We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend in San Cristobal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guayaba Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Guayaba Inn to your Saves list
Guayaba Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend in San Cristobal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

First trip to San Cristobal and couldn't have been better. Guayaba Inn was the perfect location! Rooms were beautiful and service was incredible. We ate breakfast everyday- tasty goodness. Upon our departure needed something to be shipped at the last minute and the staff took care of it after we left, since we were leaving on a Sunday. Everything arrived perfectly the after we got home. Couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I had an amazing time at Guayaba Inn! We really weren't expecting so much but were surprised by the romantic architecture and decoration, the incredible service, delicious food, and hospitality from the concierge, waiter, cooks... We had room #4, which has an outdoor little patio that's kind of private. So in the mornings, we would order our yummy Mexican breakfast and have it out in the patio... amazing! Although the hotel is small, the rooms are quite big, but really cozy with a fireplace. We were more than pleased with our stay here and would DEFINITELY come back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

After 7 days staying in a hotel on Real Guadalupe as part of a tour, with traditional Mexican rock hard beds....we were ever so ready for the Guayaba Inn. We entered and I knew we'd booked the correct place for our last 2 nites in San Cristobal. Room was wonderful......plenty of hot water.I took a long soak in the oversized tub. Art everywhere. Wonderful linens and bed so comfy I slept 10 hours the first night. We ate at the Inn both nites rather than venture back into town and the food was good and the service great. Breakfast was plentiful..We have no complaints whatsoever and would definitely stay here again. Lovely gardens, koi pond too....ever so quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was part of our package, so I'm not sure how what price bracket it's in, but it felt like a 5 star resort tucked away in a corner of the city. The room was enormous and beautifully presented, the staff were friendly (even coming out to sing the traditional Mexican happy birthday to my girlfriend), the food was amazing, and the gardens provided a calm place to sit and chill away from town. Town itself was only a ten minute walk, so we could spend as much time as we liked there, and come back to rest as often as we liked. I can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful room with tasteful furnishings and art! fantastic bed and bedding! great hot shower and a tub as well, gas fireplace warmed the room right up, staff got us a taxi for a trip to the outlying villages ( ask for Guillermo as he was Mayan and also a good guide). The breakfasts were great. Pretty gardens with coi pond and waterfall. We found it too far from the square to walk and took taxis, which are 30 pesos within town. However the location was a few steps from Na Balom, which was cool and we made friends with a family of Lacadon Indians there. We were there for 4 nights and we're very comfortable and happy with our choice

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This small boutique hotel with a beautiful, peaceful courtyard garden is absolutely delightful. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the food was lovely and we particularly enjoyed the peace and quiet. I cannot fault this hotel in any way. We wished we were staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Guayaba Inn is an extremely well run, and very well designed establishment. My wife and I stayed in one of the Suites for 3 nights. We absolutely loved it. The rooms are huge with a 4 posted king, a sitting area and a minibar that even has 4 bottles of very affordable wine. The food is also very good.

A very important consideration for those driving as we were if access to parking which they have as parking on the street in San Cristobol can be problematic.

This place really deserves it high Tripadvisor rating!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guayaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayaba Inn

Address: Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayaba Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guayaba Inn, a converted traditional home in the historic district of EL Cerrillo, is located in remarkable colonial San Cristóbal de las Casas. The Inn is certainly its own relaxing destination, but it also caters to those wishing to explore Chiapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Guayaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guayaba Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guayaba Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.