We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de la Mision

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Posada de la Mision to your Saves list
Posada de la Mision
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cerro de la Misi 32 Colonia Centro, Taxco 40230, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Taxco
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here with our two children, aged 5 and 8, and had a lovely two day vacation. The pool is very nice, and the room we stayed in, number 236, was fantastic. Excellent views from everywhere; the sight of Taxco at night was utterly enchanting. The food at the main restaurant was surprisingly good; great steaks, and excellent salads. Breakfast was a delight; real, fresh made tacos cooked before your eyes.

The hotel has a bit of a "faded elegance" feel, but that's fine. The property is large and interesting, with plenty of places for kids to explore and enjoy.

There is a tunnel between the main lobby and the dining/pool area that the kids really liked; there are flashing lights that are really "cool," as my daughter and son say.

This is not a cheap hotel - the suite was on sale, and thus we could afford it. But there is lots of value here, and well worth it. We moved here from the Loma Linda hotel across the way, and were much, much happier.

Room Tip: The suites are superb; try 236. It's not in the main hotel, but a few steps up the road. Absolut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    23
    12
    31
See reviews for
24
40
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night, but we would have liked to stay here a little bit longer. The hotel was an old convent, nowadays it is a original hotel with large rooms. From the balcony there is the most beautiful view on the nice town of Taxco with its white houses, the many white VW taxi´s, the silver shops. We enjoyed our stay in this lovely little town and in this beautiful hotel. I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We just loved Taxco, which is a beautiful town with wonderful views. And this hotel didn't disappoint - we had a beautiful spacious room with a balcony, complete with scenic view of the town and hills. OK there were a few little things that weren't great (you have to let the water run for about 10 minutes to get hot, the bathroom window opens onto the corridor, no air con), but overall we loved the feeling of authenticity in the original beamed ceilings and wood framed windows. Breakfast was great, and the little bar downstairs was a great place to sit and relax. Beware though, the prices are high in this bar - 60 pesos for a beer and 95 pesos for a small cocktail. We realised though that these are around what we pay at home, so not that bad, but a little high for Mexico. There was a pool, but as it was raining we didn't use it, so I can't comment on it.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

During a 10 day trip to Mexico City, we decided to venture off the beaten path to Taxco. This beautiful little town nestled in the hills. We arrived to Posada de la Mision to find a very empty hotel. The lady at the desk was very nice and upgraded us to a room with a view of the city. It was breathtaking! The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to the city center. The pool was a good temperature with a mural of Cuauhtemoc that overlooked the city. The people in the hotel were pleasant. The rooms were clean and free of dirt or grime. We had a wonderful time at the Posada de la Mision. Just one thing! beware of the bar! Expensive cocktails!

Room Tip: Smile and speak spanish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We visited Taxco expecting a charming little village set in the mountains. What we experienced is a tourist trap. "Guides" stop your car at the entrance to the city to give you a map and recommendations for hotels. We were recommended the Posada de la Mision, which had favorable reviews in some of our tourist information books. Later, it appeared that official guides (they do have proper town identification) receive commissions for steering tourists to certain hotels, as the "guide" showed up as we were checking in.

This hotel, from the outside, appears to have colonial charm, but really it is a very old hotel that has seen better days (like, maybe, 20 - 30 years ago). We paid 2500 pesos for one night which was at least 3- 4 times more than this hotel is worth. Breakfast was included in the room rate but it was lackluster. The service was terrible. They told us that they had high speed internet, but it was available only in a very small part of the lobby. The pool was cold and dirty and the whirlpool was not working.

With our extensive travel experience in Mexico, we would rate this hotel as one of the worst experiences that we have had.

The ONLY redeeming aspect of this hotel is that the upper buildings have fantastic views of the town, especially at night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We planned to spend the afternoon in Taxco and then get on the bus to go back to Mexico City, but the bus stopped in front of this hotel and we got the idea to spend the night. Of course we got the rack rate just walking in off the street, but we got the most amazing room with a panoramic view of Taxco. Everything was clean and in good working order. The staff were a bit laid back (but not in any way rude) and it did not appear like the hotel was bustling, but it was between Christmas and New Years and Mexico is often very quiet at that time except at the beach. We ended up staying two nights and just enjoying Taxco.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This holiday stay at the Posada was wonderful. Despite a couple of shortcomings, the hotel was very romantic for us. The architecture, the swimming pool, the beautiful birds and the staff we came to know, while often retaining an air of mystery were always good to us. I only wish that our brief stay here was longer. I aim to go back and hopefully not too much will have changed.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada de la Mision? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Mision

Address: Cerro de la Misi 32 Colonia Centro, Taxco 40230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Taxco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Taxco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de la Mision 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Posada de la Mision reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De La Mision Hotel Taxco
Posada De La Mision Taxco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de la Mision, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.