We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more beautiful than the pictures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Felipe Flores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Felipe Flores to your Saves list
Casa Felipe Flores
Dr. Felipe Flores 36 | Barrio de Guadalupe, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Even more beautiful than the pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Four of us had a lovely one week stay here, in three rooms. Only one room faces the street, and we did not use that one. We were in one room at the back of the front courtyard, and the two rooms at the back of the back courtyard. None of us had noise problems. The upstairs room is accessed by a very sharply turning open staircase, so is best for the young and agile.

The rooms do get cold at night, so if you don't like to use the fireplace, be sure to request an electric heater - these come with remote control, so you can turn it on in the morning while still in bed, and let the room get warm before you get out of bed.

The casa and the courtyards are just lovely - plants and ceramic objects everywhere. David, the owner, and Mario, the manager, were incredibly helpful during our stay - giving us suggestions on places to visit, and setting up tours for us. Our tour guide, Alberto, knew a great deal about the Mayan and their current lives, and our driver, Oscar, got us over many dicey roads very safely.

The Casa is only two blocks from the pedestrian street of shops of restaurants, and only about four blocks from the center (Zocalo), yet it is on a quiet street. Breakfast was excellent - over the week we tried everything, and it was all delicious. In all, this is a special, beautiful place, with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
64
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a long overdue review. We stayed at Casa Felipe Flores in October 2011. Without a doubt, this was the nicest place we stayed in Mexico. Mario, the manager, was so helpful and polite and made us feel incredibly welcome.

We stayed in the small room at the back on the top floor and whilst it was the cheapest of the rooms, my husband and I both thought that this was the best room in the house. It was very private, with its own rooftop terrace overlooking the mountains. The room itself has a lovely fireplace which kept the room toasty (and romantic!) in the evening.

The breakfasts were lovely- I think we worked our way through the whole menu!

Altogether it was a truly delightful stay and our favourite of places to stay in Mexico. We adored San Cristobel too- it is such a beautiful colonial town with gorgeous restuarants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toron to
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This beautiful restored home is a must for anyone who loves antiques, artesania of Mexico and art in general. The home houses the wonderful collection of Nancy and David Orr, loving put together over a number of years living in Mexico. We stayed in room #5 on the top floor which is tiny but has it's own terrace with a magnificent view of San Cristobal. We lit a fire each night in our hearth in the bedroom . Each morning we shared a delicious breakfast with the guests in the 4 other rooms and this was a highlight as we learned what others had enjoyed. Mario the manager was extremely helpful with tours, guides, tickets etc. If we go back to this lovely city which I hope we will , we will definitely stay at Casa Felipe Flores

Room Tip: If you choose room 5 you have to be able to get up a winding narrow staircase to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Wonderful! We visited in early December 2011, and found it a wonderful experience, completely restful. Our stay was a unique balance of receiving all kinds of careful attention while feeling completely at home in a big wonderful house and free to roam. The weather was chilly, and we made maximum use of the fireplace in our room. Nancy and Mario provided all the right guidance on outings and things not to miss. The house is very centrally located, and easy to walk everywhere but away from busy main streets. We had a large room at the back on the ground floor. Most other reviewers have said everything else that should be said.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our three days at Casa Felix Flores surpassed our expectations. Housed in a beautiful and well preserved old building that has been updated without losing its charm. The furniture and decoration are the product of local artisans and add to beauty of the Casa. The warm, welcoming and competent staff when out of their way to respond to our numerous requests. The guest rooms and attached bathrooms were attractively decorated, comfortable and more than adequate in size. The cold weather at night was not an issue as each room had an electric heater, fireplace and electric blanket. The public areas were attractive, welcoming with their warm fires in the early morning and the evening and well furnished and decorated with interesting high quality local arts and crafts. The breakfast was well prepared with very generous portions and prepared with attention to individual preferences and requests.. The owners added an unexpected, but welcome addition to the quality of the experience. The location was a short walk to the major attractions in the city. While the rates were not inexpensive, the accommodations well worth the price

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a wonderful place. The building is an 18th century structure, remodeled slightly without sacrificing the mellow charm. The rooms are very comfortable and come with a friendly fireplace, which we used twice. The host, David Orr, has visitor friendly policies, and his manager, Mario, was helpful beyond our expectations with restaurant recommendations and arranging tours for us. They also provided taxi service to and from the Tuxtla airport, which was nice. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Quiet room, off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I spent several days at this delightful B&B in the heart of San Cristobal with the kind owners, David and Nancy and their wonderful manager, Mario. The home is full of carefully chosen Mexican antiques and craft pieces from around the country. Fireplaces grace all the guest rooms as well as the main living area and dining room. The public spaces are there for all guests to enjoy, filled with a great selection of art, craft, and history books from the area. You could spend a day just being in the house, going nowhere! A very gracious place to stay and it will enrich your time spent in San Cristobal.

Room Tip: There are just 5 rooms, so all are good choices. The only one upstairs has a lovely terrace with gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Felipe Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Felipe Flores

Address: Dr. Felipe Flores 36 | Barrio de Guadalupe, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Felipe Flores, a gracious and comfortable landmark, is located four blocks from San Cristobal`s main plaza. Furnished with Mexican and Guatemalan pieces, the colonial house also features Talavera tile and collectibles from nearby Mayan villages and Guatemalan craftsmen. Surrounding the classic courtyard with its beautiful plantings, the common area includes a handsome living room, dinning room and den, each with a fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Felipe Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Felipe Flores San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Felipe Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.