We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Abuelito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Posada del Abuelito to your Saves list
Posada del Abuelito
Calle Tapachula #18 | Barrio El Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warsaw
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cosy oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and it was hard for us to leave as we felt like at home there. It's a lovely peaceful posada, not a party hostel. What we like the most was a very cosy colonial garden patio with a lot of place to relax. The breakfast was very good too (cereals, fruits, home-made jam, eggs). Staff is very informative about the tours - especially Marco is a very friendly and helpful person and has good knowlegde about Chiapas. Location is 10 mins from Zocalo, rooms are clean, hot water is working, wi-fi is fast. Overally, I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    27
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
64
50
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there for some nights end of October this year and found this hostel to be a really nice option for staying in San Cristobal. We had a room with own bathroom. The room was very simple, but clean and perfect for the price. Location is very close to the centre and all restaurants and shops. The patio of the hostel is really nice decorated, breakfast nice and even though it was quite cold during our stay we had enough blankets to keep us warm. Really enjoyed our stay there!

If you continue to Palenque by bus, make sure you don't get into the dark, still dangerous to drive by bus at night, we had our experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived, like many before us on a long sleepless night bus from Oaxaca, and walked from the bus station to here. We were offered coffee and breakfast and hung around the picturesque courtyard. Spent quite a lot of time in the hammock chair. Excellent wi-fi throughout. The rooms were cosy. The bathroom was great with really hot water at all times Probably the best showers we've had in Mexico! (that's become quite important)
Nice communal kitchen, nice staff and a lovely courtyard. When it gets cold,, there is a fire you can sit by which is real nice...it was pretty cold at night when we were there. The tours look good, but we didn't partake. We liked it so much, we spent an extra night. Can't recommend it enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stumbled across this hostel with a friend after arriving on a long night bus from Oaxaca and were so happy we did. It felt more like a family lodge than a hostel with a lovely courtyard to chill in and lots of guidebooks and advice on the area. Only 5 mins walk down to the main area of town which was great to hit up the bars as it was pretty quiet when We were there. The staff helped arrange a very wellpriced shuttle through to Guatemala for us and another friend at a different hostel. I didn't make use of any tours they offered but the owner (I think) offered to take us on a personal guided mountain bike ride up to the local towns when I mentioned I was contemplating a visit.. Bit pricey or I would have gone for it! Room was cosy, showers were hot, laundry service was great and breakfast included lovely homemade jam. Would recommend if you want a quiet time in town as probably not the most partyish of hostels!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is all you need; clean rooms, friendly staff, generous breakfast with home made jam! Simon and Agathe the managers make you feel at home. Marco is very friendly and extraordinary person who knows a lot about bikes and push bikes. Nilly works like a magician; cleaning and organizing everything in the mornings. They also organize special tours that you could not find anywhere. I am on a long cycling tour through North, Central and South Americas and have to give a long break because of a shoulder injury :( Posada del Abuelito has been a generous and loving home for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and wanted someone where in San Cristobal to stay as soon as we arrived in the city. While the Posada was probably not the ideal choice for a honeymoon, we really enjoyed our stay. The hostel was brilliant value for money - the room was well equipped and clean and the bathroom had constant hot water, which is a real plus. The staff were really helpful and friendly and their recommendations around the city were spot on. I was able to get all our washing done cheaply ready for the rest of our trip and I would recommend this hostel to absolutely anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Ecuador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was just passing through San Cristobal on my way west. This place was cool and the guys working there were really kind and helpful. It's a bit of a trek from the bus station but if you can find a cab not a problem. I had a private room. Basic but comfortable. Like I say, all you need. (I have to admit I didn't sample the breakfast but by all accounts it's great).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Abuelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Abuelito

Address: Calle Tapachula #18 | Barrio El Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely colonial house situated in one of the oldest barrios of the city, Posada del Abuelito is a wonderfully friendly, cozy and charming posada with clean and comfortable rooms, furnished in rustic Mexican style. Facilities include: an immaculate 9 bed dormitory, private rooms with shared bath and private rooms with en-suite bath. Guests enjoy the use of a clean, community kitchen, warm fireplace and HOT water 24 hours per day. All rooms are equipped with electrical outlets, complimentary towels, extra blankets and hangers. We offer a complimentary breakfast of fresh bagels or pan dulce, jam, butter, coffee, tea and fruit. The friendly, multilingual staff is on site 24 hours per day and always happy to assist with tourist information, tour and transport bookings and lots of helpful advice!Other amenities include FREE internet and Wi-Fi, FREE purified drinking water, FREE luggage storage and FREE lockers in the dorms. There are several places to sit, relax and enjoy our beautiful patio and small garden. Guests are welcome to spend the chilly nights in front of the fire in our shared livingroom -- where they can roast marshmallows, use the computer or just hang out and make new friends. In addition, we have our own filtered water tanks, so when the rest of San Cristobal runs out, we are still taking long, hot showers!Please come join us at our beautiful, historic and friendly home! It’s a wonderfully warm and relaxed vibe and we would love to get to know you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Posada del Abuelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Abuelito San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Abuelito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.