We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Calle Tonala #27 | Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“A Lovely Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

In a grand old neighborhood of grand old homes, Sol y Luna stands out even amongst the most splendid of facades. I was strolling around Barrio del Cerillo when I first got to San Cristobal de las Casas, in fact, and had taken a photo of the stately arched doorway without knowing that this was the bed and breakfast I had been looking for. Upon entry one is greeted with a sunlit courtyard and the option of staying in either the "Sol" room or the "Luna" room. Being a solo traveler, I chose Luna, the smaller (yet still considerably spacious) of the two rooms. Both rooms are outfitted with extraordinary worldly possessions collected locally and from afar, and stacks of art literature to complement the cable TV. Both rooms also have private bathrooms. As a self-proclaimed bathroom critic, I can certainly attest to the decor, size, cleanliness, and ample water pressure of the Luna bathroom. And I never ran out of hot water, thanks to Cisco's (the ever friendly and cool expat artist owner) detailed explanation of how to get the shower to work with me.

Cisco runs the joint with his wife Dani, whom each morning prepared excellent breakfasts adorned with flowers from the exotic backyard garden. My first morning I was in awe of the smell and sight of a passion fruit flower garnishing my granola filled cantaloupe and Dani promptly began to explain the significance of this unique beauty. Later on, Cisco added, "and there are 80 different kinds!" His extensive knowledge ranged from flora to local lore and was particularly helpful when it came to tips on culture, how to do things, and where to get 2 for 1 Michelada's at an authentic dive.

Sol y Luna captured the spirit of San Cristobal de las casas in its energy and charm while also making for a tranquil sanctuary after a day at the bustling markets. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I can't wait for another excuse to visit this marvelous little town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
37
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived here and were awed by the collection of crafts from the area, the restored building around a courtyard, our room with blankets woven locally, and fresh flowers in bedroom and bath. Not small bouquets, but armloads of flowers. Cisco and Dani, the owners, served us an excellent breakfast each morning, and Cisco gave us details about where we should go or where we told him we wanted to go, down to how much we should expect to pay the taxi. Their home is about 4 blocks from the municipal market, 6 blocks from a huge craft market, and about 12 blocks from the zocalo. Taxis and combis abound, so you can easily go to the villages outside of San Cristobal. Dani and Cisco seemed to intuit how much we felt like socializing -- sometimes a lot, sometimes not. They have 3 small children and two cats, but there is a big heavy door to the guestroom. We visited in mid-March. The days were warm (maybe 75 F) and the nights were chilly (maybe 50 F). Cisco started and maintains a rescued orchid garden about a mile out of town. You can visit on your own or if you are lucky, he will take you there. I can't praise Sol y Luna enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First time in San Cristobal de las Casas and we couldn't be more pleased with Sol y Luna. The place was lovely and Cisco and Dany were great hosts. In fact, Cisco's suggestions help make our trip to the region. We never would have stopped in the ruins at Tonina. And his suggestions for Palenque made it one of the highlights of the trip.

Sol y Luna is a great place to stay. Beautiful rooms, delicious breakfasts and and wonderful hosts. It's located in a lovely neighborhood in what is now one of my favorite towns in Mexico. I look forward to returning to San Cristobal and staying at Sol y Luna again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We felt like we were home again when we returned to Sol y Luna after three years. The addition of a private bathroom, with a second underway, was an unexpected and wonderful surprise. Sol y Luna remains our favorite place to stay in Mexico. The peace and tranquility there, helpfulness, respect for privacy, delicious breakfasts, and intelligent and knowledgeable hosts and their guests, and comfortable rooms bring a special and creative quality to the place. Forget it if you're looking for glitz or funk; Plenty of artifacts around and lots of help with directions. Good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oaxaca de Juárez, Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've stayed with Cisco and Dany twice now, once in December 2012 and previously in April 2012. The B&B itself is lovely, and situated in a great part of town; a pleasant walk from the zocalo. The rooms are large and comfortable and quirkily decorated, both have little fireplaces and electric blankets for the cooler months. The bathrooms are large and clean and have ample hot water. Breakfast is always amazing. More than anything, I stay because I enjoy the insider tips that flow from Cisco's mind like water: day trips, hiking, adventures, orchids, you name it. This is my go-to B&B in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: There are two rooms: one is smaller with a queen-sized bed near the rear of the house (generally qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed with my partner and loved it. The room we stayed in was quirky and adorable with a private bathroom. Cisco was incredibly accommodating when we arrived early in the morning after and long bus trip from Oaxaca and shooed us into our room for some sleep before worrying about any incidentals. I was sick for two days and our hosts were lovely offering me food and herbal tea. The neighbourhood is quiet but close enough to be easy walking distance to town. Cisco is incredibly knowledgeable about the area and other parts of Mexico. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed two nights at Cisco's Sol y Luna. Felt at home instantly. Him and Dany are very attentive and helpful yet leave you all the space you want. Great food, great decoration in the rooms, small and intimate. Recommended enthusiastically!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Tonala #27 | Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol y Luna is an ideal location for couples, families or an individual wanting quiet, privacy and a feeling of living in their own home. We are located, on a quite side street, in one of the original barrios of San Cristobal close to the centro, an easy 7 minute walk, to the mercado 3 minutes and to Sto. Domingo church 3 minutes. The B&B is beautifully decorated, with lush orchid filled gardens to relax and for children to play and a free full breakfast is our specialty. We offer, SOL, with two beds, a queen and a twin, ideal for a family, with an elegant en suite full bathroom. The home is elegantly and beautifully decorated with art from Mexico and the owners travels around the world. The B&B can help you with all travel related needs, from where to have your clothes washed to exploring hidden treasures in San Cristobal or in one of the nearby indigenous communities, to Maya ruins further away. You will remember your time fondly at Sol y Luna and want to return. Cisco can help you arrange or guide you on tours that explore the hidden side, the magical calles, the little visited areas of Chiapas. His 20 years in Chiapas have given him a vast knowledge of this magical land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol y Luna Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.