We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayambe - CLOSED

Mayambe
calle 5 de Mayo 10 | casi esquina 5 de Feb, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
967 674 6278
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our lovely covered courtyard dining area is located one block off the Central Cathedral.Once a hacienda has been home to Mayambè for the past 7 of our 12 years doing business here in Chiapas.Along with Indian food we offer./Arabic and Thai Cuisines.We are allways happy to accomodate large groups.Please allow lead time as we are a small staff and want to make our best impression
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

LOVED this place, a welcome break from local Mexican food with delicious dishes from every continent. The servings are generous, The food is flavoursome and fresh-tasting. Liz the hostess is so welcoming, and there is a gorgeous roaring fire inside plus regular live local music. Great value for money too. Don't miss it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss in San Cris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Mayambe. From the moment I walked in one rainy night and sat by the fire, I have returned over and over for the warmth of the owners, Jim and Liz, the amazing food the kitchen turns out, and the mango lassis. Oh yeah, and they have shisha, too. I'm planning to eat my way through the vegetarian items on the menu and then start all over again. Indian, Thai, even Vietnamese spring rolls with a choice of tofu or shrimp. Mango chutney on the samosas is insanely good. Check it out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The ultimate treat in tasty comfort food whilst travelling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I ate at this restaurant last night with a friend. As soon as we entered the owners were seriously the nicest people! They were accommodating and super friendly. They couldn't do enough to make us happy, comfortable and well fed. Felt like I'd eaten at a family friends place. The food is super tasty, cooked beautifully, and plenty of it. Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

By surprise I found this restaurant during a recent trip through Chiapas. Hidden from the main street. Service very friendly (the restaurant seems to be run by an American couple), menu selection covers mainly India and Thailand (also confirmed by the decoration). Good price-value ratio. Food was very tasty. Thank you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hurray for Mayambe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The six weeks that I stayed in San Cristobal, a lovely though small colonial city in Chiapas, Mexico, gave me time to visit almost all the restaurants there and Mayambe was the restaurant I returned to repeatedly. Mayambe offers signature dishes from Indian and Thai cuisine that are freshly prepared and generous. Though specializing in this kind of cuisine the real sleeper is the excellent steak n fries with salad The best steak i have ever had in Mexico.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayambe also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayambe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.