We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's about all...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Hostalito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Hostalito
Save
You added El Hostalito to your Saves list
Maria Adelina Flores 24 | Barrio Guadalupe, Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Windom, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about all...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed at El Hostalito in August of 2012 and was not impressed. The best thing about it is the location and the fact that the dorm room has NO bunk beds! However, I'm not sure the blankets were changed after each visitor and I was only given one sheet to use (which I placed over the fleece-covered pillow that I'm sure wasn't changed!). The floor of the dorm room was never swept in the 5 days that I was there and the shower drain was veeeery slow. The cleanliness is definitely the most questionable point (I know there was a cleaning lady, but I just don't know how thoroughly she cleaned everything.
The breakfast as also unimpressive--cereal (a mix of Corn Flakes and Cocoa Krispies), milk, bananas, and oranges. It's not the worst hostel I've stayed in, but it's not the best either. I guess you get what you pay for. It's not a terrible place to stay, but friends have highly recommended Hostal Posada Mexico after hearing about my solo adventure.

Room Tip: Get a private room so you can lock your belongings inside! However, make sure the room is on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Sacatepequez, Guatemala
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here a few nights and, for the price it was great. The bed was a bit noisy and uncomfortable and the receptionist knew absolutely nothing about San Cristobal or Mexico in general but apart from that the place is great. Good location, clean, quietish and has a nice patio with hammocks. Also has a computer with free to use internet, games and a decent collection of books. Nice little breakfast is included too. For 100 pesos a night, I can't complain at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I had a great stay at El Hostilito. We stayed in a private room. The only areas that let it down a bit were:
- bathrooms a little moldy and once there was no toilet paper left.
- You can hear the noise of others coming up the stairs and in the landing outside the rooms.
- Linen is not the best quality as it was thin and old.
For the price El Hostalito offers great value with a simple breakfast also provided. It is located really close to the town centro. Wifi Internet was always available and was fast. There is never a wait for bathrooms and the fully equipped kitchen can be used to cook meals.
Although an average rating, El Hostalito was adequate and we had nothing major to complain about. We have been staying at other highly rated hostels and cheaper hotels and simply found some of these to be of a higher standard.
If you are a budget traveller you will be happy at El Hostilito.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The rooms are bare yet comfortable, the kitchen is completely decked out, the net is fast, the courtyard is a good place to meet other travelers but the service is the best you could ask for.

My girlfriend and I left early one morning for Palenque, half way there we noticed that we had forgotten our camera bag back in the hostel - which also contained our passports, credit cards and about 4000 pesos in cash. We freaked out! We rang Joaquin who and already noticed it and had just sent me an email, we asked if he could find out whether it could be sent with the next bus, before we dropped out of reception. Joaquin spent the next few hours running around town trying to figure out how he could get it to us. Finally, when we could get back in touch, we organised for it to come on the same tour we were on the next day. He boxed it up and dropped it at the tour agency.

We will be forever grateful.....one of those - that could have gone really wrong moments - saved by the dedication of this friendly and kind hostel owner.

Muchisimas gracias amigo!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this special hostel, where you really felt at home... It is in a great location, 3 blocks from main plaza... the rooms where nice and clean, the kitchen with all you need and your own space to leave your food.. the owner Joaquin was very nice and helpful..
But the best of this hostel was the good vibe of the people, the atmosphere and the design that was so original and creative..
I really recommend this friendly and complete hostel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

El Hostalito is everything you could want from a hostel - a fantastic kitchen, a range of rooms and enough shared bathrooms so you never have to wait, brilliant selection of games/books, free internet, a cosy lounge with fireplace and sofas and a unique selling point - the bikes! Unfortunately, we only had one night in San Cristobal, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Joaquin (who speaks fluent English) really made us feel at home and gave us all the info we needed. He really is the perfect host!
Brilliant value, brilliant atmosphere, brilliant location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

El Hostalito is a really great hostel. It's clean, good breakfast, cool atmosphere. And Joaquin is always helpful. I really felt like home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Hostalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hostalito

Address: Maria Adelina Flores 24 | Barrio Guadalupe, Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 75 Specialty Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hostalito, under new management as of February 2013, is a large, single family home converted into a homey hostal. We have a 6-bed dorm and a 4-bed dorm, as well as 4 private rooms. Toilets and showers (4) are located on all three levels. We aspire to maintain a clean, comfortable and friendly environment. We are very close to central San Cristobal, with lots of cafes, restaurants, museums and entertainment close by. Wi-Fi, fully equipped kitchen, simple breakfast included. Hot water. English and Spanish are spoken here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Hostalito San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Hostalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.