We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Variety of Tamales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dona Ame Tamales

Dona Ame Tamales
Calle Diego de Mazariegos 28 B | Diego de Mazariegos No. 28 B Col. Centro. San Critobal de Las Casas Chiapas C.P. 29290, San Cristobal de las Casas 29290, Mexico
+52 967 631 6115
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Cash Only, Delivery, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Cash Only, Delivery, Takeout, Waitstaff
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Variety of Tamales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Dona Ame isn't open all day which is totally understandable knowing how labor intensive making handmade tamales can be. They make both banana leaf and corn husk varieties, and I've always been partial to the tamales steamed in corn husks, so I surprised even myself when I ordered two wrapped in banana leafs: a chicken mole and a dried shrimp - both very tender and fresh, neither greasy. I did, however, have to order one wrapped in a corn husk, a pork and chile, and it was by far the best of the three. I think it is simply my preference and taste. These plus a cold guava drink made with masa came to a little over $4.00 - What's not to like?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best tamales and Atole”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I love the Atole and the tamales. The little restaurant is clean and very reasonable. The Atole is my favorite. It is hard to find Atole served anywhere in Mexico now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best Regional Tamales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A must to savor the delicacy of Tamales. There are so many varieties, savory and piquant as well as sweet

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Cute and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a cute little restaurant located fairly close to the main zocalo.

We ate there twice on our recent trip, once for lunch, once for evening sweet tamales and atole drinks. Everything was delicious and served with a warm smile. Tamales only 12 pesos. ($1)

Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best Tamales in San Cristobal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We loved the tamales and hot chocolate, you definately need to try them! Home made!
If you do not eat them is like you did not visit Sn Cristobal
Clean little restaurant or to go option too!
They open from 9-10 pm

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dona Ame Tamales also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to Dona Ame Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dona Ame Tamales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.