We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dreamlike wedding destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parador San Juan de Dios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Parador San Juan de Dios to your Saves list
Parador San Juan de Dios
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calzada Roberta 16 | Colonia 31 de Marzo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29229, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dreamlike wedding destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The moment you step onto this hacienda estate, a peaceful feeling settles over you. It's like you've stepped into another world, a retreat. We checked out several places in town for our wedding, and decided on San Juan. We are so glad we did. The adobe rooms are beautiful, upscale, one-of-a-kind. I had family coming in from the U.S. and everyone was well taken care of the whole time, which we deeply appreciate. I can't say enough about the kindness, warmth and competence of the staff. The restaurant was absolutely fantastic -- not cheap, but if you are used to U.S. prices, it's not a big deal. It was a perfect gathering place for our families to hang out together and get to know each other over the course of the several days we were there.

Our wedding & reception took place out on the sprawling lawn and was handled with precision and care by the event director, Enrique. Our guests loved the setting -- beautiful and plenty of room for kids to run free. The tent was warm at night despite the outside temps (late December). The hotel lit torches and it looked amazing. The staff handled our reception for 80+ people with ease. My husband and I were especially impressed with our personal waiter, who followed us around with water and napkins on the dance floor, to make sure we stayed hydrated and sweat-free. Can you believe it? On what planet does that happen?

We all now have memories to last a lifetime at San Juan. You can't put a price tag on that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San d, Director General at Parador San Juan de Dios, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
HI Erica!

Is very good to hear from you and your wedding prints and service in Parador San Juan de Dios.

Thank you for your trust and preference. we have very fond memories of "THE WEDDING OF CESAR AND ERICA" and their distinguished guests.

We're working to get more and better attention.

come back soon!

thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed for eight nights and had a wonderful stay. The restaurant food was excellent and the service from the restaurant staff, porter, to housekeeping, were all very nice and accomodating. We definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

This hotel, on the outskirts of San Cristobal but within a 10 to 15 minute walk of the centre, is stunning. You walk under the arch into this beautiful hacienda and the peace just hits you. Our room was fabulous : the bedroom had a vaulted ceiling and an open fireplace (the weather was not good so this was very welcome), it also had a sitting room (with open fireplace) and a big bathroom with whirlpool bath. It was furnished with dark antiques and paintings and very atmospheric. The dining room served the best food we encountered on our stay in Chaipas and the waiters couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Unfortunately we don't speak Spanish so communication was tricky, especially at Reception where noone appeared to speak English and misunderstandings arose as a result, but Chiapas is somewhat off the beaten tourist track - and all the more special for that - and the language problem was really down to us as the visitors : it was just unexpected.

The hotel was very quiet when we visited so we can't comment on problems encountered by others because this was truly one of the most pretty, comfortable and peaceful hotels we stayed in on our trip and with a completely unexpected level of sophistication, elegance and comfort. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The room has heat, bot it doesnt work. It has showers, but the water is cold. We staid there for three nighs, two out of which they rented de hotel for a big party. Besides the noisy music, at 3 a. m. all the drunks got out of the party and apparently they had all decided to hang out in our room corridor. I laid there as I listened to screaming, laughing, fighting, and crying from all the drunken people outside. I finally fell asleep a short while later. We call the office to stop the noice and they said they will but they didn´t till altmos 5 a. m. one night and 4 a.m the other.
The first night, when we finally got asleep, I was rudely awakened by the noise of the wheels of luggage and the noisy neighbors again. Later for breakfat we had to wait for 30 min one time, 45 the next (we left without eating).
We complain to the mannager who answerd he would speak to "don Mario" to give us a discount we didn´t ask for. At the end the deduced 10% of the $160 dollars charge per night. The place is very beautiful to visit, far away from the town, there is no taxis near by, heat doesnt work, terrible service at the restaurant and, very beatiful showers with cold water and the noise in the night is impossible. Don´t stay there!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

First, the good: The grounds are spacious and beautiful. The rooms are large and clean. The restaurant food is very good. The staff is polite, even though they have not been adequately trained to accomplish many things you would ordinarily take for granted.

Now the rest: The rooms are heated by hot water radiators over which you have no control. When working, the radiaors do not adequately heat the room. They were not working two of the four days we were there.

Hot water is iffy. We had none for two of our four day stay.

The tub is a deep Jacuzzi, You must climb into the tub to get a shower, and it is slippery with no hand holds to provide stability.

The wait for food is very long. Plan on 45 minutes after ordering before the first food arrives. The wait seemed especially long for breakfast. You will also find that food is brought to your table in an haphazord manner, with no ones food likely to come at the same time as others at your table. Beware that the restaurant may be closed even though you are told it will be open.

The price, for Mexico, of 150 U S dollars a night was high, even if things had worked.

Because the hotel is one of the very few in the area that has large grounds, it is a favored location for loud parties that may go on until the wee hours of the morning, making sleep nearly impossible.

It is quite a jaunt to the plaza or any other place you may wish to go. Fortunately, a 10 to 15 minute cab ride to the plaza is only 20 to 30 pesos.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

The San Juan de Dios Parador is a quiet and lovely escape from the bustle of the center of San Cristobal. The suites are beautifully decorated, with fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. The restaurant has some of the finest food I have ever had in Mexico.
On the down side (for me), the King platform bed was the firmest I've ever encountered -- and I could hear conversations from the adjoining rooms. (I would expect a hotel of this quality to have sound proofing between rooms.)

  • Liked — Charm and spaciousness of the room
  • Disliked — Too far from center of San Cristobal
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed for three nights in a suite at San Juan de Dios Parador while visiting Chiapas. We just loved it! We had had a hard time finding nice hotels in San Cristobal and this place was recommended to us by a local hotel owner who could not accommodate us for our stay.

It is located a bit outside the city centre, but you can easily walk (10 minutes) or take a cab (about 2 US$) to go to the centre.

We paid around 1300 mexican pesos a night for a suite and it was certainly worth it. The service was excellent, the suite was very big, clean, cozy, well decorated and it has a fireplace (very convenient at night - it gets cold). There is also a beautiful garden in which you can relax – so peaceful. It was so great that we were sad to leave! After extensive travelling in Europe and America, we can say that this is one of the best places we found and would recommend it without hesitation!

  • Liked — Everything from the service to the quality of the room
  • Disliked — Its location - not in the city center
  • Tips/Secrets — It is worth paying a bit more to get a suite
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador San Juan de Dios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador San Juan de Dios

Address: Calzada Roberta 16 | Colonia 31 de Marzo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29229, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#4 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parador San Juan de Dios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The parador-museum San Juan de Dios is located in one of the oldest areas in San Cristobal de Las Casas, Chiapas. The property was once used for farming and wheat milling. Each bedroom has an eclectic style decorated with art, furniture,decorative rugs, and classical style paintings as well as contemporary. San Juan de Dios has a gallery with antiques and traditional art work, a sculpture museum with art from 16th to 19th century, and a therapeutic area with massage services the restaurant Agapandos offer a select menu with Mediterranean dishes and Chiapas traditional haute cuisine. The beautiful gardens are an ideal stage for family breakfast, romantic dinner, gala receptions or your unforgettable weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Parador San Juan de Dios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador San Juan De Dios San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador San Juan de Dios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.