We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Puerta Vieja Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Puerta Vieja Hostel to your Saves list
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly and let me check in before the check-in time and invited me to have breakfast with other guests.So after night bus,I could refresh myself and recharge energy.The room is clean,but the light is weak,so the room looks so dark.The bathroom is clean but the kitchen is not so clean.The common area is good,nice place to rest.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    32
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
50
90
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place definitely is one of my favourite places on our travels through Latin America.
We were lucky and got a three bed dorm to the two of us, and even we had booked through Hostelworld which would only let us book the room for three people, the staff there refunded us the third person without us even asking. The bathrooms are clean, the showers are good and warm and the rooms are really spacious and cosy and the beds comfortable. The location is great with a sorrt walk to main church. Staff are really friendly and very happy to help. In the evenings the atmosphere is social by the big fire out the back, away from the rooms, so that if people kick on you don't disturb people who want to sleep. Breakfast changes everyday and is decent, but you also have e option of cooking in the provided kitchen. An all round great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

very clean, everything is new, great beds and showers, good atmosphere, you probably wont leave as fast as expected. It is more like a nice hotel than a hostel. I dont really like hostels/dorms that much but this place is not like your usual hostel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in this hostel for 5 nights with my boyfriend in a private room with shared bathroom. We had two big double beds, both EXTREMELY comfortable which was a plus as i was sick the entire time and spent everyday in bed! The shared bathrooms are lovely and the showers are fantastic, good pressure and lovely and hot with room to hang your towels and clothes.
Breakfast every morning was a treat being pancakes or eggs of some sort. Also cooked dinner one night in the kitchen, had to make do for a few utensils missing but we managed. Staff were very relaxed when we aske to stay an extra night then decided against it in middle of day and gave us our money back without hesitation. Great location, could be nice to have some heaters in the common areas and maybe a lamp next to bed in room as the one light was very dim! Would definitely stay here again. Thankyou!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at this place because it was really recommended by a friend I made a lot going my travel. The place is big and clean. They have fire place at night where you can get to know many of the guests, there is also a bar which has all the basics! The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The only problem was breakfast is not included in the price and if you are very tired staying in a dorm with 20 other people might not be ideal as they come and go as they please... But thats the price you pay for staying in a dorm anyway gotta learn to adapt to other people's schedules.
Recommended for backpackers of all ages!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

After being 17 days in Mexico, this hostel was my favorite one among the many I stayed. The place is clean, well located, and breakfast is delicious. The staff was helpful, friendly and more than once, they behaved as the best host of the party. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerlingen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at Puerta Vieja for only one night in December 2013, which was quite a pleasant experience (I booked a bed in a dorm room). The hostel is located near the central plaza and perfect to discover San Christobal on your own. Everything (from the restrooms to the lockers) is brand new, nicely furnished and super clean. The showers provide (unlike most Mexican Hostels) super hot water with sufficient pressure. The comon area is the patio (inner courtyard) of this colonial building (WiF and sockets available here), which really invites you to chill out between your activities.
The staff was super friendly and helped me with every question I had.

A higly recommendable place to stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerta Vieja Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerta Vieja Hostel

Address: Calle Diego de Mazariegos 23 | Barrio de La Merced, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerta Vieja is a brand new hostel, recently opening its doors with the certainty of becoming one of the top traveler’s spots in no time. The reasons for this are simple: a stunning neo-classic house, with friendly, helping, fun staff willing to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. A great ambiance, in a fabulous location: only a block away from the main square (Zócalo). Tasty meals and good parties, an approach to the cultural diversity this beautiful city has to offer, a rooftop terrace with a view that will take your breath away, a massive garden with a Temazcal (Mayan sauna) and hammocks in it. Different room sizes: private bedrooms, small and big dorms, depending on your needs and privacy desires. The freedom to cook your own food or treat yourself with one of the delicious meals our top chef has to offer. All in all, the possibility for the traveler to fully enjoy San Cristobal in a nice, friendly, clean, spacious hostel.We are in the very heart of the city centre: Only one block away from the main square, and a five minutes walk to the main pedestrian zones where the best bars, restaurants and clubs in the city are. There are many things to do in San Cristobal, and we will be happy to provide you with information on what to do during the day or when going out at night..The building is a big neo-classic house, though modernly refurbished to meet the traveler’s needs. The fun and friendly ambiance will make you feel comfortable immediately, along with our accommodation options, which are suitable for all families, individual travelers or groups of different sizes. There are 17 full bathrooms which are spacious and clean at all times. Our main purpose is for you to have fun and feel cozy enjoying your visit in San Cristobal.The hostel has three common areas, for the travelers to meet and share experiences, chat and have a good time. The garden at the back has got a deck and hammocks where you can chill out. BBQs take place in a regular basis, so expect a few of these! There is a Temazcal in the garden too, which is the traditional Mayan sauna, experienced through a purifying ritual. The main central patio is the place to have your meals, whether prepared by yourself in the fully-equipped self-catering kitchen or by our chef, so you can taste an authentic regional or Mexican meal. The rooftop terrace offers one of the best views of San Cristobal while enjoying popular drinks from Chiapas, Mexico and around the world.We guarantee spacious accommodations, be in the private rooms with ensuite bathrooms or in the rooms and large dorms with shared facilities, within a range of competitive prices, breakfast included. Our private rooms with ensuite bathrooms cater up to four people, whilst there are private rooms with shared bathrooms catering from three to six people. We have two large dorms, for eight and sixteen people each.Meeting other fellow travelers at Puerta Vieja Hostel will be simple, as different kind of activities are daily organized, such as tours, theme parties, pub crawls, all this with no curfew.Daily housekeeping and clean fresh bed linen are included in the price. Towels are included for private rooms or available to dorms for a small fee. Wi-Fi, hot water and power showers and luggage storage are among the services the hostel provides for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Puerta Vieja Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Vieja Hostel San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerta Vieja Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.