We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Chalet Frances

El Chalet Frances
Calle Diego Dugelay No. 5 | Al Fin Del Andador Real de Guadalupe (A Partir Del Zocalo, Caminar 3 Cuadras en El Andador de Guadalupe y Cuando Se Acaba Este Andador, Estamos Justo en Frente en la Calle Diego Dugelay Numero 5), San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
+52 1 967 121 2605
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Everyday from 02.00 PM to 09.00 PM. We are located at the end of Real de Guadalupe pedestrian street (3 blocks from the Zocalo)in Diego Dugelay Street number 5. Not recomended for children. No credit card. Only cash. Thank you.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

El Chalet Frances is a small, four-table French bistrot run by a charming Frenchman and his lovely wife from Villahermosa.

We selected an authentic, classical French meal of beef bourguignon, which was slow-cooked for the previous two days. Our meal was accompanied by a perfect French Merlot, and we were soon transported to Paris for the evening.

The restaurant is lovely and the hospitality of Benoit and Viviana made for a truly enjoyable evening experience not to be missed.

While we passed on the creme brulee and apple tatin desserts, both of which made our mouths water, we did not miss a delightful conversation with our two charming hosts--about Chiapas, France and Mexico.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    24
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great cozy small place! The owner super kind and the poulet parfum amandes wow! Give it a try! The vin chaud is also a great drink to try! Bring cash no credit card.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just had a wonderful meal at this little restaurant. The food was great and had great conversation with the owner and folks beside us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best meal in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a very small restaurant; four tables to seat up to maybe 8 people. Cozy. A French couple runs the restaurant. There is a very limited menu, but everything is prepared by hand and is of the highest quality. This was certainly the best meal we had in San Cristobal de las Casas, and a welcome change from the local fare. It is also relatively inexpensive, considering the quality. We went back, but they were closed (Sunday and Monday). We were very disappointed. Don't leave town without enjoying a meal at EL Chalet Frances!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great night out in SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Once again TripAdvisor recommendations come through. A charming tiny restaurant with a small but delicious menu, a friendly multilingual staff (thank you, Freddy), a exemplary host, and the friendliest environment you could want. So small that conversation among patrons at the other 2 tables is almost inevitable, and on our evening an added pleasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chalet Frances also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to El Chalet Frances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Chalet Frances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.