). Minor warning: all the electrical outlets in my room were for two-pronged plugs. If you have a laptop or appliance with three prongs, bring along an adapter. The voltage is 120, so you don't need a converter if you're from North America, just a cheap adapter available at any hardware store. If you don't bring one, the only grounded (three prong) outlets I found are in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

very nice & clean would be good if they had a contential or food option & advise you in advance there is a charge for parking also the people at the front desk could be a little more friendly otherwise the stay was great & i would advise anyone to go there i have been there 7 different times

Room Tip: ask for room in new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
396 helpful votes 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On our way through Mexico we stopped in Veracruz for two nights. Because of its perfect location, we chose the Hotel Colonial.

From the feedback here we knew it's kinda of a mixed bag. But we took our chance anyway. In the end we were pleasantly surprised.
Check-In was friendy and the front desk guy (forgot his name - younger guy with a mustache) was very helpful throughout both days and provided much helpful information for us. Some complained about the staff here, but we really had a good experience.

The rooms are, like stated in the reviews, quite dated. Very basic and pretty dark, but clean. The old, centrally operated aircon takes a minute to figure out, but you'll be able to adjust it to your likes.
The beds were just ok but we had a good sleep (it's a quiet Hotel). There's also a small pool with some chairs, which was fine to hang out an hour or two. The Lobby area provides also free WiFi.

The biggest Plus of course is the location, which makes up for all the bad points! It's smack on the Zocalo. On the weekends people eat, drink and party here until the early hours. Even on weekdays it's busy until after midnight. And if you enjoy a drink or two (or a few too much), it's great if you just can walk right in your Hotel and don't have to make a big trip back. And for that, this Hotel is absolutely perfect and worth the money. We had a great time here in Veracruz and this Hotel, even it's dated, would be an option again when we come back.

Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website with more info about my travels).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is in a good location however it knew better days. the service is not the best and the whole hotel is not so clean. i do not think it is good value for money. the only advantage of this hotel is it´s location. Right on the socalo. sorrounded by many cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico, DF
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Walking into this hotel feels like entering another era. And there are both good and bad things that come with that.

The good: if you are into vintage design, you will probably really enjoy the 1970s vibe preserved in aspects like the lobby, tile work and other little details throughout the hotel.

The bad: both the internet and hot water are intermittent.

The bottom line: if you are looking for a unique experience, I highly recommend the Colonial! However, if you want something shiny, new and without the quirky details, I would recommend the Hotel Veracruz Centro Historico or (if you have the $$) the Hotel Diligencias. All three are within a block of each other on the central plaza, and all three can be reserved at discount prices on-line.

Room Tip: Ask for a new (aka 1970s) room. The older rooms have cute 1940s bathrooms, but are dark, windowless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México, México
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Good location. Good bedroom, the bathroom was small. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Lerdo 117 | Centro Historico, Veracruz 91700, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Veracruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Veracruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colonial from Veracruz, it is located at the Heart of thehistoric center of the city, inside the tradicional area called “Los Portales” and the “Zocalo”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Veracruz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.