We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO HOT WATER AS PROMISED, NO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jardines del Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jardines del Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Jardines del Carmen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Ignacio Allende No.22, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NO HOT WATER AS PROMISED, NO CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Our group of optometric missionaries booked over 30 rooms from the owner, "Carmen." We were compelled to shower in cold water because Carmen directs her employees to turn down the thermostats on the water heaters. When informed there is no hot water in the shower, Carmen said "All services should be on and I will investigate." This is fraud because the front desk billboard posts, "Agua Caliente (hot water)."

Credit cards are not accepted, Mexican pesos only. Again, this is misrepresentation since the front desk posts that credit cards may be used.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is really beautiful and the common areas are nicely decorated, but our room was simple, noisy and cold at night, with an uncomfortable bed.

The hotel seemed empty when we arrived (as most of the rooms had their doors open) and we were given one of the rooms looking onto the street. Traffic, as well as conversations and a TV set was audible during the whole night.

On the second night a group of Spanish-speaking women (I don't know if they were guests or service) started speaking very loudly at 4 in the morning. They were shouting and making noises for 1 hour and nobody did anything to stop it.

Service was bad: the bed was badly made and every day we found one single towel (small) for the two of us.

I would't return to this hotel and it's a pity because it is a really lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

the place is huge, but i think we were the only guests in the hotel. service was less than friendly. i don't think anyone would have said peep to me if i hadn't greeted them whenever i passed the desk. the room was spacious and clean enough. the shower got pretty hot. we had two nice big windows that opened onto the courtyard, and there's a nice balcony in the front of the hotel that overlooks the street and the huge Mexican flag on the hillside. the hotel is located close enough to the zocalo, just requires a couple-block walk down a street with little sidewalk to speak of. i would recommend taking a cab rather than hauling luggage from the zocalo. it was a good deal when we booked it ahead of time, but when i tried to book another stay on our way back through town, the prices seemed to have gone up dramatically and they were asking more than i was willing to pay for the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We had arrived in San Cristobal without a reservation and walked by this hotel on the way to check out several others listed in our guide book. The hotel is arranged around a central courtyard and appears to be very new. The rooms were clean, we had a king size bed and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

The Hotel is very close to the Zocalo which made life easy, and is pleasant and quiet. Plumbing worked a treat! We stayed 2 nights and I think we may have been the only guests. We did have 1 problem in that we'd tried to book online through a broker, and because it rejected my card, our confirmation email was followed up by another saying we had no booking. The hotel would not honour the online rate, which was much cheaper. That left a slightly nasty taste. But I have lots of photos - see for yourselves.
Good wifi, but no bottled water - which was strange

  • Liked — spacious and quiet
  • Disliked — a bit 'dead' as there was no-one else there and staff didn't seem to speak english
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jardines del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardines del Carmen

Address: Av. Ignacio Allende No.22, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jardines del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jardines del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardines Del Carmen San Cristobal De Las Casas, Mexico - Chiapas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jardines del Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.